Goose
Active Member
It’s fine to wait 45 minutes after he’s done eating.
So it's 45 minutes after he last ate? That will be 11pm.
It’s fine to wait 45 minutes after he’s done eating.
Yes.So it's 45 minutes after he last ate? That will be 1045pm.
Thanks, Linda!@Marje and Gracie
Post # 247 Looks good to me.
Yes.
Ok. Thank you.It would actually be at 11pm, he finished eating at 1015pm. sorry
Ok. Thank you.
Wow. That surprises me given all he’s eaten. When does he eat again normally?SS Updated.
Just tested he is at 70. Up from 64 but barely....
Wow. That surprises me given all he’s eaten. When does he eat again normally?
You’ll need to be sure he continues to come up before you quit testing for the night.If we test at +3 he would eat then and then he would have a 1/3 cup of CP overnight until 630am (usually eats 80-90% of that) which it is then taken up to not effect amps.
He usually eats every 2 hours but overnight while sleeping is the only change.
You’ll need to be sure he continues to come up before you quit testing for the night.
I’m confused. If he eats every two hours, won’t he eat again at +2? If so, I’d test again 30 mins after he eats.
Oh...and I wouldn’t give him karo unless he drops into the 40s.He would end up self regulating the 1/3 cup of dry food CP overnight until around 630am as he has been doing since we have started this process.
Oh...and I wouldn’t give him karo unless he drops into the 40s.
But my question is.....does he eat at+2 since you said he eats every two hours?
Thanks for clarifying. Then I would test at +14.I'll restate, he eats every 2hrs during the day while someone is up and with him and the other cats. During the nighttime hours, he eats the CP but we can not be 100% sure that he eats every 2 hours at night. He's a grazer and eats when he wants, especially at night.
Thanks for clarifying. Then I would test at +14.
No...+14 is fourteen hours after his last injection or at 11 pm but I just realized with his stalling, you’ll be at +15 soon (or what would be +3 if you had shot on time). So I’d test then.+14 is what? 11am tomorrow morning? Does that mean hold off on amps until 11am? Food also?
No...+14 is fourteen hours after his last injection or at 11 pm but I just realized with his stalling, you’ll be at +15 soon (or what would be +3 if you had shot on time). So I’d test then.
Is it clear how you count time? In the “U” column tonight, put NS for “no shot”. If you shoot on time tomorrow, you’ll put the BG and “@ +24” so we easily know it’s been 24 hours since you last shot.
He’s on the way up which is great. Yes, if you’d like to grab a couple hours sleep, 2 am is fine. If he’s way up over 200, you can probably just sleep. However, if you get up before shot time (say at 7 or 8), you might want to test so you aren’t surprised at AMPS.SS Updated. Reading of 114.
We're still learning, even after 3 months, so I'm sure there will be more questions.
"No...+14 is fourteen hours after his last injection or at 11 pm but I just realized with his stalling, you’ll be at +15 soon (or what would be +3 if you had shot on time). So I’d test then."
So test him at 2am? We are about to test him at what would be +3 (12am).
He’s on the way up which is great. Yes, if you’d like to grab a couple hours sleep, 2 am is fine. If he’s way up over 200, you can probably just sleep. However, if you get up before shot time (say at 7 or 8), you might want to test so you aren’t surprised at AMPS.
Can you please fix his SS? In the PMPS column, you want to put “70 @ 12; 63 @ 12.5; 64 @ 13”. Then delete the info in the +1 cell. Thanks!
looks good. You can manually color it in using the pitcher and font in the SS toolbar.Fixed SS. Is it ok?
looks good. You can manually color it in using the pitcher and font in the SS toolbar.
ETA: I’m headed to bed now. Great job testing the last several hours. I hope he comes up and you all can rest. Good luck in the morning. I’m two hours behind you so won’t be up at your normal shot time but you can try and tag Linda, if you need help, as she’s on your time zone.
looks good. You can manually color it in using the pitcher and font in the SS toolbar.
ETA: I’m headed to bed now. Great job testing the last several hours. I hope he comes up and you all can rest. Good luck in the morning. I’m two hours behind you so won’t be up at your normal shot time but you can try and tag Linda, if you need help, as she’s on your time zone.
Ok but tonight reduce the dose to 5.5u. Da earned the dose reduction with those lovely lower green readings yesterday.
That high AMPS is a bounce which we expected would occur. Bounces can last for several cycles or clear relatively quickly (depends on the cat) so when you test at +3 or 4, that reading will suggest how much and when to test again today.
That was quite the excitement last night and there were a lot of numbers getting thrown around so I understand how the reduction got missed. With the higher AMPS the 6u shouldn't be a problem today but definitely reduce tonight.
Yes, hold the new dose of 5.5u for 3 days and then re-evaluate.
Not necessarily. If Da bounces, clears it in three cycles, and then only gets to the mid 100s or higher as a nadir, then there is no reason to continue to hold a dose that does not get him back into green numbers. Just as with the depot insulins, a failed reduction is a failed reduction and we don’t keep holding a dose that might not be working after a reduction.Yes, hold the new dose of 5.5u for 3 days and then re-evaluate.
Not necessarily. If Da bounces, clears it in three cycles, and then only gets to the mid 100s or higher as a nadir, then there is no reason to continue to hold a dose that does not get him back into green numbers. Just as with the depot insulins, a failed reduction is a failed reduction and we don’t keep holding a dose that might not be working after a reduction.
@Goose that means we need to watch him each cycle to see if he’s able to get get to low 100s or 50-100 on the new dose. If he can’t, we need to increase and we’ll decide a that time whether we go back to 6u or we split the difference and just go to 5.75u. Also, even when a cat has earned a reduction, if the next cycle brings high numbers, we can “shoot through the bounce” with the old dose to try and keep the numbers from getting too high. It’s an old, tried and true method.
You are correct that my original instructions stated that if he was high, the normal dose would be 6u. However, Linda and I discussed this and felt that we should perhaps use a higher reduction point for Da than 50. As I did mention earlier in a post, we might want to consider 70 and we both think it’s reasonable for him. Often, PZ users (and even some lantus and levemir users) follow the Start Low Go Slow method of regulation which has the reduction point as numbers below 90.
One last thought, you might want to look at CC’s Spreadsheet. Although CC is an acro cat, she is on PZ and you can get an idea of how Janet has handled her dosing. We can learn alot from others and, that is our goal....to help you learn enough that you can make most decisions on your own as you gain more and more experience and data. Of course, we are always here to help even experienced members because everyone needs a second opinion from time to time.