Dosing Advice ASAP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Very Active Member
I have been stalling and retesting for one hour for his PMPS and he is still only at 145. He needs to eat. So what do I do about insulin? Thanks
 
Hmmmm. Bubba, Bubba. You are a puzzle. This could be the start of a downward trend because his mouth is in better shape. Or it just be Bubba.

If you can afford the time to be off schedule and work your way back, you could feed him and wait two hours and if he is high enough to shoot (180?) then give him some insulin but a little less. Maybe 2 units? And watch him tonight. Or you could give him a token dose now (1/1.5?) and watch him like a hawk. Neither are terribly good options; the second is scarier than the first. But skipping all together could be the worse option.

We are wandering around in the dark because we don't know whether it is a one time thing or if we are looking at a downward trend overall.

It's one of those things when we say "you hold the syringe and you decide". Because, frankly, we are scared to put your kitty in danger but want to keep him from losing ground.
 
He is killing me! So, after he ate, 2 hours later @ 8:30 pm EST, I test him and he is at 447. So I dosed him a fat 2 units. Tomorrow, when he wants breakfast at his usual time of 5:30 Am, can I feed him and then dose him at 8:15 am (15 mins earlier than tonight with a small snack ? Then I can slowly get him back to his regular schedule by 15 mins. earlier each cycle?
 
I think he is coming down a little overall, Bobbi. Bouncing some but the cycles are smile shaped and he is in the blues for part of the time.

How about taking a break - taking a long walk or going to see a movie or doing something else you enjoy. Maybe a long nap this afternoon? He is in good numbers and I think you should do something relaxing.
 
I think he is coming down a little overall, Bobbi. Bouncing some but the cycles are smile shaped and he is in the blues for part of the time.

How about taking a break - taking a long walk or going to see a movie or doing something else you enjoy. Maybe a long nap this afternoon? He is in good numbers and I think you should do something relaxing.
Thanks Sue,Good advise, I really do need to relax.
 
You poor baby. I wish I was next door, I could do your nails or something.
And I could make you laugh, it's one thing I'm good at.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ah, thanks Brenda! I am sorry for highjacking your thread last night. Weariness got the best of me. It looks like Tucker went low on you last night. :arghh: How did you steer him up? With just regular food? And how was he this AM, looked at his SS but it wasn't posted yet. I try and take in everything I can to help me help Bubba. Oh, and the fingernails are all chewed off! LOL
 
Bubba is sure leading you on a wild sugar dance, but you will get back on schedule soon and hopefully enjoy steadier, lower numbers! I agree with Sue, you need some "me" time. Got any Calgon bath salts and some wine, definitely some wine! :kiss:
 
Bubba is sure leading you on a wild sugar dance, but you will get back on schedule soon and hopefully enjoy steadier, lower numbers! I agree with Sue, you need some "me" time. Got any Calgon bath salts and some wine, definitely some wine! :kiss:
Thanks so much Lynn! :bighug: what I would do for a bubble bath! We haven't finish our master bath as of yet, and I only have a shower...:( But, the wine.....now you're talking! This afternoon, I got in a nice nap. It helped! How's Rupert doing?
 
That's great you got a nap in and some vino! Just think how much you will enjoy that master bath when it is complete! Rupert is up to his old tricks, threw me a 523 this amps....yikes! :nailbiting: I am positive I did NOT give a fur shot last night, I am super paranoid after a bad run of them, so I always shot carefully now and check for any wet or dampness on his fur. I almost wish I had, it would explain the high number. No kibble in the house, no food left out, no getting into other kitty's wet food (feed them all low carb wet), I stand guard and isolate Rupert till everyone is done eating. I am at a loss, maybe it's my insulin? Doubt it, seems to work most times, but I got my new bottle today, so will start using it soon. I was so stressed out the last few weeks about Rupert, that I decided this week to take it easier on myself and just keep at it, but with less head banging. :banghead: It's hard to do, but all we can do is our best and hope that it all comes together eventually. Our fur babies are doing much better than when we started, so that is something to smile about at least! :) So hang in there, you too Sharon and give yourself a break! :bighug:
 
I hear you Lynn. It goes in spurts with me too. Up and Down. The higher number today for Rupert, did he throw up a hairball? Or was it storming out or did one of the other cats got into it with him to stress him out before test time? Gosh, there are so many variables to their numbers. If I get a good day like on Sept. 19th ( he must have known it was my Birthday) then when it goes all to heck, it's disheartening. And, I know what you mean about the fur shot thing. I practically hold my breath when I shot him because those fur shots are just maddening. And you are right, they are better than they were when we started. Patience pants were getting tight on me too! ;)
 
:bighug:OK. Here comes Mom's lecture. When I look back over your spreadsheets, I see lots of blues and yellows with some lovely greens sprinkled in for garnish. The majority of the time your kitties are below the renal threshold; they are headed in the right direction. You are doing a great job!

Are the boys feeling okay? Eating okay? Enjoying their lives? Someone said once to remember that they don't know they are diabetic. They just know, for some wonderful reason, they are getting delicious food, scrumptious snacks and lots of extra attention.

Yes, it is so easy to get discouraged and to worry about each number and wonder what it means. But it doesn't really help the process a whole lot. Your job is to keep them in safe ranges and let them do the rest. And they will - but on their timetable.

Please take time for yourselves. I am so glad you got a nap today, Bobbi. Take a break daily - hourly. Go get some of your life back. At this point, you know they will be safe if you leave awhile. So DO!

This thing takes as long as it takes. As long as they are safe and happy, you have done your job. Of course, there will be those pre shots when you agonize about the right dose. But you all - everyone here - are making good, safe decisions every day. You should all be incredibly proud of yourselves - what you have learned, what you have accomplished and the wonderful life you are giving these cats.

OK. Soap box back in the closet. Mother hat off. Have a glass of wine and some chocolate and read a good book. Enjoy cuddling with that kitty and chill....... :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sue, thanks so much for your pep talk and encouragement, sometimes we just need someone to tell us to enjoy ourselves and our kitties. If it weren't for this wonderful site and people on it, I would feel very isolated, it's not something many can understand, unless they have experienced it for themselves. I am going to go have some chocolate, but not where Rupert can notice! lol :bighug:
 
I hear you Lynn. It goes in spurts with me too. Up and Down. The higher number today for Rupert, did he throw up a hairball? Or was it storming out or did one of the other cats got into it with him to stress him out before test time? Gosh, there are so many variables to their numbers. If I get a good day like on Sept. 19th ( he must have known it was my Birthday) then when it goes all to heck, it's disheartening. And, I know what you mean about the fur shot thing. I practically hold my breath when I shot him because those fur shots are just maddening. And you are right, they are better than they were when we started. Patience pants were getting tight on me too! ;)
I hears ya, but as Sue said, we need to ease up on ourselves. I found no hairball, but they are good at hiding them, nothing out of the ordinary. He got a flea treatment later, which usually stresses him out, you would think I was putting acid on his neck! I can poke his ears, stick him with the syringe and it takes a little wetness on his neck to really upset him! Silly putty cat. :cat:
 
I learn so much from reading these threads- still a relative newbie with an unregulated kitty. Can I ask what effect hairballs might have on levels, and what it means to shoot a "fat'" 2 units?
 
I learn so much from reading these threads- still a relative newbie with an unregulated kitty. Can I ask what effect hairballs might have on levels, and what it means to shoot a "fat'" 2 units?
Absolutely! Hi Carol, a hairball is very stressful to the cat and raises their Blood Glucose (BG) So, times I know that Bubba hacked one up right before I test, I realize the higher number is inflated due to that. A Fat 2 units or any units mean that I was a hair over the line for the 2. So, not to go to the next line, just a hair over. Hope that answers it for you. Glad you asked. That's how we all learn. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top