Do we need to reduce more than 0.25?

Lauren Ryan & Tommy

Member Since 2026
Looking for help/advice.

We keep getting into scary low numbers. Once again, forced to do tons of tests, feed high carbs and not sleep. He earned another dose reduction tonight but should we reduce more than just the 0.25?

If we don’t intervene, his number continues to drop. Not sure what would happen if we didn’t feed Karo or HC food. Tonight was actually medium carb I believe (I thought it was high but it’s only 15% according to the chart, so I need to go back to the store).

I gave a little vanilla ice cream too when I freaked out about the fast dropping numbers again. He went from 48 to 68 after those were given.

To be clear, the number drops are happening faster than they appear in our chart. We are testing 25-30 minutes apart. But the chart doesn’t have space for anything beyond each hour. The drop from 60 to 48 tonight happened in 20 minutes. That’s when I pulled out the ice cream and higher carb food.

Can anyone please help us understand why his numbers are high/fine during the day, but nighttime is always so low? Should we maybe start dosing one time a day instead? I’m assuming the answer is no because insulin is 12 hours… but just trying to understand the logic behind it all. And understand why that would be a bad idea.

Any help and advice or insight would be appreciated.
 
You can add a drop of karo to food to make in high carb if you don't have any in house. It's not uncommon for cats to go lower at night. Maybe because they were originally nocturnal. Don't know, but shared the same experience with my Neko. The good news is he's getting over bounces very quickly. Going below 90 earns a 0.25 unit reduction when following SLGS for dosing. Those following TR use 50 as the reduction point. Good job getting him up over 50.

Once a day dosing will let him just stay high, you don't want that. You do want to lower the dose so you can hopefully increase the nadirs, or how low the dose is taking him. I've seen a few people try once a day dosing, and it doesn't work on the size of dose Tommy is at.

Did you change his food any time recently? Trying to find a reason for what you are seeing. It could just be he's seen enough greens that his pancreas is starting to heal. Another explanation is that he could have been going lower previously but you were missing it. Thankfully you are testing more now and catching those low numbers.

You can stack numbers in a cell. though you have to manually colour it with the paint can icon. So you could put 60;48@+3.3 in the one cell.

Here's the link to your last post here for continuity: 9/18 AMPS 562! After low numbers last night
 
Back
Top