dosecrease Rocky PMPS 341 +1 412 +3 315 +4 312 +343

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon everyone!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118215&p=1238826#p1238826

Rocky's is still surfing pink numbers. Overnight His BG visited a red number, 426. His BG has only come down 50 points since that time. I have been feeding him the NVIV 0% carb foods since he began this stretch of pink numbers.

Yesterday's condo recap:

AMPS 330 +1 336 +5 328
PMPS 320 +4 306 +8 426 +10 373

Thank you for visiting Rocky's condo, Sienna :thumbup Rocky has been on 1.0u of insulin since 5/2. Tonight's shot will be a full 6 cycles on 1.0u of insulin. If I gave him .75u of insulin it would be a reduction, again. I think I need to try a (f)1.0u instead. :YMPEACE:

I had no insulin left in this pen after I gave him this morning's shot. I know that normally a cat's body does not react fast to this type of insulin. But Rocky being Rocky, I do not want to *possibly* be up all night tonight with him. :roll: I have a headache right and I am hoping that it does not turn into a migraine. I am not sure of the potency of the past pen vs. this new pen although the expiration date on the old pen was 3/3/15 and I always kept it in the fridge.

I will wait until tomorrow morning to give him the (f)1.0u.

**I have changed my mind. Headache is gone, for now anyway. :lol: I am going to increase his dose to a (f) 1.0u tonight.
 
Re: dosecrease 5/4 Rocky PMPS 341

Rocky only saw red, pink, and a few yellow numbers on .75u and 1.0u of insulin.

With Rocky's BG numbers still in the pinks as of tonight's PMPS, I decided to go ahead and increase his insulin dose to a (f)1.0u tonight instead of waiting until tomorrow morning.

He has been 4 and a half days in mostly pink numbers, since 4/29.
 
Re: NDW (f)1.0u 5/4 Rocky PMPS 341 +1 412

Did you go to a new pen tonight? It's usually a good idea to try a new pen for one cycle and then increase the dose the next, just in case the old pen has lost it's oomph. I keep track of when I change cartridges in my SS so I get an idea of how many days they are last.

If he is experiencing NDW, then you can probably get a good sleep in tonight. When cats are high, take the opportunity to catch up on sleep or other things you have to do, cause you know that sooner or later they'll be keeping you up at night. :roll:

Come on down Rocky - we are all tired of seeing you in that stinky pinky.
 
Re: NDW (f)1.0u 5/4 Rocky PMPS 341 +1 412 +3 315

I have been getting to bed earlier, like around 12:30am or 1am, and crashing very hard right away to sleep. One day I slept until 6am and that's pretty good for me! Also I haven't been on the board as much because of Rocky's high numbers. I've been catching up on a lot of housework like vacuuming, umpteen loads of laundry, cleaning out cat cages.. etc..and discovered that the "hot" cycle on my expensive new washing machine doesn't work, at all, so now must already call the repair man. Thank goodness I did buy the 5 year warranty because they must pay for all of the cost of the the parts and the work needed to fix it.

The board had a lot of outages this weeken for me too, or it just wouldn't allow me onto FDMB for some reason, so I wasn't able to visit anyone's condo.

Unfortunately, I didn't have enough insulin left in the old pen to draw another dose. I had to use the new pen tonight, and I did give him the increase with it. If it should happen again that I need to crack open another pen at the same time of doing a dose increase, I'll hold the old dose for one more cycle.

I'll make sure to test him before I go to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top