Lauren Ryan & Tommy
Member Since 2026
PMPS is 106. Should we still give insulin? We had a scare the other night. Thinking we should skip or do a much smaller dose. Please help
Can you grab another test to see what direction he's headed in?
Like Mary, due to the DKA, it’s best to shoot. Have you fed him or did Mary catch you first?
He seems to be headed up but I’d like to see another rising number. He earned a 0.25u reduction today so his next regular dose is 3.75u. But I’d like to see another non-food influenced number before you shoot.
Sorry if I did that wrong. Not sure how to properly tag.What Marje said. I gave you the general SLGS guidelines, but recent DKA changes the picture.
Please stick to one post per day, so we can all follow the current picture.
Link to previous post for continuity: Is this is an emergency?
Food (or karo) is the tool to bring him up. Do you have high carb food on hand? If so, you want to feed him a couple of tsps of HC food, and then test in 30 mins. to see where his bg is. DO NOT OVER FEED.Sorry if I did that wrong. Not sure how to properly tag.
First of all, thank you so much for the responses! This is all so stressful and I’m not sure what’s going on. I promise to be better about checking this app and responding.
We are in panic mode again tonight.
If you see the spreadsheet from tonight you’ll see what I mean. We gave Kyro syrup when his number hit 44. Just tested again now (20 minutes later) and it’s still 44. I don’t believe this is the nadir even (if I’m using that right).
Struggling and not understanding why his numbers are either really high or really low and nothing in between. We’ve been feeding him extra fancy feast too tonight since we are worried. I know it’s low carb but thought it was better than nothing. Before tonight, the numbers were back to normal/too high. This keeps happening out of nowhere and we can’t understand why or what it means or how to fix it.
More kyro needed? Is this danger zone?
It’s okay—you’re okay. So, the karo/HC food bump should last 1-2 hrs. So, you’ll want to keep testing to ensure he doesn’t drop into lower numbers. If he does drop again, you need to re-feed karo/LC.After kyro and LC food he’s finally back up. To 59. I’m assuming this is from the syrup? So I’m not sure if that number is reassuring or deceiving based on what we gave him. How long does the syrup last? Should he not drop again if he’s already higher? Sorry… just very unclear on how it works.
We will be getting HC food to have on hand first thing in the morning.
Thanks so much for the quick replies!
Thank you! So we are okay to wait to test again in an hour or 2? He’s getting very irritated by the ear pricks but we will do it as necessary. Maybe just an hourIt’s okay—you’re okay. So, the karo/HC food bump should last 1-2 hrs. So, you’ll want to keep testing to ensure he doesn’t drop into lower numbers. If he does drop again, you need to re-feed karo/LC.
I would test one hour from the previous test.Thank you! So we are okay to wait to test again in an hour or 2? He’s getting very irritated by the ear pricks but we will do it as necessary. Maybe just an hour
He had most of his teeth removed. So we tossed the dry food. But thanks for the suggestion.In the very worst case where you’re having trouble keeping up, do you have any of his old dry food (if he was eating it) on hand? You don’t need to break it out quite yet but dry food lasts a lot longer (which is why it’s sort of a last resort).
So instead of 4 units in the morning we shoot 3.75? Regardless of the number, if it’s over 150? Am I understanding correctly?Also, under SLGS, he earns a dose reduction at his next shot.
Now that we are able to test more, would it be better to switch our protocols? or does it not matter?Also, under SLGS, he earns a dose reduction at his next shot. His next dose should be 3.75.
If he is lower than 150, I suggest you come on the forum to ask for guidance. Here is the standard protocol:So instead of 4 units in the morning we shoot 3.75? Regardless of the number, if it’s over 150? Am I understanding correctly?
Just tested and he’s doing down again. 49. And we only have 2 test strips left. We had lots of failed tests earlier tonight. Not sure what to do.And for clarification, every time he has fallen below 90, under SLGS, he has earned a dose reduction. These reductions are very important to keep Tommy safe.
I don’t know where you guys are located but can one of you go to a nearby pharmacy store and pick up more strips? If the pharmacy has any Friskies or Fancy Feast gravy - might be worth picking those up as well since it’ll be higher carb.Just tested and he’s doing down again. 49. And we only have 2 test strips left. We had lots of failed tests earlier tonight. Not sure what to do.
We are looking to see what are options are at midnight. We will figure it out. Even if we have to drive far. So tired though…I don’t know where you guys are located but can one of you go to a nearby pharmacy store and pick up more strips? If the pharmacy has any Friskies or Fancy Feast gravy - might be worth picking those up as well since it’ll be higher carb.
This is Dr. Lisa’s food chart - most pharmacies have a small pet section and might carry Fancy Feast or Friskies. Ideally get something on this list with 20 percent carbs or higher. But it sounds like anything above 10 percent will be better than what you have tonight to bring him up.I don’t know where you guys are located but can one of you go to a nearby pharmacy store and pick up more strips? If the pharmacy has any Friskies or Fancy Feast gravy - might be worth picking those up as well since it’ll be higher carb.
Sorry that you guys are dealing with this. Next time will be much easier since you’ll have the supplies on hand. And at least there’s two of you to take shiftsWe are looking to see what are options are at midnight. We will figure it out. Even if we have to drive far. So tired though…

Okay, just bump him up a bit with karo/hc, and then test in 30-45 mins. He’s moving away from onset (which is at +2/+3) and he should start going up. What you are doing is bumping him up gradually to get him into safer numbers with the karo/lc. if you can get to a pharmacy to pick up strips, that would be good.Just tested and he’s doing down again. 49. And we only have 2 test strips left. We had lots of failed tests earlier tonight. Not sure what to do.
His BG went back up so we were finally able to go to sleep. But this morning before giving insulin his number was 562! The highest it’s ever been. So confused. We still gave 3.75, as instructed but it seemed like he didn’t need the dose reduction. No idea what’s going on and it’s very frustrating.How did the rest of the evening go? I hope that Tommy kept his blood glucose up and you guys were able to get some sleep last night
Is that dose reduction for the next dose only? Or do we hold that amount for awhile? His BG was 562 this morning! The highest it’s beenAlso, under SLGS, he earns a dose reduction at his next shot. His next dose should be 3.75.
Got it. Thank you so much!The new dose 3.75u under SLGS is held for 7 days before reassessing unless Tommy earns another reduction. We dose based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshots, and 4u took Tommy way too low last night.
I know it’s frustrating seeing the high number this morning but Tommy is bouncing.
When a cat's body is used to running on high sugar levels, the liver can panic when those levels fall, even if they are still high or fall to normal levels. The liver and pancreas release stored sugar, spiking blood glucose levels. And Tommy’s blood glucose dropped a lot last night.
I know it’s tempting to raise his insulin dose, but you don't want to dose for the bounce. You want to change doses based on the lowest mid-cycle readings. A bounce usually clears itself up in a few cycles. And over time, as Tommy’s body gets used to lower normal numbers, he will hopefully bounce less as his body learns that these numbers are safe.
I know you asked about TR yesterday - it’s a more aggressive protocol that allows for dose changes every 3 days vs. 7. We follow TR because I wanted to be more aggressive in getting Moonie into better numbers. But as Wendy mentioned, that means it requires more frequent testing - a minimum of 4 tests a day.Got it. Thank you so much!
We are doing lots of tests now. The day started with the highest he has ever been. But we are currently in the 90s.I know you asked about TR yesterday - it’s a more aggressive protocol that allows for dose changes every 3 days vs. 7. We follow TR because I wanted to be more aggressive in getting Moonie into better numbers. But as Wendy mentioned, that means it requires more frequent testing - a minimum of 4 tests a day.