ditched the dry - huge BG drop!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Netty N.

Member Since 2015
Jones had his first all canned meal this morning (was 1/2 canned 1/2 dry before), and his BG has been riding around 225 (AT meter) the last several hours. That's his lowest number since his diagnosis in Feb., and well over a hundred points under his same readings from yesterday! I am amazed and over-the-moon happy!

If he's still in the low 200's before feeding tonight, should I lower his dose (1.5u Lantus)?
 
To be on the safe side you can reduce dose. However, your SS shows little BG drop with either 1 or 1 1/2 units. So, staying at 1 1/2 is likely OK but I would not risk it.
 
The way to adjust the dose is based on the nadir, the lowest glucose level post-shot. You want that to remain safely above 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer, and 68 mg/dL on a pet meter.
 
If you have lots of strips and are going to around to test, you could give him his usual dose and test regularly to make sure he's not dropping too low. You can also post your question on the Lantus board to get more opinions from others who use Lantus. Good to hear he's doing so well since you ditched the dry!!
 
Generally we have a "no shot" limit of 200 here (which lowers to 150 when you move to the Lantus forum)....but that doesn't really mean "no shot"...if you get a Pre-shot under 200, then we recommend you stall, DON'T feed and post for help

The first few times you shoot a lower Pre-shot, we like to have someone with experience watching out for you just in case you need help.

You'll want to make your subject line very clear that you're looking for help as soon as possible..something like "STALLING...Need help!" usually works
 
Well, I'm sorry and confused to report that Jones' pre-shot number tonight was 452 (and 479 on the Prime, so I know it wasn't just a false read). He's just had his normal dose, and a can of WD, and I'll keep up the tests. The last test I did was 4 hours ago, and it was 227.
Is this normal during a food transition? Just this afternoon was his lowest reading ever, and now it's his highest!
 
It's possible that his body isn't used to being in 200's and has gotten used to living at those higher 300's and up so just by dropping to a lower 200, it set off a bounce where his liver released stored sugar and hormones to bring him up to where it's gotten "used to" living at.

It's important to be checking for ketones when they're running high like this. You can buy ketone strips at any pharmacy and just dip them into his urine to check for ketones. Anything over "trace" is an emergency

The W/D is also not a great food for diabetics...it's high carb and the ingredients are pretty lousy. Fancy Feast Classics are better in quality (in my opinion) than anything Science Diet has to offer....at least FF doesn't have "powdered cellulose" in it....that's a fancy word for sawdust
 
Chris made a very good point about "Bouncing" when the liver released stored sugar and hormones as a reaction to lower numbers. Again, don't panic, it's like I said in your other post " Better to be high for a day than too low for a moment". He will level out.
 
Wow, the bounce makes so much sense!
Chris, the plan is to get him off WD, but I wanted to start by getting him off dry first, level out, then switch the wet brand too. It's very irritating that I've been spending a fortune on this snake oil cat food for so long, assuming that it's superior because it came from the vet's...
 
Wow, the bounce makes so much sense!
Chris, the plan is to get him off WD, but I wanted to start by getting him off dry first, level out, then switch the wet brand too. It's very irritating that I've been spending a fortune on this snake oil cat food for so long, assuming that it's superior because it came from the vet's...
You are in good company with those feelings. But, now you know, now we all know. Just keeping testing to keep him safe. You are a good fur momma!
 
Just looked at Jones's SS. You probably would not have gotten into those yellows if his ketones were too high. I really think it was a bounce. The ketone strips can wait. It will all be okay.
 
There's no reason you can't get off the W/D quicker....just get some low carb food and start by mixing 25% in and gradually increase the low carb each day until he's totally off the W/D

There's a guarantee on all those Science Diet foods..just take the rest back to your vet and get your money back..there's lots better things to spend your money on than that junk

As for whether to get them tonight or not, that's not something any of us can answer....a cat can be throwing ketones at even normal numbers, but it's more likely when they're high so it's just something we want to watch for. Catching them early is a lot easier to deal with...as well as cheaper and more successful.

Bounces can last up to 6 cycles, so don't worry (about the numbers) if they run high for a few days
 
Check out Coral's SS and see the power of low carb food! She is now the poster cat! We have found two foods that she tolerates because of her skin and food allergies, Nature's Variety Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Formula and Wellness Chicken Grain Free. The Civie, Joy (her daughter) has now transitioned to the Wellness Chicken Grain Free as insurance against becoming diabetic. I feed Coral 4 times per day as she is now a diet controlled diabetic! She has a Rolex to let her know when feeding time occurs, my husband says she has a Timex! Best to you, Kathe and Coral
 
Check out Coral's SS and see the power of low carb food! She is now the poster cat! We have found two foods that she tolerates because of her skin and food allergies, Nature's Variety Limited Ingredient Diet Turkey Formula and Wellness Chicken Grain Free. The Civie, Joy (her daughter) has now transitioned to the Wellness Chicken Grain Free as insurance against becoming diabetic. I feed Coral 4 times per day as she is now a diet controlled diabetic! She has a Rolex to let her know when feeding time occurs, my husband says she has a Timex! Best to you, Kathe and Coral

Thanks MaineLove - Coral's chart is very encouraging! Congrats on getting her OTJ!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top