? Dose reduction - 04/24 Nam-kha AMPS 296 +1 301 +10 108 PMPS 95 + 1 85 +2 52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cyndy

Member Since 2018
Yesterday :

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-23-nam-kha-amps-275-1-265-10-121-pmps-97-2-86.194553/

Hello, I'm wondering if I should lower Nam-kha's dose. She's going very low every day, I can see it during the evening and each night I have to give her high carb food. Yesterday was the worse, I gave her a full bowl of dry food because I HAD to go to bed and she was at 68 at +3 (after I gave her more and more of her regular food).

It's really hard for me this week to keep on going to bed late, because my toddler wakes up around 2-3 am, it takes forever to put him back to sleep, and then at 6 I have to get up and go to work.

What do you think I should do? I have the feeling that I'm giving her insulin and then I'm forcing her to eat more to avoid hypo, it doesn't seem right.

But, I'm really exhausted today, my son is not feeling well, maybe it's just a bad day for me and I'm just questioning everything for nothing :/
 
I am no expert, but seems if you have to constantly steer with food then the dose may be too high. Seems she likes to go green when mommie is trying to sleep, these darn cats :facepalm:
 
You are still seeing the influence of the 0.75 unit depot. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. It should get easier as the depot drains.

The answer about whether you should reduce or not depends on which dosing method you are following. Putting either TR or SLGS in your signature will help people to help you.

Do you grab a quick test after the toddler is back to sleep?
 
@Wendy&Neko I'm still trying to understand the TR protocol. I would like to follow this one, but I often panic and do stupid stuff... The thing is, I'm completely exhausted today. I couldn't work as I wanted, I'm crying for nothing, it's just to much on my shoulders right now. I can't live on 3-4 hours of sleep while I'm working full time. On mat leave it was hard, now it's just too much. I don't test later at night because my son doesn't get back to sleep in his crib, he sleeps on me and wakes up if I move. He's probably teething again :/

Well, if I can sleep a bit more tonight, I'll probably feel better tomorrow.

I gave Nam-kha 0.25, hoping she wouldn't get super low tonight. But at +1 she's at 85 already. I guess I leave some high carb food out again if she goes down at +2.
 
It's perfectly fine to do a reduced dose to give yourself a break. You have to look after you too. :bighug:

It looks like Nam-kha was coming down all day. That's probably what you saw at +1, just more of the trend. Hopefully she'll stop the slide now. On the positive side of things, Nam-kha is responding really well to the Lantus.
 
@Wendy&Neko no break for us, at +2 she was at 52. I gave her some high carb food. It's only +2, she needs to stay above 50 until +6, then she should be okay..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top