? Dose for Kit Kat

Teresa & KitKat

Member Since 2017
For the last 2 nights I have been up late with my cat Kit Kat. When I gave him a reduced dose of insulin he is still getting low enough that I can't go off and leave him. Right now he is high either from bouncing or from the dry food that I gave him to try and raise his BG at 3a.m., so I could go to bed. I need to give him enough so he does not get ketones, but if I give him very much then I have problems raising his BS.
 
Now I will copy what I wrote on the previous thread over here. I wrote it before I saw that you started a new thread. Thanks for starting this new thread.

You should not have given him 1 unit this morning even if his preshot number was in the red. His new dose for the future 7 days (unless another reduction is earned) is now .75 units. That was an earned reduction from dropping below 90 last night.

please also change the 100 in the unit cell on the spreadsheet to 1. Right now it looks like you shot 100 units last night and this morning. Just put a 1 in there and it will be fine.
 
Last edited:
Now I will copy what I wrote on the previous thread over here. I wrote it before I saw that you started a new thread. Thanks for starting this new thread.

You should not have given his 1 unit this morning even if his preshot number was in the red. His new dose for the future 7 days (unless another reduction is earned) is now .75 units. That was an earned reduction from dropping below 90 last night.

please also change the 100 in the unit cell on the spreadsheet to 1. Right now it looks like you shot 100 units last night and this morning. Just put a 1 in there and it will be fine.
I checked his Bg just now before I lay down, and he has come down 70 points in the 1st hour. To me that seems like a lot in the 1st hr.
 
Now I will copy what I wrote on the previous thread over here. I wrote it before I saw that you started a new thread. Thanks for starting this new thread.

You should not have given his 1 unit this morning even if his preshot number was in the red. His new dose for the future 7 days (unless another reduction is earned) is now .75 units. That was an earned reduction from dropping below 90 last night.

please also change the 100 in the unit cell on the spreadsheet to 1. Right now it looks like you shot 100 units last night and this morning. Just put a 1 in there and it will be fine.
I looked for you before I drew up the insulin, and it was getting late and now I am worried about his Ketones, but I know that he needs that .75 dose
 
I looked for you before I drew up the insulin, and it was getting late and now I am worried about his Ketones, but I know that he needs that .75 dose
Yes. He definitely earned the reduction to .75. It looks like the tooth inflammation is healing/healed and he needs less insulin.
 
Then you can rest. I understand. I am very tired as well and I get up every day before 5 a.m. to drive out and feed feral cats. I hope to catch a nap today as well even though I have lots to do. Otherwise I will fall asleep while driving this afternoon.
 
Can you just stick a teaspoon of food under his nose and see if he will eat it? Or put some into his feeder. I am concerned because he got 1 unit this morning instead of .75.
Sorry, I had already layed down, he is awake and I will check him. He had stopped eating early this morning and I gave him that RC and he loved it.
 
Can you just stick a teaspoon of food under his nose and see if he will eat it? Or put some into his feeder. I am concerned because he got 1 unit this morning instead of .75.
Tonight if he is low again we need to figure out what to do. On Sun morning I went to bed at 4:00 am and got up at 7:00, this morning I went to bed @3:40 and could not go to sleep got @7:00am. I layed down some where between 9:30-to 10am and some idiot started calling me at 10 something, I did not answer the phone and they kept calling. I finally answered after about 6 or 7 attempts at calling. They told me they were from a bank and that someone had charged a bunch of money on my credit card, I hung up on them. They called me right back and started the same thing, I started screaming on the phone and they never called me back. I cannot tolerate another all nighter and then laying down for an hour hear or there.
 
I think it would be easier on you if you moved his shot time back to an earlier time. Then at night you can get a few tests in without it being midnight.You can move shot time back by 30 minutes a day.
 
I know you are tired too. What I wondered about was if .75 would be to much for tonight.
Let’s see. If he has gone down and then up again, it probably will be okay. But you definitely need to sleep tonight and I understand that. So we may have to even shoot lower - like .5 units for tonight depending on what he’s doing at shot time. The thing is, with the tooth removed, he’s being very unpredictable. Soon things will hopefully stabilize. This has been absolutely exhausting for you and I am worried about your health, too.
 
Let’s see. If he has gone down and then up again, it probably will be okay. But you definitely need to sleep tonight and I understand that. So we may have to even shoot lower - like .5 units for tonight depending on what he’s doing at shot time. The thing is, with the tooth removed, he’s being very unpredictable. Soon things will hopefully stabilize. This has been absolutely exhausting for you and I am worried about your health, too.
It has been exhausting, but I am always exhausted. that is one of the reasons, why I am wearing a heart monitor at this time. I know you have been exhausted also. KitKat has a vet appt. tomorrow, so I need to sleep tonight. I have an appt. on Wednesday with 1 of my doctors, so I need to sleep on Tuesday night also. I was thinking maybe .5 tonight, if he is in the blue.
 
I think it would be easier on you if you moved his shot time back to an earlier time. Then at night you can get a few tests in without it being midnight.You can move shot time back by 30 minutes a day.
My only problem on going back for shot time is, most of the time I do not get in bed till late. And to have shot time much earlier I need to get up before 7, I get up at 7 now and shot time is 8. I will try to move it back, one of the things holding shot time back is I am trying to find out what the shot should be and that takes a while.
 
I hope you’re sleeping, Teresa. But I hope you will get a +10 test so we won’t be surprised at PMPS. I also would like to know what time his shot time will be tonight. I will be leaving here as soon as I can to go pick up my daughter and some cat food and come back home. We three have choir practice tonight (it’s started back up after our Winter break after Christmas) so I won’t be around as much. I will be home by about 8:30.
 
I hope you’re sleeping, Teresa. But I hope you will get a +10 test so we won’t be surprised at PMPS. I also would like to know what time his shot time will be tonight. I will be leaving here as soon as I can to go pick up my daughter and some cat food and come back home. We three have choir practice tonight (it’s started back up after our Winter break after Christmas) so I won’t be around as much. I will be home by about 8:30.
Not sleeping, I could have shot time tonight at a few minutes before 8 or I could have shot time after 8:30. the last test I took was an hour ago. I guess this is right it says 346, hopefully the test strips are alright. If he is not too low i will do .75 but if he is low like the last two nights If it is alright I will do .50.
 
How’s everything going?
Fine, I was just getting ready to put PMPS in his SS. You got home early, I am going to try to see if I can get in bed earlier tonight. KitKat has an appt. tomorrow at the vet, i have not been able to check his Ketones for several days because he is not peeing as much. So far everything is fine, hoping stays better than the last 2 nights.
 
It looks like he is bouncing. I don’t know when he will clear the bounce and start coming down again. He doesn’t usually stay high for too many cycles.
Why is he going to the vet tomorrow? He was just there last for the dental procedure. So far, the only ketones you have tested were Trace level and I am not worried about Trace.
 
It looks like he is bouncing. I don’t know when he will clear the bounce and start coming down again. He doesn’t usually stay high for too many cycles.
Why is he going to the vet tomorrow? He was just there last for the dental procedure. So far, the only ketones you have tested were Trace level and I am not worried about Trace.
He keeps licking his self in the privates, I sat and watched him and I could see a red area, like where he has licked the skin off. Since he has diabetes I thought it might be a good idea to get something for it. He was doing this when he had his tooth pulled, I thought it was his anal sacks and asked the vet to express them. I called back on Saturday and was told he had.
 
I actually had a flat tire and had to wait for my husband to come and change the tire in the cold and rain. So we never made it to choir practice.
OH NO! Sorry, you were out in the cold rain. I bought this product off of QVC around Christmas and it is to charge your battery and put air in your tires (my husband is deceased) it is laying in the living room on the coffee table and I have not read the instructions
 
He keeps licking his self in the privates, I sat and watched him and I could see a red area, like where he has licked the skin off. Since he has diabetes I thought it might be a good idea to get something for it. He was doing this when he had his tooth pulled, I thought it was his anal sacks and asked the vet to express them. I called back on Saturday and was told he had.
Right. I remember you said he was licking himself a lot down there. Where is the red spot? I have had cats do that in different places. I don’t know what they will do at the vet since he cannot have a steroid injection or oral steroids. Usually if my cats have licked through their epidermis to the point where it is moist and pink/red, they are put on antibiotics to prevent infection, but he already had the Convenia injection and it will be covered by that. Maybe they can give you something topical - a cream or ointment (although cats usually lick off everything we put on them if they can reach it.) It’s always something!
 
OH NO! Sorry, you were out in the cold rain. I bought this product off of QVC around Christmas and it is to charge your battery and put air in your tires (my husband is deceased) it is laying in the living room on the coffee table and I have not read the instructions
Well we were thankful that the tire went flat close to home and he was at home instead of working late like he usually does. Tomorrow, I will have to go get it replaced or repaired tomorrow. It’s not even that old of a tire.
 
Right. I remember you said he was licking himself a lot down there. Where is the red spot? I have had cats do that in different places. I don’t know what they will do at the vet since he cannot have a steroid injection or oral steroids. Usually if my cats have licked through their epidermis to the point where it is moist and pink/red, they are put on antibiotics to prevent infection, but he already had the Convenia injection and it will be covered by that. Maybe they can give you something topical - a cream or ointment (although cats usually lick off everything we put on them if they can reach it.) It’s always something!
I am probably the 1 customer, I am always there. I have had him give KitKat a topical cream or ointment. He takes allergy pills, he takes apoquel which it is off label for cats. He had the Convenia on 1/7/25, I do not know how long it last. He was @346 at 10:00.
 
Well we were thankful that the tire went flat close to home and he was at home instead of working late like he usually does. Tomorrow, I will have to go get it replaced or repaired tomorrow. It’s not even that old of a tire.
I bought some tires at Sears one time and almost all of them had to be replaced. In the morning if he is low what dose do you think he should have.
 
Well we were thankful that the tire went flat close to home and he was at home instead of working late like he usually does. Tomorrow, I will have to go get it replaced or repaired tomorrow. It’s not even that old of a tire.
I do not have any body I can call. My daughter's husband works out of town and goes to work real early, he is the only man around anymore. That is why I bought that thing from QVC, that I have never used.
 
He is @385 this morning. Do you think that is still from a bounce, or just that his numbers are high. I am going to see about Pretzel, be back in a little while.
 
I think with a 365 preshot you will be safe giving the .75 units. What time does he go to the vet today? You said 385 and spreadsheet says 365.
I will look back on his notebook and change what is wrong in his SS. His appt is 1:45, i will probably leave around 1:00. Wonder how many carbs boiled chicken has.
 
I will look back on his notebook and change what is wrong in his SS. His appt is 1:45, i will probably leave around 1:00. Wonder how many carbs boiled chicken has.
Boiled chicken is pure protein so pretty much zero carbs. There’s a little fat, but no carbs. If you use chicken thighs (which are cheaper than chicken breasts) there’s a little bit more fat in there than chicken breasts. But fat is not a problem for cats usually and it sounds like KitKat needs to gain weight. But either way, boiled (or baked) chicken breast or thighs are a great treat for cats.
 
Boiled chicken is pure protein so pretty much zero carbs. There’s a little fat, but no carbs. If you use chicken thighs (which are cheaper than chicken breasts) there’s a little bit more fat in there than chicken breasts. But fat is not a problem for cats usually and it sounds like KitKat needs to gain weight. But either way, boiled (or baked) chicken breast or thighs are a great treat for cats.
I think he would like a whole chicken.
 
Kit Kat, back from vet, He gave him an injection, guess what it was (Convenia) and a cream. His BG is mighty high, I need that tomorrow because I am going to the doctor and he has moved. He also worked on his own and now he is working for a hospital. So i don't know how long I will be and I would not like to be worried about him while I was there. But, I do not like the high numbers because of KETONES.
 
I wish you would not let him give Kit Lat back to back Convenia injections like that. We have had cays die from severe anemia after repeated Convenia injections.
If you are not going to be home tomorrow then there’s not much you can do about the high numbers for the time being. After that, we can see what to do.
 
Back
Top