Steph & Big George
Member Since 2026
hey there! Big George’s AMPS is 201 and ketones .2! Do I need to continue with the 2.5u?
@Marje and Gracie
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Marje and Gracie
@Suzanne & Darcy
Thank you!Hey! I’m not able to give dosing advice on this - but do you want to use the dropdown menu to put a “?” on your title and put (dosing advice) in the title? That way the moderators / mentors will know to prioritize your condo for responses. I’ll keep an eye out and bump the thread too throughout the day if no one responds.
Of course! Good luck! Hopefully someone will respond soonThank you!Sorry still new to this!
No. You did great this morning to shoot the 2.5 units!So we dropped to 87@+6 from shot (at 10am due to stalling and was hoping to be back on a 7/7 schedule)! I read that I need to lower his dose by .25 and probably should have done that this morning due to the lower PS number! I think that this is enough but would like some guidance on if this is the correct thing to do! So instead of 2.5u, give 2.25u or should I go down to 2u?
He ate this morning but not as much as usual and has snacked every time I’ve tested so I’m sure that has influenced his numbers! His ketones were .2!
Just nervous for Monday as it will be my first day away and he’s not a very active cat in general and currently in my small bathroom so mostly just sleeping! I did read that if they go lower they will seek food so I try to keep him something to snack on up to two hours before PS! Any help is appreciated! Thanks!
I feel good about those low ketones. Thank you for testing. That gives me confidence that we will not harm him with the .25 unit reduction down to 2.25 units. You are doing great!!He ate this morning but not as much as usual and has snacked every time I’ve tested so I’m sure that has influenced his numbers! His ketones were .2!
Yes, I will change to 2.25u going forward!New dose going forward is 2.25 units, okay?
I don’t have an automatic feeder yet! I will be gone all day since I have to go back to work in the office! I wanted to be back to a 7/7 schedule but we are currently on a 10/10 schedule since I didn’t pick up food in time one time and then his numbers had been lower than I felt comfortable shooting early so I just waited! I can maybe try to see if for this week I could switch my days in the office. My Mom is going to stop by and check on him most days but it won’t be until +5.5/+6 (on a 7/7) schedule!Regarding your nervousness about Monday, do you have an automated feeder to dispense snacks for him at certain points in the first half of the cycle? If he’s going to be alone a lot it would be a good idea. If not, leave some low carb wet food for him to snack on (best we can do.) How many hours into the cycle will it be when you come home?
I feel good about those low ketones. Thank you for testing. That gives me confidence that we will not harm him with the .25 unit reduction down to 2.25 units. You are doing great!!
I would move his shot by 30 minutes today and 30 minutes tomorrow— to get back on schedule. We usually recommend no more than 30 minutes per day, but there are exceptions and if the numbers are really high we can do a little more at times.Yes, I will change to 2.25u going forward!
I’m about to test again and if his numbers are okay now (+10) and then above 200 at 9, which would be +11, could I shoot at +11 or should I just stay at +12 because of the green today?
Can she get a BG test when she comes to check on him? That would be the most helpful information.I don’t have an automatic feeder yet! I will be gone all day since I have to go back to work in the office! I wanted to be back to a 7/7 schedule but we are currently on a 10/10 schedule since I didn’t pick up food in time one time and then his numbers had been lower than I felt comfortable shooting early so I just waited! I can maybe try to see if for this week I could switch my days in the office. My Mom is going to stop by and check on him most days but it won’t be until +5.5/+6 (on a 7/7) schedule!
Sorry to just get to you. Saturday is one of myhey there! Big George’s AMPS is 201 and ketones .2! Do I need to continue with the 2.5u?
@Marje and Gracie
@Suzanne & Darcy
thank you for moving and will do!Sorry to just get to you. Saturday is one of mydays and I’m gone all day long.
Because we would suggest all new PZ members start with Start Low Go Slow, you would decrease his dose to 2.25u since he dropped below 90.
As long as his ketones remain so low, we can just follow SLGS as written. It’s great he’s gotten some green!
How about reading the dosing methods and letting me know if you have any questions. Just tag me.
Edited to add: you are posting in two separate threads so I’ll move today’s posts to the other one. Please just post in one thread at a time. Thank you.
You’re welcome. Good luck with the reduction.Tested, fed and shot! Thank you so much @Connie & Parker & Moonie, @Suzanne & Darcy and @Marje and Gracie!
Gave at 2.25u at 9:30I was going to do 9:30 cst! I just tested his BG and it’s 437, ketones .2!
Just right.Gave at 2.25u at 9:30
Yes, Mom will be able to test! He has made great progress in letting me test him by myself, unlike the first night which it was difficult with two of us!Can she get a BG test when she comes to check on him? That would be the most helpful information.
I’m so happy to hear this!Yes, Mom will be able to test! He has made great progress in letting me test him by myself, unlike the first night which it was difficult with two of us!

Yes, sorry, I thought I updated his SS for the 1:05pm test but I guess just wrote it down on my paper sheet!Has he come down from the pink?
Good. I am happy he’s seeing blue today.Yes, sorry, I thought I updated his SS for the 1:05pm test but I guess just wrote it down on my paper sheet!
238@+3.5 and 157@+6.25
@Suzanne & DarcyI took an early PMPS number and it was 186! I will check here again in around 10 minutes but do I still hold the 2.25u with the lower than normal PS number…or okay, if it continues to rise and gets over 200?
Took again and 190 and then 195 and then 212
So I fed and then gave the 2.25u since I can’t get any further behind schedule! I will set alarms to get up and check him throughout the night and leave lots of food!Took again and 190 and then 195 and then 212
Thank you! He did well yesterday and Mom was able to check twice!I think the excess stalling was not necessary and you could have shot the full dose. You could also try giving 10 percent carb food for dinner (still LC). One thing to note is that his BG was quite stable with the first two tests. He was not dropping. Also, notice how his BG was rising since his nadir earlier that day. So it would have been okay to shoot as long as you could monitor the cycle for a bit (like you already did) still, no worries and no harm done with the stalling (except maybe to your schedule
I hope today is going all right and your mom has checked up on him.
Since you are using the ReliOn human meter, we typically save HC for numbers under 50. If you were using an Alpha Trak meter it would be under 68.Oh goodness! I thought it was HC if it was below 65 and will add that to my notes! I just gave him 3/4 can (did not realize I gave that much) FF gravy lovers chicken feast in gravy (so I guess top side of MC)!
I need to get some LC 10% since I don’t current have that but made a list last night of options to get!
I wish I would have realized that before feeding MC/HC!
Ketones were .01! Thank you so much!
I also think the gravy lowers may be the highest carbs I have but I have Karo and honey
Thank you for all of your helpful responses!Since you are using the ReliOn human meter, we typically save HC for numbers under 50. If you were using an Alpha Trak meter it would be under 68.
Also, remember when you are managing lower numbers, you want to feed small amounts of food. A teaspoon of HC at a time will help support/raise BG. The reason is that you need to keep him eating/hungry because you may be managing low BG for several hours. Once he is full and won’t eat anymore, your job becomes much harder and your options are limited to karo if he won’t eat food.
You can also make a kind of medium carb by mixing LC and HC.
It is really high at 505! I just took itHow is his PMPS?
Okay to keep at the 2uIt is really high at 505! I just took it
I kept at the 2u after going back and reading! Was the 505 just due to the after effects of HC earlier today? I feel terrible, if so, but now know! I just thought it was going to be like that first night last week when I brought him home! Just hope I didn’t jeopardize the progress he’s made! Ketones tonight are .2!Okay to keep at the 2u
Hi Steph. What’s the current status on Big George?@Suzanne & Darcy @Marje and Gracie Tonight's PMPS is 125 and I read to not shoot if below 150! I stalled and he is still at 125! Do I just skip the dose tonight or half it? Any help is appreciated!