Dosing advice please :)

It’s time to increase to 1.5 tomorrow unless you see BG under 150. You have not hit close to a breakthrough dose. I know it has not been 7 days since the two blue BG s on IBD cycle but overall the BG is too high.

I'm so glad to see your reply. I'm not accustomed to SLGS, though that is where I started almost two years ago. I was reading the notes on it, and after reading it, I thought 1.5 made sense, but wasn't sure.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Back
Top