Goose
Active Member
Thanks for the update. We'll be watching to see how the increase goes.
Hi,
I took a break and wasn't online, that's why I didn't increase today.
Thanks for the update. We'll be watching to see how the increase goes.
Thanks for the update. We'll be watching to see how the increase goes.
You want to hold a dose at least three days (6 cycles) before increasing. The only exception is if a dose takes him too low. Then, a reduction can be done sooner.Are we suppose to try this new dosage for 3 days and see what the results are?
You want to hold a dose at least three days (6 cycles) before increasing. The only exception is if a dose takes him too low. Then, a reduction can be done sooner.
Thank you for updating the SS. The first day on a new dose is usually not indicative of how well that dose might work so just stay the course for the moment, be patient, keep the SS updated and we'll see if Do Daa's numbers improve.
A quick calculation suggest that is a rough caloric intake of 270 calories which may or may not be enough for Do Daa. If he seems to need more food, try leaving him some wet food to fill that void. Getting him onto a totally wet diet would be optimal but Do Daa has to eat and if he has to have kibble, the Clean Protein is at least low carb.
My girl was a kibble addict from the day she joined our family at 10 wks old. I tried to transition her to wet food from day 1 but she was having none of it. At the time, it wasn't of urgent importance so we didn't push the wet food but rather coaxed her. Needless to say, 4 yrs later with a diagnosis of diabetes, I was ruing the day I gave up trying to get her onto a wet diet. I had two other cats eating the perfect diabetic diet and she wouldn't touch wet food of any kind. Interestingly, one day I think hunger got the better of her and I caught her pilfering some of her brother's left over wet food. I immediately, stopped offering kibble unless her BG was low and I had no other option. It took a lot of standoffs but she is on a strict wet diet now. She'd still kill for kibble but having got her into remission, I am not taking any chances. Maybe a little hunger when it's safe to do so will convince Do Daa that wet food is better than he thinks it is. Good luck with the transition. I know only too well how difficult it can be.![]()
Sounds like a good start at transitioning Do Daa. Just stick with it and eventually you'll get him to thankfully eat the wet food. Patience and perseverance are key. Grazing is fine as long as you take the food up 2 hours before AMPS and PMPS so those 2 tests are not food influenced.
300 calories at this point in time is probably Ok but keep an eye on his weight. You want him at an ideal weight but not getting "fluffy".
As long as Do Daa is eating, it doesn't matter if he nibbles many many times per day or gobbles his food down. He just needs enough calories to keep him from needing to burn fat for energy which results in ketones and you don't want those. Have you checked Do Daa for ketones at all?
Ketones were negative as of Tuesday. We're checking him 2-3 times a week.
As long as Do Daa is eating, it doesn't matter if he nibbles many many times per day or gobbles his food down. He just needs enough calories to keep him from needing to burn fat for energy which results in ketones and you don't want those. Have you checked Do Daa for ketones at all?
As long as Do Daa is eating, it doesn't matter if he nibbles many many times per day or gobbles his food down. He just needs enough calories to keep him from needing to burn fat for energy which results in ketones and you don't want those. Have you checked Do Daa for ketones at all?
I agree a mid cycle test tonight would be invaluable. I know it's tough getting up to test but figuring Do Daa out and finding the right dose will make all of this so much easier on you and Do Daa in the long run and the only way to do that is to see how low he is going at night.
Are the Dr. Elsey's and the FF Classics the only foods to which he has access or is there the possibility that he is getting into something else?
I do not understand what you are saying here. I was not asking you to feed him something different, if that is what you thought. My question was whether he could be getting into some food other than the Dr. Elsey's and FF. I want to know if he has access to something with higher carbs, because if he does, that would definitely affect his glucose - and yes, it could have a 'meaningful' impact on his numbers. Even a few bites of higher carb food can have significant impact, especially if a cat is particularly carb-sensitive.It's taking him 2 months to do what we have done so far, especially the wet food, so this will have to be at the moment. It's been mentioned here that even if he did have a little food, that it doesn't effect the numbers to a meaningful degree. So...
I do not understand what you are saying here. I was not asking you to feed him something different, if that is what you thought. My question was whether he could be getting into some food other than the Dr. Elsey's and FF. I want to know if he has access to something with higher carbs, because if he does, that would definitely affect his glucose - and yes, it could have a 'meaningful' impact on his numbers. Even a few bites of higher carb food can have significant impact, especially if a cat is particularly carb-sensitive.
I'm just trying to figure out if there are any factors we are missing here as to why his glucose is so high.
Goose, @MrWorfMen's Mom and I are thinking it may be time for another increase for Do Daa. Assuming everything today goes as it has been (meaning no unexpected big drop), we suggest going to 2.5 units tomorrow while, of course, continuing the testing.
With how high Do Daa's glucose is staying, we are wondering if something else might be going on with him. Dental issues very often cause increased glucose. Has he had a dental check recently?
Howdy everyone! I’m glad to see that yellow on Do Daa’s SS! Progress.
I would definitely agree it’s time to increase the dose to 2.5u bid. Please be sure there is no less testing.
Goose...have you ever tried to kind of pulverize a bit of the dry and put it on top of the wet and then gradually decrease it? That works for some members on getting the kitty off dry food and totally on wet.
Ok. Thanks for letting us know your plan.SS Updated.
His dose will be upped to 2.5u in the AM.
Slow, borderline arduous progress.
The way his food is delivered to him seems to be working for him, I'm not going to rock that boat yet.![]()
Ok. Thanks for letting us know your plan.
Thank you. Let’s hope he will settle into this dose better.SS Updated.
Thank you. Let’s hope he will settle into this dose better.
There’s always a benefit to grabbing one test during that +4 to +9 timeframe if he’s flat pink. The 390 and 416 last night are basically the same and he might have slipped down to yellow.
ProZinc onsets around +2 and by +10 it's generally wearing off so any testing you can do in that period is beneficial. All data is good data but when you can, getting tests in the +4 to +7 timeframe are often the most telling because that is when ProZinc is usually at its peak action and the lowest BGs will occur. That said, some kitties will reach peak action a little earlier and some later, so all data helps.
ProZinc onsets around +2 and by +10 it's generally wearing off so any testing you can do in that period is beneficial. All data is good data but when you can, getting tests in the +4 to +7 timeframe are often the most telling because that is when ProZinc is usually at its peak action and the lowest BGs will occur. That said, some kitties will reach peak action a little earlier and some later, so all data helps.
Do you recall what food and how much Do Daa ate at 2pm yesterday (24th)? That 552 at +7 is one heck of a jump in BG for 2 hours post food considering BG was at 404 at +4. A small food bump would be normal but that is excessive. I presume the PMPS was not food influenced (food had been withheld for at least 2 hours prior?
Can you take a BG reading +1 hour post meal and shot tomorrow AM or PM? Want to see what that BG is compared to fasting pre-shot BG.
Can you take a BG reading +1 hour post meal and shot tomorrow AM or PM? Want to see what that BG is compared to fasting pre-shot BG.
Not what I expected but it certainly speaks volumes to the food bump Do Daa gets. If measuring in cups, how much would 15+/- pieces of Clean Protein be equivalent to?
Are you feeding him the Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein CHICKEN? That is the one that has between 4 and 5 % carbs. The salmon one is higher in carbs. Just want to confirm and not assume you are feeding the lower carb chicken one.
Thanks. If you can test at +7 again tonight and he’s still 300 or above, I would increase the dose to 2.75u in the morning unless you get a yellow AMPS. If you get a yellow AMPS, I would increase to 2.5u in the morning.SS Updated.
Chicken, Yes. He did not like the Salmon the one time we tried it a month ago.
Thanks. If you can test at +7 again tonight and he’s still 300 or above, I would increase the dose to 2.75u in the morning unless you get a yellow AMPS. If you get a yellow AMPS, I would increase to 2.5u in the morning.
Let’s hope we start to see some movement.
I’m sorry.....I was looking at his SS but for some reason, only saw 2.25u. I thought it had been updated.SS Updated.
Kentone negative.
It won't be tonight, but I'll try tomorrow. He's currently at 2.5u am/pm.
I’m sorry.....I was looking at his SS but for some reason, only saw 2.25u. I thought it had been updated.
At any rate, let me change my recommendations. If you haven’t increased his dose to 2.75u yet and he still hasn’t seen any yellow, I would increase to 3u from 2.5u. If you increased his dose to 2.75u this morning, then go ahead and hold that dose for six cycles (so we can be consistent with dosing) unless we, miraculously, see a number below 50. In that event, you would reduce the dose by 0.25u.
50 is not a crash but rather an warning that BG is dropping toward potentially dangerous lows and your call to action of getting BG propped up so Do Daa doesn't have a hypo episode. Unless you see physical symptoms of hypoglycemia, it's just a low reading.
Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!![]()
Can you please confirm that your ProZinc is kept in the refrigerator and that you gently roll the vial before drawing out a dose each time? Also, is the appearance of it slightly milky but with no 'chunks' or 'strings' floating in it?
I am still just trying to think of and rule out any factors that could be impacting his glucose.