? Dose advice on a complicated cat

SmallestSparrow

Member Since 2024
I’ve been given some good advice in the past from @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko and @Diane Tyler's Mom GA (and others I’m blanking on bc I haven’t slept more than a hour a day for a week—many thanks to you all and I hope for more wisdom because I’ve spent the last 48 hours crying and unable to eat for fear I’m killing my poor cat.

I need help figuring out a good dose and soon before he tips into DKA. Because the ER won’t intervene until he’s solidly in DKA, no tuning him up K-wise until then.

For anyone who doesn’t know, Methos has a right adrenal tumor overproducing both cortisol and aldosterone, each of which causes insulin resistance. He has abnormal pancreatic enzymes and spec fpl over 50 since Jul (tested three times since then). We assumed pancreatitis but the US is cyst vs tumor. He also has two probably benign liver tumors and cysts vs something else going on in the right kidney. He was on Vetoryl 10 mg twice a day (which should block some cortisol and to a lesser degree aldosterone production. There’s no good guidance for the use of Vetoryl for cat adrenal tumors, and ACTH stim tests aren’t really designed to follow felines on Vetoryl but it is what it is. Our best guess has been it’s less effective as time has gone on but we’ve probably got him on as much as we should risk—too much and there’s the risk of addisons. Plus non-dose related there’s the risk of adrenal infarct (and addisons)
In theory you don’t use ALDACTONE (spiranolactone) with Vetoryl as both block aldosterone, so can cause hyperkalemia. but he needed both to prevent pretty severe hypokalemia. This has been a complicated balancing act (hence my mantra of “no green, ever, no need to involve the adrenals and liver”. (Since the left adrenal is atrophied and as far as I know the right is one big tumor, along with the liver tumors)

You can see from his spread sheet he went up as high as 3.5U of Glargine because he really wasn’t doing anything on lower doses. But once there he started having his nadir several hours past the following PS (evidenced by his BG decreasing for several hours after eating and skipping a shot). And a handful of low (for me) PS numbers so we started back down in search of a number that would give a decent nadir without me poking his ear every hour for ten hours and feeding him until he was too full to eat the next cycle.
Unfortunately he continued to be unpredictable in his reaction to insulin and started losing weight despite better BG numbers. When he was found to be hyperkalemic I was afraid we’d gone too far and stopped the Vetoryl and ALDACTONE for 48 hours. He had a low for him/me cycle immediately stopping the meds as they cleared his system. After that his number have been horrible, he’s developed ketones 0.8, and it all persists despite restarting the Vetoryl 10mg BID and half of the ALDACTONE (12.5 mg once a day as opposed to BID) with a temporary bridge of 1/4 potassium tablet a day because he’s hypokalemic again. And we increased him back from 2.5 to 3U. Needless to say I’ve worried about potassium in both directions from all the meds, plus intracellular shift with increased insulin dose. He’s still not hungry and still losing weight. His BG remains unpredictable and haven’t been helped by me giving smaller doses but again, not eating, low potassium. And me in the library with him holding a bottle of K tablets in one hand and insulin in the other thinking I’d never have a human patient handle this at home

my vet is brilliant and compassionate and has bent over backwards to help me. She does not believe in quarter units, and she feels his dose is probably 3 but she’s agreed we can try him at 2.75 (I think a couple of you have said before that he may do better at that). I suspect she agreed more to treat me than methos. I’ve cried nonstop in her clinic my last three visits.

I’m afraid to not give him enough insulin because of the ketones—should I just be giving 3 and then pumping him full of MC food—I’m not crazy about that, the MC food is junk, but if it’s best then ok. Or is the issue 3U is too high and he’s bouncing, and if so is 2.75 right? And is there a good time to reduce the amount? I’m planning on tomorrow am unless his BG is 450 again.

edit: for that matter maybe I should increase: since he’s only getting 12.5 of spiranolactone once a day now it could be he’s going to be more insulin resistant.
 
Last edited:
First of all, 0.8 on ketones is "watch but don't act yet". Glad to see they came down even more today.

I think I'm one of those that suggested 2.75 units, and both cycles per day. I still think you should try that. I'd rather you not have to skip or reduce a dose because 3.0 is giving you preshots you don't feel comfortable shooting full dose. Not shooting his full dose brings higher numbers and risk of ketones, hence the goal of finding a dose you can consistently shoot. Note to any lurkers, this suggestion is only for Colleen and Methos, he is a very complicated kitty.

Are you giving anti nausea meds (ondansetron my first choice) or Mirataz (appetite stimulant)? Getting him eating will help the K situation. How often are you giving subq fluids?
 
First of all, 0.8 on ketones is "watch but don't act yet". Glad to see they came down even more today.

I think I'm one of those that suggested 2.75 units, and both cycles per day. I still think you should try that. I'd rather you not have to skip or reduce a dose because 3.0 is giving you preshots you don't feel comfortable shooting full dose. Not shooting his full dose brings higher numbers and risk of ketones, hence the goal of finding a dose you can consistently shoot. Note to any lurkers, this suggestion is only for Colleen and Methos, he is a very complicated kitty.

Are you giving anti nausea meds (ondansetron my first choice) or Mirataz (appetite stimulant)? Getting him eating will help the K situation. How often are you giving subq fluids?
I will shoot lower numbers if that’s what I’m supposed to do, I just don’t know what to do. All of the “short” pm doses, including the last, were discussed w vet. The 4 am short doses are all me. But if it’s better to do 3 bs 2.75 I will—I think my vet is hesitant to order me to do it. Or maybe it’s not a good idea. I don’t know anymore.

I’m using mirataz every other day and Cerenia for 1-2 days then off for 1-3 days. He’s an old cat with possibly bad kidneys and liver (I think his BUN of 80 is the ALDACTONE talking), and the radiologist thinks the new liver tumor is another adenoma (my vet’s colleague, who did the US, leans more inflammatory or malignant…who knows…it’s why he’s on amoxil but I don’t understand the rstionale. Anyway I’m trying to space those drugs out a bit since they each can cause altered gait and right now his gait is the only warning system I have for potassium levels. I’ve used Zofran on him before and he eats less so I haven’t tried it. When he was eating and on vetoryl alone he needed K tablets (and he wasn’t on insulin yet) so idk if diet alone will hold his K up there. I hope so bc the soiranolsctone is killing his kidneys but I was so desperate tonight I asked if we shouldn’t make it BID.
So if I give the dose, no matter what, is 2.75 better or is 3?
 
Oh and I was told 100 cc twice a week but I’ve begged and it increased to 3x a week. Of course then I worry about overloading him but he seems better afterwards and it’s asking a lot for him to keep up with peeing bc of the sugar and bc we have him on a diuretic (ALDACTONE). Like everything else I’m like “please let me do it” then when she says ok I’m like “wait isn’t bad for him? Should I not do it?”

I’ve asked three techs and two vets to show me how to be sure he needs fluids and they all say “well it’s hard to say bc of his Cushing’s changes”
 
Also in fairness to my vet we discussed the short pm doses but she consistently recommended higher while I dragged my feet and texted teeth clenched emoji —the only exception was last night when I was anxious in both directions: afraid of ketones AND afraid of rebound high numbers if he went too low. That’s what scares me about low PS—if all else fails I know I can give him a plate of greenies or that awful medium carb proplan and he will happily eat like he’s not anorexic. But the next three days he will be high pink and right now he can’t afford that
 
Watch what?
Watch the ketone levels but don’t do anything. Just keep monitoring the numbers and trends (and document them in your spreadsheet). And definitely don’t panic. Ketones can flux around a bit, especially in some of our ketone-prone cats (I can vouch for that firsthand…drove me crazy!). General rule of thumb is that anything under 2.4 is ok. Try not to let it get in your head, hard as that is. You have plenty of other things to worry about.

It’s really too bad that they can’t remove that darned adrenal and take a peek at the other masses/cysts while they’re in there. But we do the best we can. Please take care of you too. One hour sleep a night for a week is not good. :bighug:
 
(((Colleen))) I’m so sorry I don’t have any experience or advice to offer but want to send you love and hugs of support for you and Methos.
You are a truly incredible Mom to your sweet boy ❤️❤️❤️
 
Watch the ketone levels but don’t do anything. Just keep monitoring the numbers and trends (and document them in your spreadsheet). And definitely don’t panic. Ketones can flux around a bit, especially in some of our ketone-prone cats (I can vouch for that firsthand…drove me crazy!). General rule of thumb is that anything under 2.4 is ok. Try not to let it get in your head, hard as that is. You have plenty of other things to worry about.

It’s really too bad that they can’t remove that darned adrenal and take a peek at the other masses/cysts while they’re in there. But we do the best we can. Please take care of you too. One hour sleep a night for a week is not good. :bighug:
Thanks. My vet has suggested I stop testing. I get that she’s coming from a place of kindness. The ER vet told me there’s no reason for me to be testing. I’m not 100% sure that wasn’t motivated by the fact that I was right, his glucose and ketones there were exactly what I’d said (perhaps bc I saw them test his blood …I can recognize an AlphaTrak and a Precision Xtra from across a room, and I’d told them that’s what I used. But maybe she was also thinking of me and I’m less charitable right now. It’s just he won’t make it overnight in a hospital. He could stay a half day, if they’d just correct his electrolytes and get his BG stable but apparently they wait until the patient is a train wreck. He won’t eat in a hospital and the time he was admitted they didn’t feed him via NG despite my constant begging. Anyway, feels like monitoring is just me helplessly watching things go downhill.

I constantly wonder if I made the wrong decision re surgery—if he’d been less fragile, or better survival rates…although now I guess the survival is much better. The ER drs then were pushing me to drive him up to Davis (5 hr dr), with a hep lock on his iv (like I did driving him from ER to radiology for US), and the NG they’d finally put down a few hours ago. It just reminded me of my last cat Erik, where they went from telling me I was just a bad cat mom not handling his DM correctly to me driving to the next county for a CT, driving him back and then handing him over because he had to have the surgery immediately or he could die—so his last days were in the hospital feeling sick and then his last memory was me handing him to strangers who hurt him.
I had my vets number because she’d texted a funny mask picture of herself (lockdown era) and texted if she’d was awake could she call me. I bet she’s sorry she did. But we decided he was too fragile to be hustled anywhere at the moment and probably too old even on a good day for even less dramatic surgery.
So I vacillate. I often choose the direction that makes me feel guilty. He was a shelter estimated 3 years old in Dec 2008. He was definitely an adult cat, not a kitten or juvenile, so he had to be at least 1. He’s a big boy, by my looking at him he looks the size/structure of Siberian or Maine Coon and his DNA test agreed—so they could have overestimated his age. Otoh he’s always had gorgeous teeth (no thanks to me) so they may have underestimated him. So at tumor diagnosis he was at least 15 yo, by shelter estimates 16- 17 yo, and potentially 18 or older. It seemed if we could squeeze another year with medicine alone he’d be close to what he’d have if he survived surgery. We passed that one year mark this past January. Still, just as I’ve hated my decision on Erik, I often ask if I denied Methos a better chance just because of Erik. My vet says no, that he was too old to be a good surgical candidate no matter what, but I think she is treating me as much as him most days.
I trust the radiologist call on the liver adenomas—besides if they are cancer it was too late back in Jan 2023. I trust him re the kidney, but with a nml creatinine and SDMA nothing would be done differently other than fluids which I’ve started. I think his increased BUN and decreased urine concentration is the spiranolactone but it’s shown itself that I can’t stop it—my vet thinks early kidney disease but conceded the diuretic clouds the diagnosis.
I think if the adrenal tumor come out he’d be immediately and profoundly addisonian. With diabetes and electrolyte imbalances. This is just me trying to make myself feel better re my decision. Not really working. Especially when his BG and ketones are up, K is God only knows where, and I haven’t slept. I’ll try to post the two previous US reports, not sure if I’m getting one from the local vet
 
upload_2024-10-21_7-4-30.jpeg

upload_2024-10-21_7-4-48.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-21_7-4-30.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-21_7-4-30.jpeg
    69 KB · Views: 180
  • upload_2024-10-21_7-4-48.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-21_7-4-48.jpeg
    40.4 KB · Views: 178
We did the second US because his first ACTH stim test was somewhat equivocal (and he was on a steroid inhaler) and if anything looked more consistent with a pituitary driven Cushing’s despite us knowing he had an adrenal tumor.
I’ve worried about the bowel comments each time but again not certain he’d do well with any more testing for an answer and as long as he was eating and holding his weight I was able to put it on a back burner
 
@Wendy&Neko is there a best time to change to 2.75? This is sort of NA at the moment bc the brand of half unit syringes I’m using have thick lines so less than 3 is about the only thing I can say…I can switch to a different syringe brand I like better but I’ve been using these bc his numbers went out of control on them and I was afraid changing added more confusion.
And if it would be better to give 3 but do it even if PS is below 150 I can do that—I’m at a point I don’t think I can piss his tumor off any more than it already is. I can get him to eat medium and high carb foods so I can deal with hypo.
Meanwhile 3- is his dose
 
This btw is how it went last night. He’s pretty unhappy that I’ve stuck his ear so much the last few days, even less happy with me washing them between sticks, and definitely not happy that he went to the clinic or er every for a week. I sometimes sleep on the library daybed but if he’s too sick to come up with me, and prefers to hang out on the floor cushions (closer to water and litter) I put down a yoga mat and sleeping bag. Last night, after I settled on the floor next to him he pointedly made a show of getting up and moving to the daybed. His expression says it all
upload_2024-10-21_8-16-23.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-21_8-16-23.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-21_8-16-23.jpeg
    42.7 KB · Views: 189
Oh Colleen, I am sorry to read all this! I know these ketones are always scary. But from all I read, up to 1.0 is still in range for a kitty not regulated. When Binie had 1.0 I brought her to the clinic (because my vet told me so) but I think next time I would rather watch. For Binie fluids always help to bring the ketones down. And I try to put some broth in her water bowls because that helps her to drink more. Good luck with that!

My vet also doesn't believe in 0.25 changes, but I found out it makes a big difference for Binie. For some cats even smaller changes seem to make a difference but I am not experienced in that. What Wendy wrote about keeping the dose consistent sounds very convincing to me. I keep my fingers crossed for you two.

Please sleep. Your boys need you and you have to take care of yourself too. Do you have someone around who could help you? Drive you and Methos to the ER or simply cook a soup for you? That always helps me, if I am overwhelmed.

I tagged you in Binies thread because I got the pathology report. That was before I read your update. Please forget about it, it is not urgent at all.

I send you a big, big hug Colleen! You are so great with Methos. Please take care of yourself too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I tagged you in Binies thread because I got the pathology report. That was before I read your update. Please forget about it, it is not urgent at all
Nonsense. If I don’t have time or energy I would say so. If he’s stable there’s not much I can do between tests and feeding. So please don’t let what’s going on here influence you I’m glad you posted her path report—I’m disappointed they didn’t see a foxtail —it would be nice to have an answer that’s not cancer.

in hope you and Binie have a great week
 
Nonsense. If I don’t have time or energy I would say so. If he’s stable there’s not much I can do between tests and feeding. So please don’t let what’s going on here influence you I’m glad you posted her path report—I’m disappointed they didn’t see a foxtail —it would be nice to have an answer that’s not cancer.

in hope you and Binie have a great week

You are really sweet Colleen! Thank you so much! :bighug::bighug::bighug: And I love how determined you sound. And yes, I also would have preferred they would have found something that would explain the whole situation. :banghead:

I hope you and your boys can take some rest today. I'm sure all three of you need it! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
And yes, I also would have preferred they would have found something that would explain the whole situation. :banghead:
Didn’t you say your neighbors dog had a foxtail? Did they do surgery for it? If so maybe they will share what the pathologist described seeing.

it’s a shame she’s (and you’ve) been through so much yet still have so many unanswered questions.
 
Didn’t you say your neighbors dog had a foxtail? Did they do surgery for it? If so maybe they will share what the pathologist described seeing.

it’s a shame she’s (and you’ve) been through so much yet still have so many unanswered questions.

Good idea! I will ask her. But for the poor dog it was quite different. He had kind of an abscess which became very big with fever and everything. They removed it immediately and everything went well. Yes, it is a never ending story. The first vet visit was October last year....
 
For Binie fluids always help to bring the ketones down. And I try to put some broth in her water bowls because that helps her to drink more.
Do you mean drinking more or sub q fluids helps ketones? I think sub q does but I’m not sure if it’s really helping or just temporarily diluting. Still that’s why I asked if I could do it three times a week. He drinks well from his fountain (better from his brothers fountain). I give them tiki cat broth that I dilute a little. I cooked bone broth for them for about a year (Tammuz adored my cooking, methos not so much hit would drink if I mixed in some tiki broth or dropped in a greenie). Tammuz’ coat became amazing. But they both got sick last Christmas and I felt guilty that it was my cooking. I may try again.
 
Ok going to try sending this back out into the web: I still don’t understand the goal and my approach: is it lower to 2.75 so I give shots despite low PS, or lower to 2.75 because he bounces too much on 3? Because 3- (can’t really judge 2.75 on current syringe) isn’t moving him much and if it’s ok to give 3 to a PS below 150 I can do that the same as doing 2.75 if it’s better for him to be at 3. He adores the terrible for him MC chicken and rice. He also drinks karo straight (that’s my boy) and would kill for greenies so I can deal wirrh low numbers I just worry how red the following day will be. Testing him soon for tonight, I think he should be at least a low 200 and could be a mid 300. If anyone has an opinion please let me know
Thanks!
 
I’ve worried about the bowel comments each time but again not certain he’d do well with any more testing for an answer and as long as he was eating and holding his weight I was able to put it on a back burner
The U/S didn't have measurements for the bowels and the key word is "equivocal", plus as long as he's maintaining weight I'd even take it off the stove, much less the back burner, for now.
is there a best time to change to 2.75? This is sort of NA at the moment bc the brand of half unit syringes I’m using have thick lines so less than 3 is about the only thing I can say…I can switch to a different syringe brand I like better but I’ve been using these bc his numbers went out of control on them and I was afraid changing added more confusion.
You can do an experiment with syringes, to see how many drops are in a unit of the ones you are using. Get a spare (or used) syringe, fill it with coloured liquid (tea, pop, juice). With the syringe pointing up, twist the plunger to squeeze out a drop. Do that several times until you can get a consistent sized drop. Fill the syringe to a unit line and keep squeezing drops out until you've taken out a unit's worth. Count them as you do so. Then fill the syringe with insulin to 3.0 units, and take out 1/4 of the number of drops.

I'd try shooting 2.75 units tonight if it's different from 3- units. The experiment will tell you if they are one and the same. Last time he broke his bounce in the 5th cycle, tonight is that 5th cycle.

The reason for lowering the dose to 2.75 units is that I hope it'll give you preshots that you can always shoot, instead of the reduced doses with 3.0 units. People here get used to shooting lower numbers. Lantus is great at giving flatter cycles when you shoot lower numbers. However, your goal is not remission I expect, but rather better regulation.
 
The U/S didn't have measurements for the bowels and the key word is "equivocal", plus as long as he's maintaining weight I'd even take it off the stove, much less the back burner, for now.

You can do an experiment with syringes, to see how many drops are in a unit of the ones you are using. Get a spare (or used) syringe, fill it with coloured liquid (tea, pop, juice). With the syringe pointing up, twist the plunger to squeeze out a drop. Do that several times until you can get a consistent sized drop. Fill the syringe to a unit line and keep squeezing drops out until you've taken out a unit's worth. Count them as you do so. Then fill the syringe with insulin to 3.0 units, and take out 1/4 of the number of drops.

I'd try shooting 2.75 units tonight if it's different from 3- units. The experiment will tell you if they are one and the same. Last time he broke his bounce in the 5th cycle, tonight is that 5th cycle.

The reason for lowering the dose to 2.75 units is that I hope it'll give you preshots that you can always shoot, instead of the reduced doses with 3.0 units. People here get used to shooting lower numbers. Lantus is great at giving flatter cycles when you shoot lower numbers. However, your goal is not remission I expect, but rather better regulation.
Thank you so much. He will never be in remission. His body is attempting to pump massive amounts of steroids every day. So you’re right, my goal is avoid DKA. But two questions:
By breaking a bounce do you mean he will go lower tonight? (The experiment will need to wait until tomorrow he’s finishing dinner and due now)
And again I will give insulin at full dose (I don’t see a huge diff. in anxiety giving 2.75 or giving 3) if that’s what I’m supposed to do for PS under 150. Or by reducing to 2.75 are we hoping he will move his nadir back to where it belongs rather than PS or later ? Just trying to figure out why because I will give him as much insulin as it takes but his reaction to low seems to be several days of pink and red and ketones (ketones could be unrelated and in part or whole due to tumor gone wild between off his meds and the stim test…but here we are so.
 
Great. He just came back in after getting his shot out there and his fur is wet. All this struggle to perfect his dose and it leaked back out :banghead: I know the needle was under his skin bc I feel it and after I look at his fur. But his loose skin :banghead::banghead::banghead:

I am killing this poor cat
 
plus as long as he's maintaining weight I'd even take it off the stove, much less the back burner, for now.
Unfortunately he not maintaining weight —that was one reason I wanted the stim test. I’m feeding him more (not easy when his appetite is down) and his BG, while bad, was better than the beginning…but he was losing.
But nothing to do about it anyway, more pressing issues
 
By breaking a bounce do you mean he will go lower tonight?
In general it means the bounce sugars clear out and he sees nicer numbers. However, the fur shot means it's unlikely now. It's best to put FS for fur shot in the cell along with dose, making it easier to see what happened. Take advantage of the higher +2, and try to get some sleep, if the other kitties let you do that.
 
It's best to put FS for fur shot
thanks.
I was waiting for the next check (10 min) hoping against hope I see a drop. I’ll change it if I don’t. My vet said if he’s high after +4 I can give him a small dose trying to avoid what a “nothing” dose will do considering how he’s been.
im such an idiot. His skin is just so ineslastic. I try really hard to find a place that feels like it has a little snugness. I shouldn’t have shot in the catio I should have brought him inside and laid him in his bed.
 
My vet said if he’s high after +4 I can give him a small dose trying to avoid what a “nothing” dose will do considering how he’s been.
Never, ever, ever give more insulin after a fur shot. You never know how much went it, you don't want to overdose him with an extra shot. Yes, we've seen that happen here. And you'll have two nadirs to contend with - in other words, it's a worse mess.
 
Although her first answer to me was to let him be, she’d rather have him high than low. Maybe I shouldn’t.
Going to reread her texts and maybe check his ketones
 
He's within meter variance of his +2. Option B (or C) - go to sleep. You wouldn't move his AMPS up that much, no more than 1/2 hour.
Thanks and thanks so much for your help! I know They’re the same number. Just not a number in the right direction. I don’t think she’d count 300s as “rising very high” and as I said her initial response was she’d rather he be high don’t give any more insulin…the extra dose was contingency if he was looking as bad as he did a few night ago.

this was essentially a no-shot, and even with a shot her rules are I can vary by an hour if I have to— since he’s so unpredictable and since I’m retired I try to be within 2-5 min. And have only taken advantage of moving an hour when he was way off due to a delay for low PS and got a really tiny shot for a subsequent low PS. And that was bc he had to take his other meds at a set time and with food so as I inched the insulin back in 15 min intervals it was approaching a time when he’d need to eat within 2 hr of his PS tests. When that happened to fall at a low PS number he got a short shot and the next am I moved his pills an hour later and his shot an hour earlier to sync again. Otherwise I don’t know how I’d have ever gotten back on track.

If he’s really high in 4 hours there are things I need to do between then and his shot with the other kitty (and with him, it’s his fluids day tomorrow) to fill the gap before a 1 hr earlier meal and shot. In fact I was dealing with Tammuz until now. Never have two old cats at once. So with luck 3-4 hr sleep (I’ll see how anxious I am in 3 hours and how many trips he’s made to fountain and litter box)
Thanks again SO MUCH.
 
Hi Colleen,

I am sorry to read about the fur shot. It sucks, but it just happens to everyone. I has nothing to do with incompetence or whatever. Please don't be hard on yourself. I did several fur shots on Binie where I was quite sure the needle went in. Anyhow it seems that sometimes the needle comes out on the other side when I am tenting and not having a good angle. I found out that this could be prevented by using the "roll method" (just search for it in the search funciton), unfortunately Binie doesn't like it if I try. So I stay with the tent method and live with the risk of a fur shot. :banghead:

I don't think shooting in the catio is a mistake. You let him go where he is relaxed, that sounds like a good idea. You don't kill your cat. You are saving his life everyday. Big, big hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Colleen,

I am sorry to read about the fur shot. It sucks, but it just happens to everyone. I has nothing to do with incompetence or whatever. Please don't be hard on yourself. I did several fur shots on Binie where I was quite sure the needle went in. Anyhow it seems that sometimes the needle comes out on the other side when I am tenting and not having a good angle. I found out that this could be prevented by using the "roll method" (just search for it in the search funciton), unfortunately Binie doesn't like it if I try. So I stay with the tent method and live with the risk of a fur shot. :banghead:

I don't think shooting in the catio is a mistake. You let him go where he is relaxed, that sounds like a good idea. You don't kill your cat. You are saving his life everyday. Big, big hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks so much! Sadly it’s not a through and through problem, it’s his skin —and I will need to be more careful. His skin is extremely thin and non-elastic (think tissue paper). You know how skin looks on the arms of very elderly/poorly nourished or cancer patients? Like that. It’s like giving insulin through tissue paper. I know that, in the beginning he leaked at least once but because of that i use very fine needles and try to find a spot that might be a bit more elastic.

I just shouldn’t have done it in the catio—I should have anticipated he’d get up and come back inside which involves him climbing one step up, going through the flap, and one step down. but you are right, I didn’t want to bring him in to give the shot because the catio gave him such joy before he got sick—he could come and go without asking me to open a door, and climb up six feet to survey the neighborhood. Now it’s a lot of effort to just get through the flap and he just lays on the floor of it…but from now on he gets his shot inside (where he usually just snoozes afterwards. I was at an awkward angle in the catio and probably put side tension making the injection hole bigger.
 
Thanks so much! Sadly it’s not a through and through problem, it’s his skin —and I will need to be more careful. His skin is extremely thin and non-elastic (think tissue paper). You know how skin looks on the arms of very elderly/poorly nourished or cancer patients? Like that. It’s like giving insulin through tissue paper. I know that, in the beginning he leaked at least once but because of that i use very fine needles and try to find a spot that might be a bit more elastic.

I just shouldn’t have done it in the catio—I should have anticipated he’d get up and come back inside which involves him climbing one step up, going through the flap, and one step down. but you are right, I didn’t want to bring him in to give the shot because the catio gave him such joy before he got sick—he could come and go without asking me to open a door, and climb up six feet to survey the neighborhood. Now it’s a lot of effort to just get through the flap and he just lays on the floor of it…but from now on he gets his shot inside (where he usually just snoozes afterwards. I was at an awkward angle in the catio and probably put side tension making the injection hole bigger.

Oh my... I am sorry. I can imagine his skin issues make everything more difficult. And yes, you know him and the situation best. If the catio is not the best place, you know by now. I think we all have to make experience, what work best for kittys. And not experience without mistakes... Unfortunately. I see Methos is in better numbers again and the ketones went down. So happy for you two! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
K is 4.1; ketones not horrible and I have hope by tonight maybe OK if I dont screw anything else up. BG in mid to upper blue where he and I both feel best. All is right with the world. I feel like this is the first time in days that I’m hungry and that it’s safe to sleep. So we will nap for 20 min then get +8 and if OK I may even sleep until +10. He’s zonked on gabapentin and the hypothyroid cat sleeps all the time anyway so much snoring soon
 
Oh my... I am sorry. I can imagine his skin issues make everything more difficult. And yes, you know him and the situation best. If the catio is not the best place, you know by now. I think we all have to make experience, what work best for kittys. And not experience without mistakes... Unfortunately. I see Methos is in better numbers again and the ketones went down. So happy for you two! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
:bighug::bighug::bighug: Back to you!
 
K is 4.1; ketones not horrible and I have hope by tonight maybe OK if I dont screw anything else up. BG in mid to upper blue where he and I both feel best. All is right with the world. I feel like this is the first time in days that I’m hungry and that it’s safe to sleep. So we will nap for 20 min then get +8 and if OK I may even sleep until +10. He’s zonked on gabapentin and the hypothyroid cat sleeps all the time anyway so much snoring soon

Best news of the day! Hope you and the boys do lots of snoring today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top