Dosing advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's important that you test more than just at Pre-Shot. We need to know how low the dose is taking Baby. In the past 10 days or so, you've only done the Pre-shot tests (which are important...they tell us if it's safe to give insulin at all!) but it's the mid-cycle tests that are important to let us know how well he's responding to that dose. Doing a curve once a week (testing every 2 hours for 12 hours) is great, but it's still only giving information for that one cycle. For the other 13 cycles in the week, we have no way of knowing what's going on.

If at all possible, if you can get at least 1 mid-cycle (between about +5 and +7) on the AM cycle and always at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle, it will help. Most cats go lower at night so it's important to make sure he's doing OK before you go to sleep for the night.

While you're learning to use the board, can I get you to go ahead and do your "Signature"?

Find your name at the top right side and tap on your sign on name....there's a drop-down menu that will come up. Choose "signature" and a new box will pop up. In that box, enter information like:

Your name/Cat's name, age, sex, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, type of food, any other health problems or meds? and then put the link to your spreadsheet at the end. When you're done, click "Save" and you're done!

That way all that information will show up below your posts so we don't have to ask the same questions over and over again.
 
I didn't see any change with the increase of .25 to .75, this morning I gave 1 unit as it's been several days with no improvement. I'm not getting any numbers below 200. I will check throughout the day today to monitor him.
 
If you remember, you had set up your signature. I am copying Chris' direction on how to set-up/access your Signature.

Find your name at the top right side and tap on your sign on name....there's a drop-down menu that will come up. Choose "signature" and a new box will pop up.

Please paste this in your Signature.

If you need help, I will do it for you. Will need to be able to access your FDMB account to do so.
 
If you remember, you had set up your signature. I am copying Chris' direction on how to set-up/access your Signature.



Please paste this in your Signature.


If you need help, I will do it for you. Will need to be able to access your FDMB account to do so.
 
When I try to paste it in my signature I get a pop up that says it is too long? It will not let me copy it.
 
When I try to paste it in my signature I get a pop up that says it is too long? It will not let me copy it.
Signature allows only 2 lines. Move the existing info on Joey's DX, insulin, food etc all to the first line and paste the link of the SS in the second line.
 
Ok I think I have it now. Baby is not giving me any low numbers today, I'm getting so frustrated and feel inadequate. Maybe there is something else going on with him? I increased to 1 unit today.
 
Baby needs more insulin. Once you get him to a "good" dose, you should see an improvement in his numbers.
Are you feeding any dry food? If he is only on low carb canned or raw food, you could be more aggressive in dosing and increase his dose every 3-5 days rather than once a week.

@FrostD
@Deb & Wink
@JanetNJ
@Panic
 
Ok I think I have it now. Baby is not giving me any low numbers today, I'm getting so frustrated and feel inadequate. Maybe there is something else going on with him? I increased to 1 unit today.
He's still at a very low dose. You're doing fine he just needed more insulin. If a dose isn't working you don't need to hold it for more than a week. 5-7 days is enough to see if a dose is working. Let's see how that 1 unit dose is doing (I see some blue finally!) and if it's not enough after several days we will try 1.25.
 
Ok I think I have it now. Baby is not giving me any low numbers today, I'm getting so frustrated and feel inadequate. Maybe there is something else going on with him? I increased to 1 unit today.
Why do you think there's something else going on with him? Does he have symptoms of something? You are only now trying the typical recommended starting dose so it's not like he's on a low of insulin. My cat didn't even see a preshot under 300 for about 10 weeks and not until she was on 3 units. Id say baby is doing very well.
 
He doesn't get any dry, only FF pate and freeze dried chicken mixed in and Buddy treats for test time. No he doesn't have any other symptoms, I check for ketones occasionally. I got 1 number yesterday below 200, I guess I was expecting more that's all. I appreciate the help, I know I need more patience with this whole thing.
 
Slow and easy. It takes time to learn all the ins and outs of managing Feline Diabetes.

You might want to reconsider the Buddy treats. Looked up the ingredients and the Guaranteed analysis and then ran those numbers through a simple carb calculator. Those treats are very high in carbs, in the 60% plus range.
 
Slow and easy. It takes time to learn all the ins and outs of managing Feline Diabetes.

You might want to reconsider the Buddy treats. Looked up the ingredients and the Guaranteed analysis and then ran those numbers through a simple carb calculator. Those treats are very high in carbs, in the 60% plus range.
 
Oh I thought they were ok. He only gets them at test time. It seems like his numbers just are not going lower, in fact he had better numbers on a lower dose. So frustrating.
 
I tried to start a new thread but I still can't figure this forum out, it's all new to me.
Baby had a few good days but I believe I gave too much insulin on July 29 which caused a bounce and he has been going higher ever since. He is now averaging in the 300 range which is higher than normal for him. What should I do now?
 
I tried to start a new thread but I still can't figure this forum out, it's all new to me.
Just go to the Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum) page where you will see a Post New Thread button in dark blue, upper right side.
Did you substitute the high carb treats for something else yet? Kitty could be more carb sensitive than most, pushing numbers up.
It is frustrating because ECID (each cat is different).
But I think you are doing swell. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top