Dora the Explorer
Member Since 2020
Hi-
I will start by saying that I know we have not been testing as the guidelines suggest. I’m in the middle of an office move during covid and have been gone from the time of the shot till the time for dinner and I am exhausted. I haven’t felt that Dora has been at risk of hypo and when she had a lower than usual preshot, we skipped and she went back up.
Today we were able to do a +4.5 and it was ok. But now her preshot was 171. Do we skip? Should I give a lower dose? I feel like every time we skip she goes back up to the 300s. It’s easy for me to skip and clinically she is well. But this time she’s closer to 200, if she were at 205 I’d shoot.
is there enough data for anyone to offer an opinion? Thank you, if so! If not I’ll probably skip because I don’t want to cause a hypoglycemic episode.
Note: even though I log 1.5 units - I sometimes pull closer to 1.25. Her vet said to do 1.5 for a month and repeat the curve, but the advice here was to try the 1.25.
thank you!
I will start by saying that I know we have not been testing as the guidelines suggest. I’m in the middle of an office move during covid and have been gone from the time of the shot till the time for dinner and I am exhausted. I haven’t felt that Dora has been at risk of hypo and when she had a lower than usual preshot, we skipped and she went back up.
Today we were able to do a +4.5 and it was ok. But now her preshot was 171. Do we skip? Should I give a lower dose? I feel like every time we skip she goes back up to the 300s. It’s easy for me to skip and clinically she is well. But this time she’s closer to 200, if she were at 205 I’d shoot.
is there enough data for anyone to offer an opinion? Thank you, if so! If not I’ll probably skip because I don’t want to cause a hypoglycemic episode.
Note: even though I log 1.5 units - I sometimes pull closer to 1.25. Her vet said to do 1.5 for a month and repeat the curve, but the advice here was to try the 1.25.
thank you!