Diarrhea

CORKY

Member Since 2023
Corky has never had diarrhea, soft stool yes, but all day today he has pooped a lot of times and very grainy little pieces all over the litter and soft
his diet has been as usual nothing has changed (see Remarks) he does not get into any foreign foods, is there a home remedy I can give him? his last poop about an hour ago was a bit more solid not as grainy
 
Sometimes these things happen and then go away. Was he stressed by anything at all? I would just watch and see if it goes away. If not, you can try a little fiber like plain psyllium husk or canned pumpkin or freeze dried pumpkin (but canned will be easier to find on the grocery store shelves.). A lot of cats prefer butternut squash and Beech Nut baby food makes that in the little jars. You can add a small amount to his food or maybe he would even eat it straight. It has fiber like the pumpkin.
 
Sometimes these things happen and then go away. Was he stressed by anything at all? I would just watch and see if it goes away. If not, you can try a little fiber like plain psyllium husk or canned pumpkin or freeze dried pumpkin (but canned will be easier to find on the grocery store shelves.). A lot of cats prefer butternut squash and Beech Nut baby food makes that in the little jars. You can add a small amount to his food or maybe he would even eat it straight. It has fiber like the pumpkin.
He is really uncomfortable, his tushi hurst he keeps licking it and he cries when I just go near the back of his tail, he ate quite well, @ +6 but 5 minutes later he was in the litter box, it and he doesn't seem to stay still, so far he has not pooped after that. If I would've known about the butternut squash baby food I would've ordered it when I place the grocery list @ Walmart, unfortunately my neighbor was the one to take me to get the groceries, and I am too broke to get anything else, if he has another soft stool I will walk to the nearest market and hopefully I can find the butternut squash Beech nut baby food, I am concerned. thank you for your input, his BG raised a bit to 105, but will see. He seems to somehow be wanting to keep me on my toes, but overall he is doing great, Thanks Suzanne:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Any more diarrhea?
Yes! But it has not been watery at all all day but soft granie like but it has been less as the night has past, shes still very uncomfortable and won’t stop liking her tooshie
She barely want to be on the sofá with me, tomorrow morning at 7AM I’m going to the supermarket walking distance and buy pumpkin and maybe there I’ll find the beechnut food, I feel really bad for him I gently washed his tooshie with an unscented wipe with fresh water only
 
I hope Corky feels better. :bighug:
Thank you, I’m a nervous reck he’s never been sick except for the diabetes and that is very controlled, the thing is that I have 0 money to take him to the vet I have my EBT and I will buy the pumpkin tomorrow as soon as the store opens, he hasn’t been by my side all night long he looks uncomfortable he has to eat at 11Pm I’m feeding him 1/2 can of FF fish and shrimp flake is 0% chunk of fish, I pray he doesn’t have diarreah again
 
Thank you, I’m a nervous reck he’s never been sick except for the diabetes and that is very controlled, the thing is that I have 0 money to take him to the vet I have my EBT and I will buy the pumpkin tomorrow as soon as the store opens, he hasn’t been by my side all night long he looks uncomfortable he has to eat at 11Pm I’m feeding him 1/2 can of FF fish and shrimp flake is 0% chunk of fish, I pray he doesn’t have diarreah again
Aww poor guy. It is heart breaking to see them not feeling well. Hope it passes quickly. Just a thought, a neighbor might have a can of plain pumpkin left over from the holidays. Do you have a probiotic?
 
Aww poor guy. It is heart breaking to see them not feeling well. Hope it passes quickly. Just a thought, a neighbor might have a can of plain pumpkin left over from the holidays. Do you have a probiotic?
I will buy the pumpkin tomorrow but the probiotic will not be possible he just pooped a bit but it’s getting harder and just a bit perhaps it’s passing I’m in Miami, thank you for the thought you are very sweet I’ll be up most of the night keeping an eye on him, thank you for caring, this Forum and all of yo guys are my only source of assistance and comfort both Corky and Coco are my everything:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I will buy the pumpkin tomorrow but the probiotic will not be possible he just pooped a bit but it’s getting harder and just a bit perhaps it’s passing I’m in Miami, thank you for the thought you are very sweet I’ll be up most of the night keeping an eye on him, thank you for caring, this Forum and all of yo guys are my only source of assistance and comfort both Corky and Coco are my everything:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Corky @+4 is 50 I just gave him 1/2ml of Karo, can his diarreah be the cause?? I’m so scared right now that he can be really sick and no $$ for a vet
 
I will buy the pumpkin tomorrow but the probiotic will not be possible he just pooped a bit but it’s getting harder and just a bit perhaps it’s passing I’m in Miami, thank you for the thought you are very sweet I’ll be up most of the night keeping an eye on him, thank you for caring, this Forum and all of yo guys are my only source of assistance and comfort both Corky and Coco are my everything:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
It’s going to be okay, Maria. Probiotics do take a while to work, and I know money is tight. I think this is just something that will pass and he will get back to normal, but my more moderately priced recommendation for a good probiotic is Proviable DC. For the time being, if you want to try a probiotic, some plain greek yogurt like Fage (very tart as all the lactose has been eaten up by the liver cultures) or Bulgarian yogurt like White Mountain Organic, you could add a small amount to food (or I have found some cats actually like it on its own.)
 
It’s going to be okay, Maria. Probiotics do take a while to work, and I know money is tight. I think this is just something that will pass and he will get back to normal, but my more moderately priced recommendation for a good probiotic is Proviable DC. For the time being, if you want to try a probiotic, some plain greek yogurt like Fage (very tart as all the lactose has been eaten up by the liver cultures) or Bulgarian yogurt like White Mountain Organic, you could add a small amount to food (or I have found some cats actually like it on its own.)
I will buy the pumpkin tomorrow the plain Greek yogurt tomorrow, but the probiotic is out of the question Suzanne, Embarrasing to say but I only have $1.00 in my checking account, I had to take Coco last month for the rabies shot and Corky last week, that’s why I’m so diligent with his diabetes Can’t afford it can’t lose him:arghh::(:bighug::bighug::cat::cat: thanks, he’s going to eat in a little while and I’ll test him now and just before feeding if he’s still low I will add 1tsp of gravy lovers to the food, and check all night if need to
 
I will buy the pumpkin tomorrow the plain Greek yogurt tomorrow, but the probiotic is out of the question Suzanne, Embarrasing to say but I only have $1.00 in my checking account, I had to take Coco last month for the rabies shot and Corky last week, that’s why I’m so diligent with his diabetes Can’t afford it can’t lose him:arghh::(:bighug::bighug::cat::cat: thanks, he’s going to eat in a little while and I’ll test him now and just before feeding if he’s still low I will add 1tsp of gravy lovers to the food, and check all night if need to
He went up to 86, feeding his regular with no HC@+5, I just hop he doesn't poops it all, I'm feeling tonight like if it was the first time when I started!:banghead::nailbiting: but we'll make it:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
He went up to 86, feeding his regular with no HC@+5, I just hop he doesn't poops it all, I'm feeling tonight like if it was the first time when I started!:banghead::nailbiting: but we'll make it:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
That’s because you gave Karo. You are stressed out. He didn’t need karo at +4 with a 50. If you had just fed LC we would have seen if he would have earned a reduction.
 
That’s because you gave Karo. You are stressed out. He didn’t need karo at +4 with a 50. If you had just fed LC we would have seen if he would have earned a reduction.
Ok, you are correct as always, he ate his 1/2 can of tender beef with gustó and so far no visit to the box, and he seems content on top of the bed waiting for me Pheew!! I’m still keeping an eye for a while, once again thank you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I know you will take care of him. Let us know how he is tomorrow! :bighug:
Good morning.Corky did really good after his last meal with no pooping, however this morning AMPS his BG is 151 and he pooped at least 3 times with the same consistency not watery but cookie like poop and grainy not as smelly as last night, He’s finishing his meal and I’m getting dressed to walk to the market a few blocks away for the beechnut and pumpkin will keep you posted
 
How is Corky?
Hi, there was no mor diarrhea, until 45 minutes after his +6 meal which I put 2tsp of 100% Organic pumpkin puree, there has been no more diarrhea since then, but his toosh is all red up and swollen, I just washed it with soft soap and gently dried it, he just does not stop licking it, perhaps that makes him feel more comfortable, poor baby, I know the feeling of diarrhea and hemorrhoids I know he is uncomfortable in that area, I have 5% lidocaine cream that I use when it happens to me, can he use it? to relieve some of the discomfort, it is non toxic
\
 
Hi, there was no mor diarrhea, until 45 minutes after his +6 meal which I put 2tsp of 100% Organic pumpkin puree, there has been no more diarrhea since then, but his toosh is all red up and swollen, I just washed it with soft soap and gently dried it, he just does not stop licking it, perhaps that makes him feel more comfortable, poor baby, I know the feeling of diarrhea and hemorrhoids I know he is uncomfortable in that area, I have 5% lidocaine cream that I use when it happens to me, can he use it? to relieve some of the discomfort, it is non toxic
\
I would not put lidocaine cream on his rear end without vet approval. Has he ever had anal gland problems before or needed to have them expressed? Is his rear end still red and swollen? That’s not normal and if it was a bit red after the diarrhea I would understand, but if it continues, there’s something else that is going on.
 
Non-toxic to humans doesn’t necessarily mean non-toxic to cats. We don’t know what all the other ingredients are in the cream besides the Lidocaine. And Lidocaine can be toxic to cats at fairly low doses.
 
Non-toxic to humans doesn’t necessarily mean non-toxic to cats. We don’t know what all the other ingredients are in the cream besides the Lidocaine. And Lidocaine can be toxic to cats at fairly low doses.

Not to worry, did not apply, he is doing good, no more diarrhea, just a small soft bit after lunch yesterday, and his tooshi is not red or swollen any longer. I noticed that his BG raised after the pumpkin tsp on both meals, even though it was organic, no sugar and 4 % carb, but Corky is a CHAMP!!:D:D:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I will buy the pumpkin tomorrow but the probiotic will not be possible he just pooped a bit but it’s getting harder and just a bit perhaps it’s passing I’m in Miami, thank you for the thought you are very sweet I’ll be up most of the night keeping an eye on him, thank you for caring, this Forum and all of yo guys are my only source of assistance and comfort both Corky and Coco are my everything:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
I know how you feel my cats are everything to me. I have a daughter who is grown & a grandaughter who is grown and she has 2 teen ages daughter's. They are all busy with their own lives and that gives me my cats. I love all of my family and also my son-in-law, but they are all busy with out any extra time.
 
I know how you feel my cats are everything to me. I have a daughter who is grown & a grandaughter who is grown and she has 2 teen ages daughter's. They are all busy with their own lives and that gives me my cats. I love all of my family and also my son-in-law, but they are all busy with out any extra time.
Ditto! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Excellent!

0
 
I am really worried again Corky’s poop a few minutes ago, was again soft and grainy and very stinky, I believed that the pumpkin I gave him helped but as we saw it raised his BG a bit, but I will have to give it to him again in the morning, I’ll have to wait till the 1st to see if I can afford a vet:arghh::arghh::(:bighug::cat::cat:
 
I am really worried again Corky’s poop a few minutes ago, was again soft and grainy and very stinky, I believed that the pumpkin I gave him helped but as we saw it raised his BG a bit, but I will have to give it to him again in the morning, I’ll have to wait till the 1st to see if I can afford a vet:arghh::arghh::(:bighug::cat::cat:
Oh no, I'm sorry for the worry. How is he this morning?
 
Oh no, I'm sorry for the worry. How is he this morning?

Good Morning, it was this morning he was just fine after the pumpkin, I gave it to him this morning again, I do not know What am I going to do if he continues with the diarrhea, I do not trust Vets, they are greedy, at least here in Miami you take them for a check up and you end up leaving with a $500 bill if not more, I am sure the Vet will want to do a blood test and stool test that is expensive, I barely can afford his Rabies shot, he has an appointment on the 3rd next month, and I have to not pay one bill in order to afford that, things were different before, I am a Sou Chef, and had private Dinner Parties I cooked for ,made great $$ but since I got injured January 2023, there is no extra monies coming in, I can say I was very comfortable then, Corky and Coco come first for me, so I don't care lacking as long as they both have the best they need, but I am 2 weeks away from that appointment, so I am concerned, he looks great, chasing Coco around and playing eats very well, but as we know, cats hide their illness pretty well, I found out there was something wrong with Corky probably a few months before he was hospitalized with 650BG, he had lost 1/2 of his weight from 16.5 he weight 8.4, he did not liked being picked up, I noticed a lot of water drinking and crying in front of the bowl, and throwing out the water from the bowl with his paw, I thought he was playing, it wasn't until one day I passed by him and he did not moved and allowed me to pick him up, he felt like a feather, I ran to an emergency Vet clinic he spend 8 days there and the bill was almost $9,000. If I would have not found this Forum, my Corky would not be here today, I have not taken Corky to the Vet since, only yearly for the shot, he is an inside cat, spoiled rotten as his sister Coco, and both are very very healthy:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
he looks great, chasing Coco around and playing eats very well,
Awww Maria I can just feel your love for Corky and Coco just reading this. :bighug: You're a great Mama!

Cats do hide it well... but I don't think he would be running around and eating as well if he felt really bad. Sometimes the vet will just let you drop off a stool sample for testing... that might save some money. I know how expensive it is for them to make a lot of guesses most times! Hope he clears up quickly and for good.
 
Awww Maria I can just feel your love for Corky and Coco just reading this. :bighug: You're a great Mama!

Cats do hide it well... but I don't think he would be running around and eating as well if he felt really bad. Sometimes the vet will just let you drop off a stool sample for testing... that might save some money. I know how expensive it is for them to make a lot of guesses most times! Hope he clears up quickly and for good.
Great idea, I can get a stool sample and hope the vet accepts it, and test it, I really don't think is a big issue, but it does concern me, Thank you for your suggestion, and concern, Yes my babies are everything to me my family, friends, confident, therapy, companionship, I have no family members, Corky will be 12 in Oct 15th I adopted him at the ASPCA when he was only 8-10 weeks old and Coco I adopted her from a friend that her cat became pregnant from her neighbors Main Coon, when Coco was only 38 days old, She will be 5 in April 26, They are my Sunshine! Corky is the Tabby, Coco the Black and white 1/2 Main Coon:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

upload_2025-3-16_12-59-58.png

upload_2025-3-16_13-2-48.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-16_12-59-58.png
    upload_2025-3-16_12-59-58.png
    340.9 KB · Views: 195
  • upload_2025-3-16_13-2-48.png
    upload_2025-3-16_13-2-48.png
    236.1 KB · Views: 189
Oh, Maria! You're such a great mom!! Corky & Coco are so lucky to have you. They are beautiful!
I know, I feel the same way, our babies are everything to us! So many people don't understand but it's great to have a community that does. :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top