Dosage question

CatNinja

Member Since 2025
I have been giving my cat 2 units of prozinc insulin twice a day for about a week. There has been some movement in her blood glucose levels but routinely goes back up to its usual 350 or higher. Today it has not gone all the way back up. Her time of evening dose is coming up at about 6 30 or 7. Do I still give her the 2 units if she doesn't get back to that usual starting point?
 

Attachments

  • 1000000979.jpg
    1000000979.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 70
  • 1000000978.jpg
    1000000978.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 72
Hi there. I hope you and Lucy (it is Lucy, right?) are doing well!

I think you are asking if you should still go with 2 units even if her number (what we call the PMPS — p.m. pre-shot test) is below her normal pre-shot number? I really cannot give much in the way of advice without a spreadsheet — because I would need to look at patterns and trends for Lucy and at what her numbers have been on days/cylces other than just today’s to give any informed recommendations. I especially would want to know how low the current dose takes her one any given day (nadir.)

If she isn’t in the usual place at the time of this evening’s shot, you could consider a reduced dose for the evening. You also could delay her shot until she comes up in BG (although this will alter her future shot times and would have to be adjusted gradually back to her usual shot times.)

Hopefully her preshot numbers will start to be lower than 350 all the time as that is quite high. Maybe she’s making real progress.
 
Hi there. I hope you and Lucy (it is Lucy, right?) are doing well!

I think you are asking if you should still go with 2 units even if her number (what we call the PMPS — p.m. pre-shot test) is below her normal pre-shot number? I really cannot give much in the way of advice without a spreadsheet — because I would need to look at patterns and trends for Lucy and at what her numbers have been on days/cylces other than just today’s to give any informed recommendations. I especially would want to know how low the current dose takes her one any given day (nadir.)

If she isn’t in the usual place at the time of this evening’s shot, you could consider a reduced dose for the evening. You also could delay her shot until she comes up in BG (although this will alter her future shot times and would have to be adjusted gradually back to her usual shot times.)

Hopefully her preshot numbers will start to be lower than 350 all the time as that is quite high. Maybe she’s making real progress.
Yes it is Lucy. Good memory 😀 I can try to do a spreadsheet although I'm not sure how to start. I THINK she is showing progress with the 2 units, so I really hope her pre shot numbers will finally lower. 🙏
 
You can try a reduced dose, bit I was trying to get an idea of how much lower than the typical preshot it is.
I'm sorry. I did not see your response. Her highs are usually 350 or above when I give her the pre insulin meal and shot. However this evening at about 5 30 they were starting to lower. At 6 30 when I usually give her meal it was just over 300
 
Oh so not really low, but a little better. That’s progress.
Question. The Prozinc insulin I am using for Lucy needs to be refrigerated. Yesterday, the refrigerator didn't seem like it it was keeping things cold enough. I got worried about the insulin. I put a frozen block under the plastic container as insurance just in case. I have it in a plastic container on the second shelf more towards the back to keep it protected from getting knocked over. I'm worried I've made a mistake by overthinking this and possibly ruined the insulin. What are your thoughts?
 
Question. The Prozinc insulin I am using for Lucy needs to be refrigerated. Yesterday, the refrigerator didn't seem like it it was keeping things cold enough. I got worried about the insulin. I put a frozen block under the plastic container as insurance just in case. I have it in a plastic container on the second shelf more towards the back to keep it protected from getting knocked over. I'm worried I've made a mistake by overthinking this and possibly ruined the insulin. What are your thoughts? Can it get too cold? It wasn't frozen or anything but I'm worried
 

Attachments

  • ReactNative-snapshot-image788837412455452290.png
    ReactNative-snapshot-image788837412455452290.png
    56 KB · Views: 67
Unless you froze it, it should be okay. Does it still look clear with no particles floating around in it?
I'm not sure it was ever entirely clear to begin with. Definitely wasn't Frozen. Nothing floating around in it. Not seeing much activity in Lucy's bg so I was starting to worry that had something to do with it. Lows yesterday 80s and low 100s, Thursday dipped down really low, Wednesday bg was lot of day under 300 with lowest at 120 and 150 at one point etc. It just seems odd that most of last last and today just a short time under that 400.
I haven't made a spreadsheet yet because I do not have a laptop or computer.
 
I'm not sure it was ever entirely clear to begin with. Definitely wasn't Frozen. Nothing floating around in it. Not seeing much activity in Lucy's bg so I was starting to worry that had something to do with it. Lows yesterday 80s and low 100s, Thursday dipped down really low, Wednesday bg was lot of day under 300 with lowest at 120 and 150 at one point etc. It just seems odd that most of last last and today just a short time under that 400.
I haven't made a spreadsheet yet because I do not have a laptop or computer.
It is high today from looking at your bar graph. She could be bouncing from the lower numbers that she isn’t used to. If she is, her numbers should start coming down into her typical range with similar nadirs to what you have been seeing. If she doesn’t then your ProZinc could be compromised. Give it a couple of days. Keep me posted!
 
It is high today from looking at your bar graph. She could be bouncing from the lower numbers that she isn’t used to. If she is, her numbers should start coming down into her typical range with similar nadirs to what you have been seeing. If she doesn’t then your ProZinc could be compromised. Give it a couple of days. Keep me posted!
I will. Thank you so much!
 

Attachments

  • ReactNative-snapshot-image5179618855398844483.png
    ReactNative-snapshot-image5179618855398844483.png
    67.3 KB · Views: 71
Seeing a little more movement in Lucy's Blood Glucose levels today. Nadir this afternoon 175 and so far still under 300
Ugh. Now up to 384 and climbing. Is there anything I can do for the high spikes? When low can give food. etc.
 
Last edited:
Normally I guess.? What should I be looking for ?
That sounds good to me if she seems normal. No worries. A lot of cats are more relaxed in better numbers because they are not ravenously hungry anymore. Some cats will act strangely when they’re first getting into the normal BG range of 50-120 (human meter) just because they are so accustomed to being in high BG that they feel strange. But not all cats do this and you have not quite there yet!
 
So she started climbing after the 4.5 mark. That is early, but it’s not at all uncommon for a newly diagnosed cat. About the only thing you can do to help get better duration for the ProZinc is to not give food after nadir — so the insulin isn’t having to compete with the food. If she needs food after nadir just try to keep it to a small amount of low carb food.
 
So she started climbing after the 4.5 mark. That is early, but it’s not at all uncommon for a newly diagnosed cat. About the only thing you can do to help get better duration for the ProZinc is to not give food after nadir — so the insulin isn’t having to compete with the food. If she needs food after nadir just try to keep it to a small amount of low carb food.
Yes I do wish she would have hung out a little longer under that 300 range at least
 
Of course, I don’t know what Lucy’s dose is (still 2 units, right?) or how long you have been holding the dose. It sounds like you have been getting some fairly decent nadirs on some days so perhaps this is a good dose? I can’t tell if it needs tweaking. You should be able to do better than a 175 nadir, although I think this is an improvement for her? But I do hope you start getting better duration! It’s hard for me without a spreadsheet to see trends and cycles.

Oh, that reminds me, I know you said you don’t have a spreadsheet because of no computer/laptop. We have people here who could make you a spreadsheet that can be updated from a phone. It just requires a free google account.
 
Of course, I don’t know what Lucy’s dose is (still 2 units, right?) or how long you have been holding the dose. It sounds like you have been getting some fairly decent nadirs on some days so perhaps this is a good dose? I can’t tell if it needs tweaking. You should be able to do better than a 175 nadir, although I think this is an improvement for her? But I do hope you start getting better duration! It’s hard for me without a spreadsheet to see trends and cycles.

Oh, that reminds me, I know you said you don’t have a spreadsheet because of no computer/laptop. We have people here who could make you a spreadsheet that can be updated from a phone. It just requires a free google account.
We have been doing the 2 units for about a week and a half now. She has gotten to 154 and 124 before. But also down to 80 one time and once very low , a scary 54.
How do I request someone make a spreadsheet for me?
 
Lucy seemed very hungry during night but wanted to wait as close to her 6 30 pre insulin meal as possible. Just prior she did throw up some white liquid. Still seemed hungry and began eating her meal but only got through half and refused to eat more. I know I need to be as consistent as possible but should I just half her dose then since she not eat as much?
 
She doesn’t need to eat a big meal, but do you think she will eat for you again in the next two hours. It would be good if she eats something at around +2 when the ProZinc onsets.
 
Small meals at +2 and +4 are very helpful to the cycle to prevent steep drops.

Also, with ProZinc, you do not need to feed a meal and then wait to do the shot. Test, feed and shoot all within a few minutes time.

In your case it would be scan the Libre, feed, shoot, in that order.
 
If she seems really sick then you may want to shave a little off the dose, but I doubt a half dose would be necessary. You could try a 1.75 or a 1.5. If you think you can get her to eat in the next few hours then she can get her normal dose.
 
I hope Lucy feels better soon!
I have been doing things in the order you described so far. This morning she ate half her meal and the next 10 to 15 minutes spent getting her to eat the other half, which she finally did. I did give her the full 2 units.
I will give her a " snack" at 9 before leaving for work.
 
We have been doing the 2 units for about a week and a half now. She has gotten to 154 and 124 before. But also down to 80 one time and once very low , a scary 54.
How do I request someone make a spreadsheet for me?
I’ll send you a private message to obtain the info I need to do a spreadsheet for you. Check your inbox, please. Thank you.
 
Well, most people here use the Walmart ReliOn meters because they’re reliable and economical. You can get 100 test strips for $17.88.

There are others too. The nice thing about the ReliOn meters for most people is that you can run out and buy strips whenever you need them (without having to wait for a delivery,)

Is your Libre sensor giving you trouble?
 
Well, most people here use the Walmart ReliOn meters because they’re reliable and economical. You can get 100 test strips for $17.88.

There are others too. The nice thing about the ReliOn meters for most people is that you can run out and buy strips whenever you need them (without having to wait for a delivery,)

Is your Libre sensor giving you trouble?
It's never been super reliable. I just feel like I need a back up. Yesterday when came home for lunch to check on Lucy it was giving me an error. When I got home from work I scanned her and some not all of curve showed up and her bg levels had dropped very low again.
 
her bg levels had dropped very low again.
That is the problem with the Libre. You can’t rely on it to tell you low numbers. The Libre may say 50 (which is still safe but we don’t want a cat on insulin going below 50) anyway… Libre may say 50 and you check with your handheld glucometer and BG is really at 100 or even more (I have seen greater discrepancies.) It’s okay in the higher numbers, but you can’t trust it below 100 and meed a backup to check all those “Libre lows”. Also if your kitty is lying on it, many times it won’t read anything.
 
Yes. I doubt the 50 was real at all, but if you don’t have any other information it can be concerning. As long as she doesn’t go under 50 (on the Libre for now since that’s all you have) she’s still in safe territory and doesn’t need high carb to bring up numbers.
 
What was the lowest reading you saw yesterday?

Yes. I doubt the 50 was real at all, but if you don’t have any other information it can be concerning. As long as she doesn’t go under 50 (on the Libre for now since that’s all you have) she’s still in safe territory and doesn’t need high carb to bring up numbers.
Thank you for the advice and reassurance. I hope it wasn't a real reading but she did seem a little more "down" than usual . So she MAY have been low. I don't know what to think anymore. Definitely need to get that other monitor. Poor thing constantly getting poked with needles already though 😕
 
Back
Top