? Dosing advice Balthazar

Kelly_Balti

Member Since 2026
Hi,

I would like to get some dosing advice on Balthazar. The reason is that I have been going to the vet for advice and I feel they are not necessarily the best people to be helping me with the dosing. Since June he has been on 1.00 ie and they are very reluctant to increase the dosing. Instead they wanted me to focus on the wetfood given which was the Purina DM wetfood but I have since switched to partially raw food and partially LC wetfood (Wild Freedom) (the plan was to switch to complete raw food) on the 19th of July which he has been doing quite well clinically ( he is not peeing so much and his fur is soft and shiny as well as he is quite active). However the BG remained high. The vets were not concerned because they were ok with that he was improving quite a lot clinically. And told me to slowly switch the diet and then wait 8 weeks to stabilize before changing the dosing.

However, we have reached the point where I have asked them last week what to do as he was getting even higher in the BG and they told me to continue with changing the diet and wait it out and do a curve every hour to determine the nadir on Monday and check if maybe he needed to be on the Lantus. I sent it on Tuesday (yesterday) and they would look at it. As the ketones were also starting to rise in the weekend I have put the food back to the values of last week with regards to the raw food LC wetfood ratio.

Currently the ketones rose this morning even further to 1.2 and I have not received dosing advice yesterday. I have just given him his normal dose and will be away all of today due to work so cannot get extra testing in but can do extra testing tonight and from tomorrow onwards as I will be WFH then and will be off on Friday and the weekend.

I would really appreciate some advice as I am already wondering every day since the diagnosis if I am doing all the right things and going to the right people, but I am starting to worry that despite them getting Balti out of DKA they might not be the most knowledgeable about diabetes.

Thank you!

Kelly
 
Update I measured ketones and BG at +10. Ketones were down to 0.2. Please note I am using the World sheet

That’s a relief about his ketones.
His BG certainly is high. I do not see a problem with switching him over to the 100 percent raw diet if that is what you want to do, although it sounds like the wet food you are feeding is already low in carbs.
 
Hi,

Yeah the plan was to switch him completely over to raw food only he then needs a lot less grams then from the wetfood so I am compromising a bit here that he retains the volume a bit as this is also easier to manage with the multiple meal times a day so that he does not get ridiculously small meals as he then tends to continue to whine about more food and with the current schedule and volume he is not whining a lot about more food. The raw food has as a benefit that his coat and his brothers coat are both really shiny. So I am trying to get the best of both worlds.

I have put him on 1.25u of insulin since yesterday evening as I am WFH today so we will see how that goes. So far he is still quite high in the BG but we will see how it is in a couple of days I will probably do a complete curve on Sunday/ Monday to give him time to adjust and then see how to alter the dosing from there.
 
And you say you are testing for ketones every day? That’s important. I would say that we could fast track his insulin increases a bit if his ketones don’t remain low. This is since he has had a recent DKA and it’s in his best interest to try and get his numbers down —and he is on a 100 percent wet food low carb diet.
 
It would be very good if you made a column to record the ketones (like a column at the end just before the notes/comments column.)
 
Yes I have a blood ketone tester from Amazon KetoBM and am measuring the ketones every day at AMPS as I am also measuring BG then anyway. He is currently back at 0.2 yesterday at +10 and this morning at AMPS so hopefully this remains stable. The Ketone column (column AC) is in the world sheet as I am already recording it in this sheet. I have changed the file so that it now also records in the US sheet.
Column AC Ketones
Column AD Weight ( try to measure weekly)
Column AE food intake
 
Last edited:
Hi,

I did a curve today and just finished it and have given Balti his PMPS shot. However, he has now had the dose for 4 days (started Wednesday evening) and according to the SLGS method I am supposed to keep him on this dose for 7 days. My dilemma currently is that he has tested 0.7 this morning and again this evening for ketones and has thus increased ketones again. I am WFH tomorrow and Tuesday and am able to monitor a new dose if I would adjust the dose earlier. Otherwise the first chance on a dose increase would be Friday evening probably as Wednesday and Thursday I will be out all day and Friday I have an appointment which will fall around his nadir. Is it wise to keep the dose steady till Friday evening despite the chance of the ketones possibly rising further or should I do a dose increase tomorrow or Tuesday to 1.5?

Thanks for your help! 😊
 
Does he eat an all low carb wet food diet (no dry?). Please add his diet to your signature.

I do think that we need to fast track him a little bit — and as you say, you will be able to monitor him tomorrow. I agree with the increase to 1.5 units because of his recent DKA. 0.7 ketones is not too concerning, but if the trend is that they are going up we should try to stop it. Good luck and keep me posted.
 
Hi,
I did the 1.50 this morning. Ketones were fortunately again down to 0.1 and the AMPS preshot was also pink instead of red or black (Unfortunately the PMPS preshot was red again this evening) All of the numbers from the curve of yesterday were quite similar to today. We will see what happens. If nothing strange will occur this week I will do another curve on Sunday and in the mean time get some spot checks and then lets see how to proceed further.
 
Hi @Suzanne & Darcy,

I am currently in the last couple of hours of the curve check for this week. As it looks now his nadir is still too high. Now I could increase the dosage to 1.75. However, the preshots are not coming down and staying alarmingly high. This is also causing in recent weeks that the ketones are all over the place between 0.2 and 1+. I am wondering whether I should make a vet appointment tomorrow to discuss going over to Lantus? If I understand correctly this insulin might last longer? As it looks like the Prozinc is just not lasting long enough as from the beginning of the diagnosis in June till now he still climbs back in the red/ black numbers at +8 / +10 and only sporadically has a pink preshot number. Despite him going down like a rocket in the first half of the cycle.

Or is this something in your experience which might be able to even out with a higher dose? Because I fear the high numbers and steep drops might be starting to cause damage.
 
Last edited:
Hello! I would definitely increase the dose to 1.75 units. He is not receiving enough insulin yet (dose too low) so it is hard to say how long it will be before the preshot numbers come down. I see many cats whose preshot numbers come down as they get to their best dose. A lot of the high numbers on Balti’s spreadsheet are due to him bouncing from the lower numbers. His body is not even used to being in yellow numbers at this point and he is reacting to that. It is very frustrating. The only way to stop that bouncing is for him to spend as much time as possible in the lower numbers so that his body will not perceive them as a threat.
 
Did we talk about bouncing and it’s cause yet?

Here is one explanation that I frequently give to FDMB members:

A bounce is where the cat's body reacts to lower numbers that he is not used to being in anymore... since becoming diabetic. It's a protective mechanism where the cat's central nervous system perceives either a steep drop in blood glucose or simply the cat being in lower numbers - and releases adrenaline, cortisol, glucagons and growth hormone, all of which create insulin resistance and can keep numbers high for up to six cycles (the bounce). Bounces don't have to last that long, but in some cats they will. Over time, many cats will start to clear the bounces more quickly. When the bounce does clear, the BG numbers will come back down and give us an accurate picture of what a dose is doing for the cat.
 
Lantus is also a very good insulin for cats, and I don’t see any harm in asking about it. It may give you flatter curves for Balti. It won’t stop the bouncing though. Balti will do that on his own eventually we hope!
 
Whether you decide to make the vet appointment or not, I would advise increasing his dose to 1.75 units at his very next shot. Initially after his diagnosis, his dose was held much too long at 1 unit so he could not make any progress with that dose. If doses are held too long when increases are needed, it can cause glucose toxicity which really just means that it allows Balti to stay in and be accustomed to high numbers — this makes it more difficult to shift him out of the higher numbers.
 
Back
Top