[Dosing advice needed for morning MST] Reduction?

Hannah and Phoebe

Member Since 2025
Hi all, Phoebe has been earning reductions pretty consistently for the past couple of weeks. This morning, her dose was 0.25u, and I just got a ReliOn reading of 83, meaning she would technically earn another reduction. What's next in this case? Do I go to tenths of units, or just hold at 0.25 for now? My syringes are U-40 VetOne Vetrijec Medium Dose Syringes and I've been doing caliper dosing for quarters of units, but I'm not sure if it's possible or advisable to measure tenths of units with these syringes, but I'm willing try of course. I do have some emergency syringes on hand, some of which are U-100. Any advice appreciated!
 
Last edited:
Yes. There are smaller doses than .25. The next smallest dose is a .10 dose. There is a dose as small as a drop dose. There’s also the conversion chart where you can use a U-100 syringe to draw a .2 dose. However, I personally don’t think Phoebe is ready for that just yet (although I haven’t seen her AMPS yet.). Here’s the conversion chart — and I will continue in another post my thoughts on her dose.
1756558804567.png
 
I am not quite sure how she earned the reduction down to .25 since I do see a 90 on the ReliOn meter for the evening cycle of 8/28, but I don’t see a drop below 90. I did just now see your note about her being close and eating 1/3 of her breakfast so I understand the decision. Remember that the ProZinc isn’t going to kick in for about two hours so she has those two hours in which to eat (but perhaps nobody was going to be at home to make sure she ate or to keep tabs on her?)

I would like to see her at the .25 dose at least for a little while longer, pending AMPS and any overnight data from last night.

At this point in Phoebe’s journey, I think it would be best for her if you switched to the Modified ProZinc Method, where reductions would be earned if she dropped below 50 on your ReliOn meter. It looks like she has a good chance for remission, but she needs to be in the normal BG numbers for a cat (50-120 ReliOn.) The more time we can get her to spend in those numbers the better. Her pancreas’ beta cells can heal. To ensure a long-lasting remission, we need to have her in the normal green numbers with only a few of the very low blues (and usually those are after eating.)
 
So you can see that, using the conversion chart and a U-100 syringe, you could even draw a .1 dose by drawing the U-100 back to the .25 (eyeballing it, or in your case measured with the calipers). We aren’t quite to this point yet, but the way Phoebe has been going recently…. we may soon.
 
I am not quite sure how she earned the reduction down to .25 since I do see a 90 on the ReliOn meter for the evening cycle of 8/28, but I don’t see a drop below 90. I did just now see your note about her being close and eating 1/3 of her breakfast so I understand the decision. Remember that the ProZinc isn’t going to kick in for about two hours so she has those two hours in which to eat (but perhaps nobody was going to be at home to make sure she ate or to keep tabs on her?)

I would like to see her at the .25 dose at least for a little while longer, pending AMPS and any overnight data from last night.

At this point in Phoebe’s journey, I think it would be best for her if you switched to the Modified ProZinc Method, where reductions would be earned if she dropped below 50 on your ReliOn meter. It looks like she has a good chance for remission, but she needs to be in the normal BG numbers for a cat (50-120 ReliOn.) The more time we can get her to spend in those numbers the better. Her pancreas’ beta cells can heal. To ensure a long-lasting remission, we need to have her in the normal green numbers with only a few of the very low blues (and usually those are after eating.)
Thank you! We will continue with 0.25u and will start following modified prozinc method!
 
At this point in Phoebe’s journey, I think it would be best for her if you switched to the Modified ProZinc Method
To ensure we are getting nadirs with the ReliOn so we can properly follow MPM, I am looking at her spreadsheet and thinking we will need to test at AMPS, AMPS+3,+4,+5, PMPS, PMPS+3,+4,+5 )+3 and +4 to get the nadirs and +5 to ensure she's rising again. What do you think? Is this overkill? If we are both out in the morning or can only get one reading (+3, +4, or +5), which should we prioritize do you think?
 
Nice cycle today so far. I'm glad she got the .25 units. You are maybe getting a little too spun up about it, but one of the things I like about you, Hannah, is how you put your whole heart (and mind) into everything. What you describe might be "ideal" but you may not always be able to do it. She does seem to nadir around +4,+5, +6 or so (maybe sometimes a little earlier). You don't necessarily have to do those tests every single day, but you can mix it up a little (e.g., one day getting a +4 and the next a +5) and also remember you can get tests at night. If neither of you are home in the morning, I would go for a +4 or 5 (or in between like a +4.5 or 5.5) Since every cycle every day isn't going to be exactly the same, it's hard to say .... you would have to let the numbers be your guide on any given day.
 
Nice cycle today so far. I'm glad she got the .25 units. You are maybe getting a little too spun up about it, but one of the things I like about you, Hannah, is how you put your whole heart (and mind) into everything. What you describe might be "ideal" but you may not always be able to do it. She does seem to nadir around +4,+5, +6 or so (maybe sometimes a little earlier). You don't necessarily have to do those tests every single day, but you can mix it up a little (e.g., one day getting a +4 and the next a +5) and also remember you can get tests at night. If neither of you are home in the morning, I would go for a +4 or 5 (or in between like a +4.5 or 5.5) Since every cycle every day isn't going to be exactly the same, it's hard to say .... you would have to let the numbers be your guide on any given day.
Thank you! :cat:
 
Back
Top