? Dosing advice / NS (No Shoot) today - Need mentor review please

Anoud&Mocha

Member Since 2026
Hi everyone, I really need some quick advice regarding my cat Mocha (diabetic, on Lantus). Here is her current situation:

  • What happened: She vomited her first meal earlier, looked lethargic, and her normal insulin dose time was missed/delayed. Later, she ate a full 35g wet food meal and kept it down.
  • Current Blood Glucose: 295 mg/dL .
  • Dilemma: Since she vomited earlier and we missed the exact dosing window, should I skip this dose entirely (especially since I can't easily measure a half-dose right now and her vet isn't available)?
  • Upcoming Feedings: She has scheduled meals coming up at 9:30 AM and 11:30 AM. Since she is not getting an insulin dose right now, should I give her these meals normally, reduce them, or how should I handle her feeding schedule?
Any advice on whether to skip the dose and how to handle her food right now would be hugely appreciated. Thank you!
 
Please I really need your help and guidance. I am terrified because in my city and country, vets don't have proper experience with feline diabetes, and they have given me wrong information before that caused Mocha to suffer from severe hypoglycemia twice in the past. That's why I am so scared to make a mistake and I trust your protocol here way more than local vets. Please advise me on what to do right now
 
I’m sorry no one was awake to help you. Personally, what I do is skip if I’ve missed by more than 2 hours. And I always give a half dose if Moonie throws up or doesn’t eat (which is rare) since the vets will have me give half doses when Moonie goes in for procedures where she’s fasted for a half day.
 
Thank you so much for getting back to me and for the advice! Just to update you: because Mocha was vomiting earlier today, I decided to skip her insulin dose completely to keep her safe from hypoglycemia while her stomach settles.

Since I skipped this dose, should I still feed her upcoming meals at the exact regular times and in the same portion sizes, or should I change anything? Also, since I am using a Lantus pen right now, would it be better for me to get half-unit syringes/needles to adjust doses more safely? Lastly,I'd love to know if I can share Mocha's daily readings with you here
 
Thank you so much for getting back to me and for the advice! Just to update you: because Mocha was vomiting earlier today, I decided to skip her insulin dose completely to keep her safe from hypoglycemia while her stomach settles.

Since I skipped this dose, should I still feed her upcoming meals at the exact regular times and in the same portion sizes, or should I change anything? Also, since I am using a Lantus pen right now, would it be better for me to get half-unit syringes/needles to adjust doses more safely? Lastly,I'd love to know if I can share Mocha's daily readings with you here
Hi Anoud and welcome,
Please feed her in small quantities throughout the day. As long as she tolerates the food and doesn’t keep vomiting.
If she is eating that’s great.
Yes you should get 1/2 unit syringes if you can get them. It’s much more accurate for dosing Lantus.
We also suggest a digital calipers for very precise dosing (if you’d like to use that, many of us do).
Please make a spreadsheet and fill it in each day so you can get help with dosing information here.

Please read below on how to help us help you
Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!
 
Hi Anoud - It looks like Staci shared everything I would have and more :)

The only thing I would add is - do you know why your kitty is vomiting? Maybe it’s my own experience making me paranoid, but when my Moonie vomits, it’s often hard to get her to stop. If you have some Cerenia or ondansetron on hand, you may want to consider giving some to your cat. And if this is a recurring problem for you, you may want to talk to your vet about a prescription.
 
Does Mocha have a history of ketones and/or diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA)? With lethargy, vomiting, and inappetance, it’s a good idea to test for ketones.

If you get 1/2-unit marked syringes, make sure they’re for u-100 insulin. The 3/10 cc (volume the syringe holds) syringes work best for most cats.

Does Mocha have any other medical issues? Is she a strictly indoor cat?
 
Hi Anoud - It looks like Staci shared everything I would have and more :)

The only thing I would add is - do you know why your kitty is vomiting? Maybe it’s my own experience making me paranoid, but when my Moonie vomits, it’s often hard to get her to stop. If you have some Cerenia or ondansetron on hand, you may want to consider giving some to your cat. And if this is a recurring problem for you, you may want to talk to your vet about a prescription.
Thank you so much Connie - Thankfully, her vomiting has stopped and she hasn't vomited since earlier today. I'm just keeping an eye on her and getting ready for her next meal and tracking her numbers. Really appreciate your help
 
Does Mocha have a history of ketones and/or diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA)? With lethargy, vomiting, and inappetance, it’s a good idea to test for ketones.

If you get 1/2-unit marked syringes, make sure they’re for u-100 insulin. The 3/10 cc (volume the syringe holds) syringes work best for most cats.

Does Mocha have any other medical issues? Is she a strictly indoor cat?
Thank you so much for checking🙏🏻 Mocha does not have a history of ketones or DKA, and her ketones were negative when we ran a urinalysis on Friday, September 4, 2026. She is a strictly indoor cat, and she doesn't have other major medical issues besides diabetes. Thankfully, her vomiting has stopped earlier today and she has been keeping her small meals down. I'll make sure to look for U-100 3/10 cc syringes with half-unit markings. Thank you for the important reminder about testing for ketones!
 
Since you skipped the shot, you can shoot anytime after that which makes sense for you. If she vomits again, I suggest waiting half hours and see if she will eat a small meal and keep it down. If she does, you can probably shoot and still be on schedule. This post has suggestions on how to get back on schedule if you have to delay a shot. Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule As suggested above, a half dose is also OK.

I cannot open your spreadsheet. You need to share it "with those with the link".
 
Since you skipped the shot, you can shoot anytime after that which makes sense for you. If she vomits again, I suggest waiting half hours and see if she will eat a small meal and keep it down. If she does, you can probably shoot and still be on schedule. This post has suggestions on how to get back on schedule if you have to delay a shot. Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule As suggested above, a half dose is also OK.

I cannot open your spreadsheet. You need to share it "with those with the link".
Thank you for letting me know about the spreadsheet link! I have fixed the sharing permissions now, so it should be working properly.

Today, I took Mocha to the clinic as a precaution because her blood glucose dropped very fast right after (or within the first hour of) the shot, and I panicked since the clinic is far from my home. Thankfully, she did not experience a hypo, but the vet gave me several instructions that I wanted to share with you:

  1. The vet told me not to give insulin with diabetic-specific food, but rather to give regular dry food, or just use the diabetic food without injecting insulin.
  2. He told me to give a single dose instead of two doses.
  3. He mentioned that it is not possible to give half a unit (0.5u).
  4. He advised that I should only feed her 3 meals: a morning meal before the shot, an afternoon meal, and a meal before the night shot.
For context, Mocha has a history of dropping very fast. Previously, on a 2-unit dose, she dropped from 268 to 69 in less than 4 hours and needed IV fluids at the clinic. When we reduced it to 1 unit, the same thing happened—she dropped from 301 to 90 in less than 4 hours. The vet previously asked me to stop insulin for a week and restart.

Regarding her feeding schedule, I currently divide her meals like this because she tends to drop very quickly during these hours:

  • At 7:50 AM and PM (with the shots): 35g of Farmina Vet Life Diabetic wet food + 5g of Royal Canin dry food.
  • At 9:30 AM and PM: 25g of Farmina Vet Life Diabetic wet food.
  • At 11:30 AM and PM: 25g of Farmina Vet Life Diabetic wet food.
I would love to hear your thoughts and advice on these vet recommendations and how to handle her fast drops safely
 
Also, I wanted to mention my work schedule, and I am quite worried about leaving her. I had a long leave to take care of her, but now I have to go back to work. I leave my house at 7:30 AM and return at 3:00 PM.

Because of this, I cannot monitor her 24/7 or maintain the multi-step meal division during my working hours.

  1. Can I adjust her injection schedule and move it to 7:00 (AM/PM) instead? If so, how should I safely shift the time?
  2. Since I have to work, how can I manage her meals and feeding times without having to split them into so many small portions throughout the day? Is there a simpler feeding schedule that still keeps her safe from fast drops while fitting a working owner's routine?
I would really appreciate your guidance on this
 
Update :



I wanted to share an update since I am still waiting for your guidance.

Right now, it is time for her PM preshot (PMPS), and her blood glucose reading on my Contour meter is 136 mg/dL. Please note that this is the very first time Moka has ever recorded a reading like this before her shot!

Because of her history of fast drops and my worry about going back to work tomorrow, I am holding off on giving the insulin shot right this second until I hear back from you on whether I should shoot, how much to give, and how to safely handle her schedule and feeding routine.

Could someone please take a look at her spreadsheet and advise me on what to do for this PM dose? I would really appreciate your urgent advice
 
but the vet gave me several instructions that I wanted to share with you:

  1. The vet told me not to give insulin with diabetic-specific food, but rather to give regular dry food, or just use the diabetic food without injecting insulin.
  2. He told me to give a single dose instead of two doses.
  3. He mentioned that it is not possible to give half a unit (0.5u).
  4. He advised that I should only feed her 3 meals: a morning meal before the shot, an afternoon meal, and a meal before the night shot.
Any chance you can find a new vet? He is zero for 4. Regular dry food is completely wrong for diabetic cats (actually most cats, but that's another story). The Royal Canin dry is too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. One of the keys to achieving regulation is feeding low carb food. It does not have to be food specifically for diabetics, there are any off the shelf products that are suitable. Can you tell me what country you are in so we can make suggestions.

Lantus dosing is best with two doses a day in cats. They have much faster metabolisms than humans that get one shot a day. With just one shot a day, she'll be on high numbers half the day.
Is is totally possible to give 0.5 units (though not with the pen needles) and we even dose down as far as 0.25 units. The 1 unit is too much insulin. I suggest you look for those half unit marked syringes, probably the Microfine II ones. Not sure, depends what country you are in.

It is best for diabetics - both human and cats, to get several small meals a day. It is easier on the healing pancreas.

To feed multiple meals while we are not home, we suggest getting an automated pet feeder. There are models that have 4 slots available and the machine moves the slots at scheduled times.

Yes, you can adjust shot times. You can change the shot 15 minutes per shot or 1/2 hour once per day. More information in this post: Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule It's actually ideal if you can get a +2 test before you head out the door in the morning. The +2 test will tell you if she's having an active cycle, in other words, going lower that cycle. If so, you put higher carb food in the autofeeder.

Regarding the PM dose, have you tested later in the cycle so we have an idea what her blood sugar might look like at PMPS?
 
Any chance you can find a new vet? He is zero for 4. Regular dry food is completely wrong for diabetic cats (actually most cats, but that's another story). The Royal Canin dry is too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. One of the keys to achieving regulation is feeding low carb food. It does not have to be food specifically for diabetics, there are any off the shelf products that are suitable. Can you tell me what country you are in so we can make suggestions.

Lantus dosing is best with two doses a day in cats. They have much faster metabolisms than humans that get one shot a day. With just one shot a day, she'll be on high numbers half the day.
Is is totally possible to give 0.5 units (though not with the pen needles) and we even dose down as far as 0.25 units. The 1 unit is too much insulin. I suggest you look for those half unit marked syringes, probably the Microfine II ones. Not sure, depends what country you are in.

It is best for diabetics - both human and cats, to get several small meals a day. It is easier on the healing pancreas.

To feed multiple meals while we are not home, we suggest getting an automated pet feeder. There are models that have 4 slots available and the machine moves the slots at scheduled times.

Yes, you can adjust shot times. You can change the shot 15 minutes per shot or 1/2 hour once per day. More information in this post: Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule It's actually ideal if you can get a +2 test before you head out the door in the morning. The +2 test will tell you if she's having an active cycle, in other words, going lower that cycle. If so, you put higher carb food in the autofeeder.

Regarding the PM dose, have you tested later in the cycle so we have an idea what her blood sugar might look like at PMPS?
unfortunately, I have been to more than one clinic, and this current one was actually the best option I could find. Many other clinics here even refused to treat her because they do not have experience with feline diabetes. Just to clarify, I live in KSA (Saudi Arabia). Also, regarding her dry food, it is specifically Royal Canin Diabetic dry food (not regular dry food).

Regarding her meals, is my current feeding schedule okay, or do I need to change it?

And to answer your question: No, I did not test her later in the cycle today. The 136 mg/dL is the only test I did this evening before the PM shot
 
What they call "diabetic dry food" is not appropriate for diabetics. Call it mislabelling. It is 23% carbs on an as-fed basis. We suggest feeding 10% and under. Except for a couple dry food, the most are too high in carbs for a diabetic. Not sure if you can get any foods in the stores or on line listed in this food list: UK Cat Food List

Your current food schedule looks good as a start. As you gather more data, you may need to modify it. Get a few tests between +1 and +2, to see if you can pinpoint when exactly she does the big drop. Then try feeding a meal a half hour before that.
 
With my last diabetic, I worked from 8am to 5pm and had to leave the house at 7:30am and got back home at 5:30pm.
So, I tested, fed, and shot at 6:00am in the morning which gave me 1 and 1/2 hours in the morning to get another test in before I left for work and if needed put out higher carb food for the day to keep him safe.
When I got home at 5:30pm, I had 30 minutes until 6:00pm to test, feed, and shoot his PM dose. That allowed me a couple of hours to test more before bed time.

I also eventually started getting up even earlier and did a test at PM +11 which was 5am for me, that way when I compared the 5am test to the 6am AMPS shot I could see if his BG was rising or falling. It helped me a little to see that. I also prayed a lot.
 
If it's helpful - my partner and I also work full-time. We do Moonie's shot as soon as we wake up at 6am, and we grab her +1.5 or +2 (depending on the day) at 730am / 8am as we leave to make sure she's safe. We have a timed refrigerated pet feeder that dispenses wet food for Moonie. And then we test her again at 6pm when we return home.
 
The timed feeders are incredibly helpful to dispense a wet food small snack in the first few hours of a cycle (after you left for work) to keep Mocha safe with food.
They have a small cooler pack which sits under the food to keep it fresh.

I use them even when I am home so Ivy is used to getting her snacks from the feeder. I use them in both am and pm cycles.
 
Update regarding the PM doses:

For the past two days, we have skipped the PM dose because the pre-shot readings were low.

Additionally, I couldn't find half-unit syringes anywhere in my city or online, so I ordered them from outside the country and I am currently waiting for them to arrive (not exactly sure when they will get here, but it takes around two weeks). Because of this, I am currently stuck with only two options: either give a full 1 unit or skip the shot entirely.

Given this situation, how should I handle her doses safely until my half-unit syringes arrive?

Also, could you please recommend the best types of automatic timed feeders for wet food?
 
Hi

I am posting this because I am feeling extremely scared, panicked, and overwhelmed. Her numbers keep dropping continuously, even after skipping the PM dose!! I am so confused and terrified—what should I do right now?
 
Hey - are you referring to her going from 120 pmps to 102 at +1? This seems pretty far above a take action number at 50 and the drop isn’t that steep? There’s a 15-20 percent meter variance so it’s similar to flat.

For a quicker response I’d change your title or even better - create a new post for the day linking to this one. I’d use a dropdown menu to put “?” by the title and make sure to put something like “dosing advice” and her numbers today denoting that you didn’t shoot for the pm cycle.
 
Also you might want to get a dosing review by someone experienced regardless since it looks like you weren’t able to shoot a lot of the pm cycles, just so you can feel comfortable with a dose that you can be consistent with since Lantus is a depot insulin that does best when it’s administered consistently.
 
Hey - are you referring to her going from 120 pmps to 102 at +1? This seems pretty far above a take action number at 50 and the drop isn’t that steep? There’s a 15-20 percent meter variance so it’s similar to flat.

For a quicker response I’d change your title or even better - create a new post for the day linking to this one. I’d use a dropdown menu to put “?” by the title and make sure to put something like “dosing advice” and her numbers today denoting that you didn’t shoot for the pm cycle.
Hi, thank you for your input! My apologies for any confusion—her PMPS actually dropped lower and showed a concerning trend earlier, which made me panic and skip the PM dose to keep her safe. Since skipping it, her numbers have continued to cruise down nicely into the low 100s (around 111 mg/dL now). Given that she's dropping below her usual pre-dose ranges over the last few days without insulin, I'm trying to figure out if this points toward remission or if I need a dose reduction.

Also, I wanted to share this sensor graph snapshot. Please note that I don't rely entirely on the sensor for precise clinical numbers—I always take my official readings from her spreadsheet recorded using my Contour care
IMG_9492.jpeg
meter. But as you can see from the trend in the image, her glucose behavior has been like this
 
You do need to give a lower dose than 1 unit. If you can get a small bag of one unit syringes, what brand would they be? There are paper rulers available for the Microfine syringes that can help you dose smaller amounts. Digital calipers are also great. My hubby got me mine at his local woodworking/metalworking tool store.
 
Hi

I am posting this because I am feeling extremely scared, panicked, and overwhelmed. Her numbers keep dropping continuously, even after skipping the PM dose!! I am so confused and terrified—what should I do right now?

Anoud, I’m not super experienced here, but I wanted to leave you this (long) message in case it can help.

I understand how you feel being in a Middle Eastern country and dealing with the whole issue of vet care and the lack of knowledge about feline diabetes. I really get your feelings and your situation. I empathize with you because I’ve also had moments of literal desperation with my own cat, especially because she has always been a “diver” and used to drop very quickly.

If I can give you one piece of advice, follow the low-carb feeding instructions people recommend here. You can use medium-carb and even high-carb food when necessary to slow down or steer the curve. Usually, low-carb food is recommended when aiming for remission, which is what you’ve been doing. The dry food, you can skip it... even if it says "diabetic" on it. It is usually full of carbs.

Fortunately, you were able to find Farmina diabetic wet food there. That’s already a great option for a low-carb one, especially if your kitty likes it and eats it well. There are also other Farmina canned foods that are excellent and low-carb. You can use those too if you have more Farmina options available. I use Farmina Matisse Mousse every day here (LC).

Some kitties tend to drop closer to shot time, toward the end of the cycle. That can happen. That’s why it’s important to learn the shape of Mocha's curve and understand her individual pattern. And remember: dropping can also be a good sign. It may mean she is improving. Try not to panic. The more experienced people here will help you with that.

1 unit may be too much for her at this point. People here will advise you. Her curve and where she is in her treatment will tell you that, and then, yes, it may be better to wait until your new syringes arrive. (Oh, and take a look at what Wendy wrote you above.) Otherwise, if the dose is currently too high for her, you may have to use a lot of carbs to support her through the cycle ( not the best option...).

Dropping a lot within 4 or 6 hours is something you’ll also gradually learn to interpret based on her individual pattern. My kitty, for example, drops a lot during the first two hours, so you gradually learn how to adjust feeding times according to the shape of her curve.

And remember: dropping is good. Dropping is healing. Don’t be afraid of lower numbers. They can be low and still be safe. So try to calm your heart and keep learning from people here. I can see that you are very careful with your kitty and that you are doing a lot for her.

Getting to 60, or even 50, can be acceptable if you are doing TR, ok? What matters is also observing her clinical signs, if she is ok and with no signs of hypo. The closer a kitty gets to remission, the more likely it is that her numbers will spend a good part of the day below 100.

I really hope your syringes arrive soon so you can adjust her doses accordingly. I’m rooting for you to find a good solution and become comfortable with smaller doses and lower numbers.

When we start to see lower PMPS, we tend to freak out. I totally know the feeling... But you will learn to handle those and they can actually be a good good sign! 😊

🤍 I hope it helps a bit and take some good care of you too.
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much for your kind words and support... I really needed to hear that.

To give you an update: I honestly don't know what to do anymore, and I am completely lost and terrified. Today, her pre-shot glucose was 220, so I gave her the dose. But within the very first hour, her blood glucose dropped in a terrifying way! I had to rush her to the clinic again, and they had to hook her up on an IV drip (IV fluids).

I feel so helpless and I'm losing my mind. I physically cannot give her less than 1 unit right now because the half-unit syringes are literally nowhere to be found, and I can't find them anywhere. At the same time, I cannot give her a full 1 unit either, because it is painfully obvious to all of us that it's way too high for her dose.

This situation makes me feel so helpless, paralyzed, and broken. What on earth am I supposed to do?
 
I'm so sorry to hear that! What was the +1 number? I hope Mocha is feeling better (and you start feeling better too!)

I would start looking into the caliper dosing. It's something that's on my list to do as well.
 
I'm so sorry to hear that! What was the +1 number? I hope Mocha is feeling better (and you start feeling better too!)

I would start looking into the caliper dosing. It's something that's on my list to do as well.

It was 98. I'm really terrified of trying caliper dosing because I'm so afraid of messing it up and making a mistake, and I honestly feel so helpless right now
 
I know that a lot of this is very scary (I never thought I'd be giving my cat shots! That's what vets are for!) and there probably will be mistakes. When I starting giving Crowley his insulin, instead of giving him .5u, I was giving him 0u because I didn't read the syringes right 😅😅 but luckily this group is really great about providing feedback and answering any questions, no matter how dumb, without making you feel like you're dumb (like hey, am I accidentally giving my cat 0u of insulin help). And now I can read a syringe!
 
It was 98. I'm really terrified of trying caliper dosing because I'm so afraid of messing it up and making a mistake, and I honestly feel so helpless right now
Using a caliper is actually super easy! I know it looks intimidating but I think it’s one of the most “idiot proof” ways to draw up a syringe.

Do you want to post photos of different syringe draws with the caliper? I’m sure people would be happy to help.

Maybe you could use differently color liquids in the syringe and then use that as the reference syringe for yourself too going forward - eg 0.25u, 0z5u, 0.75u.
 
Thank you so much for your kind words and support... I really needed to hear that.

To give you an update: I honestly don't know what to do anymore, and I am completely lost and terrified. Today, her pre-shot glucose was 220, so I gave her the dose. But within the very first hour, her blood glucose dropped in a terrifying way! I had to rush her to the clinic again, and they had to hook her up on an IV drip (IV fluids).

I feel so helpless and I'm losing my mind. I physically cannot give her less than 1 unit right now because the half-unit syringes are literally nowhere to be found, and I can't find them anywhere. At the same time, I cannot give her a full 1 unit either, because it is painfully obvious to all of us that it's way too high for her dose.

This situation makes me feel so helpless, paralyzed, and broken. What on earth am I supposed to do?

Anoud, sometimes we just stay in shock. I can relate... But take a breath, and try to figure this out: 🙏 this is part of the process until you get more familiar with how to handle this phase and become more comfortable with it. It is possible to manage it and “feed the curve” when needed - you can learn to coordinate her BG with food when necessary.

98 can be perfectly fine, really, but it can also be a sign to act - depending on her curve style, speed of the drop, the time she stops falling.


1. Can you find something like this in a neighboring country and have it delivered to you?

BD ULTRA-FINE (now called EMBECTA)
https://www.embecta.com/en-us/insulin-syringes/ultra-fine-needle/

1789816980594.png


If you get 1/2-unit marked syringes, make sure they’re for u-100 insulin. The 3/10 cc (volume the syringe holds) syringes work best for most cats.

Any similar to this one might be available (?). With half-marks: 0.5 unit.
It helps a lot with smaller doses.

:: Try to contact this company in Jeddah: BD Micro-Fine™ Plus Insulin Syringes – Medispot Medical

Secondly, you could really try using a caliper. It’s not difficult, or at least you could use one until your syringes arrive. It is a great alternative for the moment, too.

2. I give you an example. My cat (also a small cat - AMPS around 200) can easily and often dive below 100 within one hour. She can reach 60 even without the insulin dose. When a cat is getting close to remission, this can happen quite often.

So first, you probably need to adjust/reduce her dose. Then you’ll learn to observe how much she drops at +1, +2, and around her nadir (the lowest point of her cycle).

Because yes, she drops, but then she also reaches a point where she stops dropping and stays around that level for a while. She kind of navigates around that number for a good while, before going up again. You can see this on the graph and gradually learn Mocha's pattern. Questions for you: when does she stop dropping? At about what time? If you know that, it can make you more confident and calmer to decide if any specific action is needed or not.

If the numbers get too low - for example, around 60–55 and the arrow (graph) is still pointing down, and way before her nadir - you should give her medium-carb wet food, or high-carb wet food (if necessary), right away. You can also add a little honey, Karo corn syrup, or oral glucose to the MC food. Whatever is available in your country. You’ll learn how to respond if her numbers keep going down instead of leveling off.

I give my cat 1.5 mL of oral glucose by syringe (directly into her mouth) then some wet food, and it tends to rise her numbers and stabilize her BG. You will need to see what works best for Mocha. But you should check her again after about 30 minutes, because oral glucose or honey doesn’t last very long in their "system". The food does.

:: Also, before waiting for it to drop too much, you can give her more wet food (or food with more carbs) at +1 and +2, for example. You can feed her accordingly to the needs of her curve.

If you get familiar with her curve at this stage, you don't necessarily need to run to the vet when you see a 98. It depends on when in the cycle it is happening, at what time, if it is still going down or not. It might stop in a few minutes or not, it depends on the info you have about her pattern. If she stops on 80, for example, and do not fall any more (once it’s already the time when her curve stops dropping), this is super good. No need to go to the vet or giver her honey or carbs. As another example, my cat was reaching 53 often, and stopping there almost every day, at the same time in the cycle.

Again, a very good thing to do for now: observe Mocha's BG and see what her pattern of dropping is. There is the Lantus depot, reason why even if you skip one dose, you can still see the numbers drop. Also, her pancreas can be working a bit and it also makes the numbers go down by itself.

Have you seen the links below? Probably yes... These can also help you to feel more comfortable with lower numbers at the final stages.

Tilly's Diabetes Homepage - Diabetes in Cats - Feline Diabetes

Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

I hope you can calm your mind and soul and find the best possible solutions for the moment.

Mocha looks so so cute and sweet... There will be a way 💛 Breath, reflect and observe her curve. It might help you a lot.
 
Last edited:
I give my cat 1.5 mL of oral glucose
Where do you get this? I've looked and the only one I've seen are flavored.

I too was thinking you could use regular syringes with only 1 unit marks for now until you can get the ones with the 1/2 unit marks.
You would have to "eyeball" the dose and try to be as consistent as you can. Comparing your dose to an old syringe with some colored water in it is a good idea.
It took me about a week to get used to using calipers but I think it is the best way to get consistent measurements because you ignore the marks on the syringe. Over the years I have found the marks on the syringe are not always in the same place. That little variance for humans doesn't matter much to them but to our little cats it does.
 
Anoud, sometimes we just stay in shock. I can relate... But take a breath, and try to figure this out: 🙏 this is part of the process until you get more familiar with how to handle this phase and become more comfortable with it. It is possible to manage it and “feed the curve” when needed - you can learn to coordinate her BG with food when necessary.

98 can be perfectly fine, really, but it can also be a sign to act - depending on her curve style, speed of the drop, the time she stops falling.


1. Can you find something like this in a neighboring country and have it delivered to you?

BD ULTRA-FINE (now called EMBECTA)
https://www.embecta.com/en-us/insulin-syringes/ultra-fine-needle/

View attachment 80352



Any similar to this one might be available (?). With half-marks: 0.5 unit.
It helps a lot with smaller doses.

:: Try to contact this company in Jeddah: BD Micro-Fine™ Plus Insulin Syringes – Medispot Medical

Secondly, you could really try using a caliper. It’s not difficult, or at least you could use one until your syringes arrive. It is a great alternative for the moment, too.

2. I give you an example. My cat (also a small cat - AMPS around 200) can easily and often dive below 100 within one hour. She can reach 60 even without the insulin dose. When a cat is getting close to remission, this can happen quite often.

So first, you probably need to adjust/reduce her dose. Then you’ll learn to observe how much she drops at +1, +2, and around her nadir (the lowest point of her cycle).

Because yes, she drops, but then she also reaches a point where she stops dropping and stays around that level for a while. She kind of navigates around that number for a good while, before going up again. You can see this on the graph and gradually learn Mocha's pattern. Questions for you: when does she stop dropping? At about what time? If you know that, it can make you more confident and calmer to decide if any specific action is needed or not.

If the numbers get too low - for example, around 60–55 and the arrow (graph) is still pointing down, and way before her nadir - you should give her medium-carb wet food, or high-carb wet food (if necessary), right away. You can also add a little honey, Karo corn syrup, or oral glucose to the MC food. Whatever is available in your country. You’ll learn how to respond if her numbers keep going down instead of leveling off.

I give my cat 1.5 mL of oral glucose by syringe (directly into her mouth) then some wet food, and it tends to rise her numbers and stabilize her BG. You will need to see what works best for Mocha. But you should check her again after about 30 minutes, because oral glucose or honey doesn’t last very long in their "system". The food does.

:: Also, before waiting for it to drop too much, you can give her more wet food (or food with more carbs) at +1 and +2, for example. You can feed her accordingly to the needs of her curve.

If you get familiar with her curve at this stage, you don't necessarily need to run to the vet when you see a 98. It depends on when in the cycle it is happening, at what time, if it is still going down or not. It might stop in a few minutes or not, it depends on the info you have about her pattern. If she stops on 80, for example, and do not fall any more (once it’s already the time when her curve stops dropping), this is super good. No need to go to the vet or giver her honey or carbs. As another example, my cat was reaching 53 often, and stopping there almost every day, at the same time in the cycle.

Again, a very good thing to do for now: observe Mocha's BG and see what her pattern of dropping is. There is the Lantus depot, reason why even if you skip one dose, you can still see the numbers drop. Also, her pancreas can be working a bit and it also makes the numbers go down by itself.

Have you seen the links below? Probably yes... These can also help you to feel more comfortable with lower numbers at the final stages.

Tilly's Diabetes Homepage - Diabetes in Cats - Feline Diabetes

Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

I hope you can calm your mind and soul and find the best possible solutions for the moment.

Mocha looks so so cute and sweet... There will be a way 💛 Breath, reflect and observe her curve. It might help you a lot.
Thank you so much for your kind words, support, and for taking the time to explain all of this. It really means a lot to me
I am writing this reply to you while I am in tears and completely broken, because I literally feel so lost.

I ordered these syringes
Screenshot 2026-09-19 235058.jpg
and I wanted to ask: are these the exact correct type I need? They will arrive around September 24th or 25th.

It is so hard to find her supplies here easily; most things are simply unavailable. I spent my entire day searching through stores, pharmacies, and veterinary clinics, and I found nothing. To make it even worse, the vets and clinics here are so terrible. One of the vets actually told me that there is no treatment and I should just surrender to the idea of her dying, saying 'even humans die!'

I truly want to try using calipers, but I know deep down that I cannot manage to do it properly by myself. I feel so overwhelmed
 
Where do you get this? I've looked and the only one I've seen are flavored.
Dyana, in Brazil, we can buy glicose (it comes in this sort of small plastic tube - glicose made to be used in a syringe) and use it orally in our cats. We don't need a prescription to buy it. Here is the pic:
1789858677942.jpeg


I too was thinking you could use regular syringes with only 1 unit marks for now until you can get the ones with the 1/2 unit marks.
You would have to "eyeball" the dose and try to be as consistent as you can.
I think it is a good idea, until her syringes arrive. It might be the best option.

Over the years I have found the marks on the syringe are not always in the same place. That little variance for humans doesn't matter much to them but to our little cats it does.
Same here, Dyana!
 
Thank you so much for your kind words, support, and for taking the time to explain all of this. It really means a lot to me
I am writing this reply to you while I am in tears and completely broken, because I literally feel so lost.
Anoud 🙏🏼🌿 you are welcome. I am so happy that I could support you somehow. And I can really imagine how you feel in the midst of all that... I mean it.

I ordered these syringes
Screenshot 2026-09-19 235058.jpg
and I wanted to ask: are these the exact correct type I need? They will arrive around September 24th or 25th.
It says "demi" which is 0.5 unit. Good! And it is for U-100 insulin, right? If so, you got it right. Just double-check it it is for U-100 when you get them. Here is what I found:

1789859247980.jpeg


1789859248047.jpeg


It is so hard to find her supplies here easily; most things are simply unavailable. I spent my entire day searching through stores, pharmacies, and veterinary clinics, and I found nothing. To make it even worse, the vets and clinics here are so terrible. One of the vets actually told me that there is no treatment and I should just surrender to the idea of her dying, saying 'even humans die!'
It is so hard, you are right, but you made it, apparently, which is great - one victory at a time. You you find strength and options one step at a time... then you will see how many "giants" you overcame.

My personal opinion: for everything connected to FD, please come to the Forum, ask, research and read. It will be much better to use the knowledge from here than to listen to the vets there. And day by day you will gain more courage to give her the shot, even if Mocha has lower numbers, because you will know what to do at home.

And... after a little while, when you feel calmer, you will see that calipers are easier than you imagined. But for now, you can try to go one step at a time.

As you opened a new condo, I will continue there. It is the best way to avoid confusion or duplication.

🙏🏼🤍
 
Thank you so much for your kind words, support, and for taking the time to explain all of this. It really means a lot to me
I am writing this reply to you while I am in tears and completely broken, because I literally feel so lost.

I ordered these syringes View attachment 80359 and I wanted to ask: are these the exact correct type I need? They will arrive around September 24th or 25th.

It is so hard to find her supplies here easily; most things are simply unavailable. I spent my entire day searching through stores, pharmacies, and veterinary clinics, and I found nothing. To make it even worse, the vets and clinics here are so terrible. One of the vets actually told me that there is no treatment and I should just surrender to the idea of her dying, saying 'even humans die!'

I truly want to try using calipers, but I know deep down that I cannot manage to do it properly by myself. I feel so overwhelmed


Yes, those syringes will work.
 
Back
Top