[Dosing advice needed for morning MST] Reduction?

Hi all, Phoebe has been earning reductions pretty consistently for the past couple of weeks. This morning, her dose was 0.25u, and I just got a ReliOn reading of 83, meaning she would technically earn another reduction. What's next in this case? Do I go to tenths of units, or just hold at 0.25 for now? My syringes are U-40 VetOne Vetrijec Medium Dose Syringes and I've been doing caliper dosing for quarters of units, but I'm not sure if it's possible or advisable to measure tenths of units with these syringes, but I'm willing try of course. I do have some emergency syringes on hand, some of which are U-100. Any advice appreciated!
 
Last edited:
Yes. There are smaller doses than .25. The next smallest dose is a .10 dose. There is a dose as small as a drop dose. There’s also the conversion chart where you can use a U-100 syringe to draw a .2 dose. However, I personally don’t think Phoebe is ready for that just yet (although I haven’t seen her AMPS yet.). Here’s the conversion chart — and I will continue in another post my thoughts on her dose.
1756558804567.png
 
I am not quite sure how she earned the reduction down to .25 since I do see a 90 on the ReliOn meter for the evening cycle of 8/28, but I don’t see a drop below 90. I did just now see your note about her being close and eating 1/3 of her breakfast so I understand the decision. Remember that the ProZinc isn’t going to kick in for about two hours so she has those two hours in which to eat (but perhaps nobody was going to be at home to make sure she ate or to keep tabs on her?)

I would like to see her at the .25 dose at least for a little while longer, pending AMPS and any overnight data from last night.

At this point in Phoebe’s journey, I think it would be best for her if you switched to the Modified ProZinc Method, where reductions would be earned if she dropped below 50 on your ReliOn meter. It looks like she has a good chance for remission, but she needs to be in the normal BG numbers for a cat (50-120 ReliOn.) The more time we can get her to spend in those numbers the better. Her pancreas’ beta cells can heal. To ensure a long-lasting remission, we need to have her in the normal green numbers with only a few of the very low blues (and usually those are after eating.)
 
So you can see that, using the conversion chart and a U-100 syringe, you could even draw a .1 dose by drawing the U-100 back to the .25 (eyeballing it, or in your case measured with the calipers). We aren’t quite to this point yet, but the way Phoebe has been going recently…. we may soon.
 
I am not quite sure how she earned the reduction down to .25 since I do see a 90 on the ReliOn meter for the evening cycle of 8/28, but I don’t see a drop below 90. I did just now see your note about her being close and eating 1/3 of her breakfast so I understand the decision. Remember that the ProZinc isn’t going to kick in for about two hours so she has those two hours in which to eat (but perhaps nobody was going to be at home to make sure she ate or to keep tabs on her?)

I would like to see her at the .25 dose at least for a little while longer, pending AMPS and any overnight data from last night.

At this point in Phoebe’s journey, I think it would be best for her if you switched to the Modified ProZinc Method, where reductions would be earned if she dropped below 50 on your ReliOn meter. It looks like she has a good chance for remission, but she needs to be in the normal BG numbers for a cat (50-120 ReliOn.) The more time we can get her to spend in those numbers the better. Her pancreas’ beta cells can heal. To ensure a long-lasting remission, we need to have her in the normal green numbers with only a few of the very low blues (and usually those are after eating.)
Thank you! We will continue with 0.25u and will start following modified prozinc method!
 
Back
Top