? Dose for Kit Kat

The thyroid test would probably say T4.
It is probably included in the Senior profile. they are expensive, aren’t they!

I am sorry you have not been feeling well. Do you have an appointment soon to get the holter monitor data analyzed?
 
The thyroid test would probably say T4.
It is probably included in the Senior profile. they are expensive, aren’t they!

I am sorry you have not been feeling well. Do you have an appointment soon to get the holter monitor data analyzed?
I looked and the test for T4 was right in the middle. She said that he was fine except for unregulated diabetes. I am still wearing the holter monitor, so I do not know. But, I have degenerative disc disease and that is what has been bothering me, and I saw a doctor about that last Wednesday.
 
His higher AMPS this morning could just mean that he had a yellow or maybe higher blue number last night. Just stick with your plan to get a test or two this afternoon.
His numbers have been running higher and last night at PMPS he was @340, I did not think he would go from that to a lower number. This morning his urine was standing in the litter box and it has not been that way for a while. I did take his BG at 2.5 hrs., it was 259 and the strips I had in question his reading was 284.
 
You could try submitting the blood work as part of his necessary blood work for diabetes and weight loss and weakness. They won’t cover preventive care but you could make a case this was necessary to evaluate his weight loss and any end organ damage from the diabetes

I hope you feel better soon
 
You could try submitting the blood work as part of his necessary blood work for diabetes and weight loss and weakness. They won’t cover preventive care but you could make a case this was necessary to evaluate his weight loss and any end organ damage from the diabetes

I hope you feel better soon
Thank you, I did look at the test from Dec.23, 2024 and his T4 was negative. He got his weight loss from being on a diet from the vet, who was trying to stop his diabetes. He just has not gained it back, his legs are better than what they were. They are not yet what they used to be. I will ask his vet about a test to evaluate any organ damage from diabetes and why he has not gained all his weight back.
 
Thank you, I did look at the test from Dec.23, 2024 and his T4 was negative. He got his weight loss from being on a diet from the vet, who was trying to stop his diabetes. He just has not gained it back, his legs are better than what they were. They are not yet what they used to be. I will ask his vet about a test to evaluate any organ damage from diabetes and why he has not gained all his weight back.
Hi Teresa
I’m not saying he needs more tests—he had them in that blood work your vet did. What I’m saying is if you submit it as necessary for the evaluation of his diabetes and weight loss (or inability to regain weight) your insurance may pay for it. They don’t pay for blood work for physicals but they may if it’s associated with evaluating a medical problem. Ok?
 
I looked and the test for T4 was right in the middle. She said that he was fine except for unregulated diabetes. I am still wearing the holter monitor, so I do not know. But, I have degenerative disc disease and that is what has been bothering me, and I saw a doctor about that last Wednesday.
:bighug: And the nerve block was supposed to help.

Good to know the T4 is in the middle range.
 
Hi Teresa
I’m not saying he needs more tests—he had them in that blood work your vet did. What I’m saying is if you submit it as necessary for the evaluation of his diabetes and weight loss (or inability to regain weight) your insurance may pay for it. They don’t pay for blood work for physicals but they may if it’s associated with evaluating a medical problem. Ok?
They might pay. It’s not just a wellness check up, but it was bloodwork done to diagnose diabetes. They could look at the bloodwork even and see the high glucose and/or fructosamine values and see this. I don’t know if you want to do this because sometimes they make it a real pain in the neck to get a claim paid, but for $300 it would be worth it.
 
Hi Teresa
I’m not saying he needs more tests—he had them in that blood work your vet did. What I’m saying is if you submit it as necessary for the evaluation of his diabetes and weight loss (or inability to regain weight) your insurance may pay for it. They don’t pay for blood work for physicals but they may if it’s associated with evaluating a medical problem. Ok?
That was not his vet, that was a vet that boards and his vet does not. It says right on the invoice Wellness senior panel. I guess she wanted to make sure he was alright in case she did board him.
 
:bighug: And the nerve block was supposed to help.

Good to know the T4 is in the middle range.
I had a nerve block in December 2024, you are supposed to get them every 90 days. The problem is I have had this for a long time and it has gotten worse. He told me he thought I just needed to have surgery. I saw someone I know and her son was with her and he had the surgery and they told him he could not even pick up a gallon of milk for 6 months. I live alone, I can not do that. The T4 had the numbers at LOW 0.8 HIGH 4.0 and his number was 2.1. On the graph his is almost right in the middle. The invoice says Feline Annual Wellness Exam.
 
Hi Teresa
I’m not saying he needs more tests—he had them in that blood work your vet did. What I’m saying is if you submit it as necessary for the evaluation of his diabetes and weight loss (or inability to regain weight) your insurance may pay for it. They don’t pay for blood work for physicals but they may if it’s associated with evaluating a medical problem. Ok?
Except his diabetes evaluating was done in either late October or early November 2024 and this was done on Dec. 23, 2024.
 
It would be wonderful if you could get copies of his bloodwork so you could know for sure if his potassium was checked. Low potassium can definitely cause hind leg weakness (actually general weakness and lethargy as well, but it really depends on how low the potassium is.)

In a Senior cat, it’s always a good idea to get a “Senior Panel” done periodically. If your vet used the IDEXX lab, they have a “Total Health Plus Profile” panel that includes a T4 (thyroid) test. I always get this one for my senior kitties as you get more information for the price (although lab prices have gone up A LOT) in recent years.
His Potassium was on this Senior Profile that he had and his Potassium is more on the high side. LOW 3.4 HIGH 5.6 and his is 5.2, that concerns me that it is more on the high side. This was not my vet, but I was trying to find a vet that boards and Kit Kat's vet does not. I was not wanting to change vets but to have some where to take him to in case of an emergency. She used Antech Lab.
 
That was not his vet, that was a vet that boards and his vet does not. It says right on the invoice Wellness senior panel. I guess she wanted to make sure he was alright in case she did board him.
That probably messes things up for insurance. When I have to Board cats, they never check bloodwork. They do insist on current FVRCP and rabies vaccines (which is why I rarely board cats!)
 
His Potassium was on this Senior Profile that he had and his Potassium is more on the high side. LOW 3.4 HIGH 5.6 and his is 5.2, that concerns me that it is more on the high side. This was not my vet, but I was trying to find a vet that boards and Kit Kat's vet does not. I was not wanting to change vets but to have some where to take him to in case of an emergency. She used Antech Lab.
That potassium level is fine. Do not worry! If it’s within the reference interval (those high and low numbers you see) then do not worry. A lot of ot depends upon the food that you feed them, but his potassium value is okay in that bloodwork!
 
That probably messes things up for insurance. When I have to Board cats, they never check bloodwork. They do insist on current FVRCP and rabies vaccines (which is why I rarely board cats!)
She said the same thing about shots and Kit Kat has not had any shots in years. I would not board him either unless I had an emergency and I do not have any body else.
 
That potassium level is fine. Do not worry! If it’s within the reference interval (those high and low numbers you see) then do not worry. A lot of ot depends upon the food that you feed them, but his potassium value is okay in that bloodwork!
Good to know.
 
Good to know.
Today AMPS +6 he was @245 and at AMPS +3 he was @ 223. The only thing he had to eat besides his 2 snacks this morning was some boiled chicken after a BG test. So I am suprised that @ +6 he went up, most of the time this is his nadir. Guess, in the back of my mind I am still thinking something is wrong with this insulin.
 
He really did not get very good duration from his insulin today, did he? Don’t you have two different vials of insulin? One that was left out of the refrigerator during the power outage/put in the freezer but not frozen? And then you have a different vial? I have my doubts about it being the insulin… but you never know?
 
He really did not get very good duration from his insulin today, did he? Don’t you have two different vials of insulin? One that was left out of the refrigerator during the power outage/put in the freezer but not frozen? And then you have a different vial? I have my doubts about it being the insulin… but you never know?
I had one that was in the refrigerator during the power outage and that is the 1 I have been using. I have 1 that 1 put in the freezer accidently and I have not used it since then. I am really afraid of both of these insulin's. I have noticed lately he is urinating more than he was for a while. I am just afraid of him going 12 hours with an insulin that does not work right. When can I change his does, maybe that would help.
 
Tomorrow morning you can increase his dose to 1.5.
That is what I was thinking, I am still wondering about this insulin. This insulin was in the refrigerator when I had the power outage and it is my understanding that this insulin can with stand even being out of the refrigerator for a good while. If that is the case it should be alright, but it would not hurt my feelings to go another vial.
 
That is what I was thinking, I am still wondering about this insulin. This insulin was in the refrigerator when I had the power outage and it is my understanding that this insulin can with stand even being out of the refrigerator for a good while. If that is the case it should be alright, but it would not hurt my feelings to go another vial.
I meant to say go get another vial.
 
That is what I was thinking, I am still wondering about this insulin. This insulin was in the refrigerator when I had the power outage and it is my understanding that this insulin can with stand even being out of the refrigerator for a good while. If that is the case it should be alright, but it would not hurt my feelings to go another vial.
I meant to say go get another vial.
 
I meant to say go get another via
I meant to say go get another vial.

l.
Tonight I got the time for his shot confused. I rolled the insulin around and got it warmed up, but I got his shot time confused. I was thinking his shot time was 7:00 and got his shot ready so when he started eating I could give him his shot without him causing a fuss. I did not realize for a little while that his shot time was 7:30 instead of 7:00. Could that have hurt his shot since I got it ready ahead of time.
 
I don’t think it would have hurt anything since it was such a short time![/QUOTE Kit Kat's numbers have barely moved today, so I decided about an hour ago to go to his vet and to get a new bottle of Pro Zinc. I got dressed and started out to the garage to get in the car, looked and saw my trash cans covered with ice. So I guess it will be put off until tomorrow, unless his number's start moving.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy, I was ready to go get a new vial of Pro Zinc, I did not because of the weather. Imagine my surprise at PMPS when Kit Kat was @181, I ahead and shot him at 1 unit. Then I got to thinking, I should have asked you first before I made the move. I did read about the dosing method before I did it. I am sorry if I offended you.
 
No offense at all. I probably would have shaved a little off the dose and not dropped all the way back to 1 unit. But it’s just a temporary reduction for this cycle anyway so don’t worry about it.

I am very glad you didn’t go out in the ice! :bighug:
 
No offense at all. I probably would have shaved a little off the dose and not dropped all the way back to 1 unit. But it’s just a temporary reduction for this cycle anyway so don’t worry about it.

I am very glad you didn’t go out in the ice! :bighug:
Thank you, I will sleep better tonight. That is if Kitty Kat does not get too low.
 
That was January 25. He didn’t drop too low. In fact, it looks like he could have had a little more that day. But if you want to try it again, we could see if he also looks like he could’ve handled the full dose. Then next time he has a similar AMPS, we will know.
 
That was January 25. He didn’t drop too low. In fact, it looks like he could have had a little more that day. But if you want to try it again, we could see if he also looks like he could’ve handled the full dose. Then next time he has a similar AMPS, we will know.
Sounds fine, that is what I was thinking. It was 161, I put wrong number in.
 
Okay. It’s a relief to see a better number for KitKat. i have been checking his spreadsheet and didn’t like the higher numbers.
I bought a new vial of insulin, but I was going to wait till Monday to use it. I feel like his insulin is not working and then he gets a good number. When you used Pro Zinc how long did a vial last you. I know you said you used 40 units at one time, but i thought maybe he might have came down in units. Buddy, did not use ProZinc very long.
 
I bought a new vial of insulin, but I was going to wait till Monday to use it. I feel like his insulin is not working and then he gets a good number. When you used Pro Zinc how long did a vial last you. I know you said you used 40 units at one time, but i thought maybe he might have came down in units. Buddy, did not use ProZinc very long.
Last night at +2 he did not eat his snack and this morning he did not eat all his food. I checked his Ketones and this morning they were negative. Sometimes he does not eat every bite of his food at meal time, but last night was the first time he did not eat his snack. I hope he is alright.
 
Did you shoot yet? I am out trapping feral cats tonight. I thought I would just check in on the Borad while waiting.
I am sorry I thought you probably were doing something else. I went back to check on him and he was not eating his food, and since this was a new vial of insulin and i was not for sure how it would work I gave him 1 unit. I know that I need to start shooting a higher dose, but I had a lot of doubts tonight. Last night, I stayed up late with him, tomorrow I have another appt. @ the doctor and this morning i opened a new vial of insulin. I was afraid to go higher.
 
I am sorry I thought you probably were doing something else. I went back to check on him and he was not eating his food, and since this was a new vial of insulin and i was not for sure how it would work I gave him 1 unit. I know that I need to start shooting a higher dose, but I had a lot of doubts tonight. Last night, I stayed up late with him, tomorrow I have another appt. @ the doctor and this morning i opened a new vial of insulin. I was afraid to go higher.
I looked at his SS and saw where I had shot 1.25 several times, most of the time he eats all of his food and he was not tonight.
 
It’s fine. I hope he eats all his food tonight. 1 unit is okay and should help keep him from going too high.
I thought you were probably busy. Sorry, i did not know you were Trapping feral cats, was it for treat and release. I have owned several feral cats and have trapped them to take them to vet. I had 1 cat that was feral,. for 16 years, the other only lived for 2 years. The 1
 
I thought you were probably busy. Sorry, i did not know you were Trapping feral cats, was it for treat and release. I have owned several feral cats and have trapped them to take them to vet. I had 1 cat that was feral,. for 16 years, the other only lived for 2 years. The 1
Starting over, the 1 for 2 years had feline leukemia.
 
Back
Top