Dosing advice for tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiki's Charlie

Member Since 2014
5/24 - Kiki's Charlie - AMPS 250, +5 126, PMPS 410
Charlie has been on 1 unit for three days now, but numbers are bouncing up and down. I have a feeling I should increase dose tomorrow morning to 1,25 units but would appreciate advice!
(I will continue to test tonight, at PM +3 and +6)
Thanks, Kiki
 
Charlie is very very pretty. I love her coat and her eyes :) I would love to see more pictures.

The green on the 21st is probably still leftover depot from the 1.50 dose. The 126 today is good.
She's bouncing now, and it looks like she may be clearing bounces faster which is good.
If you want to try the 1.25 in the morning, just be prepared to test more. You probably don't have to test much tonight and can save some test strips and give her ears a break. We don't recommend increasing a dose as a bounce is breaking, so if she is coming down fast tomorrow morning, then I would hold off on the dose increase. The bounce breaking could just add momentum to the increased dose and make her come down too quickly instead of nice and easy.
 
Thanks for the advice Dyana!

I will test now (PM+3) and then leave it for tonight. I'll see where she's at tomorrow morning. I will not increase the dose unless she's high again...

Thanks for the compliments - she is indeed beautiful (a Norwegian Forestcat), I will post more photos when I figure out how to do it ; )
 
HI Kiki and extra sweet Charlie!!

Prior condo from 5/21

One thing I noticed...You say that yesterday AM was a possible furshot? From those 400's later in the cycle, I think you may be right!

The problem with furshots is that we usually start the "cycle count" over again from the time of the furshot, so tonight's PMPS would only be Charlie's 3rd cycle at 1 unit since the possible furshot.

Since the 1 unit did bring him down into the 100's today, I'd continue to hold the 1 unit for awhile longer. As it is, it looks like getting into those blues started another bounce tonight so we'd need to make sure he's done bouncing before increasing

From the protocol:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

It would be helpful if you'd add some information to your signature line too! (Where the link to Charlie's spreadsheet is), like your name, diagnosis date, the type of insulin you're using, type of meter you're using, and any other health problems Charlie might have.

Also, we like to always have the link to your prior condo in the current one so it's easy to quickly go back and read what advice you'd been given as well as just so we can catch up on what else has been going on. To do that, you just copy the link in the address bar and then click on the URL tab. "Paste" the link in between so it would look like this:
[color=#FF0000]Your link here[/colo... job getting tests in! Keep up the good work!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top