Dora 6/26/2020 PMPS 178

Dora the Explorer

Member Since 2020
Hi-

I will start by saying that I know we have not been testing as the guidelines suggest. I’m in the middle of an office move during covid and have been gone from the time of the shot till the time for dinner and I am exhausted. I haven’t felt that Dora has been at risk of hypo and when she had a lower than usual preshot, we skipped and she went back up.

Today we were able to do a +4.5 and it was ok. But now her preshot was 171. Do we skip? Should I give a lower dose? I feel like every time we skip she goes back up to the 300s. It’s easy for me to skip and clinically she is well. But this time she’s closer to 200, if she were at 205 I’d shoot.

is there enough data for anyone to offer an opinion? Thank you, if so! If not I’ll probably skip because I don’t want to cause a hypoglycemic episode.

Note: even though I log 1.5 units - I sometimes pull closer to 1.25. Her vet said to do 1.5 for a month and repeat the curve, but the advice here was to try the 1.25.

thank you!
 
Whether or not you shoot depends if you can get at least a before bed test in tonight, and whether you could leave food out for her to eat.

You should log what you dose, otherwise it's too confusing for us to help you with dosing. Any chance you'll have a weekend or day off sometime to do a curve? Or even get some +2 or +3's at night before bed?

Here's the link to your last post here, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/update-dora-amps-235.230826/
 
Thanks-

I understand. These past few weeks have been extremely stressful - moving out of our office after 20 years on very short notice due to COVID19 uncertainty delays - and I’m doing the best I can to get my job done while still keep Dora well. We manage to get her preshot tests in and she seems to be fairly stable. I pass out every night from exhaustion within 2-3 hours of her shot but we did do one test last week which I forgot to record. It was in the 300s.

I reread the SLGS guidelines and skipped her shot last night since we do need to stay on schedule. We will be fully moved out of our office on Tuesday and I hope that after that when I’m home more often again I can be more thoughtful about her management. This seesaw of 100-200, skip, jump to high 3, low 4 is not what I’d prefer to see. Otherwise she acts fine, but she’s also eating less. She still eats more than my other cats and misses her dry food. She is jealous of the one with special powers to open the microchip feeder and graze.

Thanks again-
Jame and Dora
 
Back
Top