Kadajyboy
Member Since 2019
Hello and thank you for all of the useful info. I will get right on making a signature and all after I post this.
A little background: Daj is a 12 y/o neutered male with diabetes.He weighs approx. 7.8lbs. He started receiving Prozinc (1 unit, twice a day) on 9/14/2019 at 7am.
His first glucose curve reads as follows: 9/24/2019 (1 unit Prozinc at 7am) 8:40am 352mg/dl, 10:30am 450 mg/dl, 12:30pm 491 mg/dl. Stopped due to numbers staying high. His dose was then increased to 2 units, twice per day.
For some reason the vet did not include his levels for this check on my sheet, but they increased his dosage again on 10/3/2019 to 3 units, twice a day. Everything Ive read says that this is way too much for a cat his size.
He had a single BG check on 10/10/2019 at 4:45pm which read 515mg/dl.
His vet decided they wanted to make sure I was giving his shot properly so on 10/17/2019 they had me administer it infront of them (3 units at 830am). I was indeed doing it properly. They then gave him another curve that day which reads as follows: 9am 569mg/dl, 10:30am 555mg/dl, 1:30pm 535 mg/dl. Stopped due to numbers staying high. I was then asked to come talk to the vet that day to "discuss my options.."
What the vet told me is that "What is going on with him is not normal. His numbers arent budging. Usually if there is a problem like this it has to do with the pancreas, but his enzyme levels were damn near perfect on his blood tests. You are doing everything you can for him. He is what he is." They then proceeded to recommend the Purina DM wet food. I bought it before finding out the Fancy Feast I had him on is actually better for him. They have me continuing to give him 3 units, twice a day..
Basically, after doing a ton of my own research on here and other helpful sources I have found that the vet is pushing us down a terrible path. I am afraid for my boy. I have an appointment with a vet I got a recommendation for at another facility on Thursday for a second opinion. After reading on here I trust the opinions of you wonderful folks and I beg of you to please help get us in the right direction..
A little background: Daj is a 12 y/o neutered male with diabetes.He weighs approx. 7.8lbs. He started receiving Prozinc (1 unit, twice a day) on 9/14/2019 at 7am.
His first glucose curve reads as follows: 9/24/2019 (1 unit Prozinc at 7am) 8:40am 352mg/dl, 10:30am 450 mg/dl, 12:30pm 491 mg/dl. Stopped due to numbers staying high. His dose was then increased to 2 units, twice per day.
For some reason the vet did not include his levels for this check on my sheet, but they increased his dosage again on 10/3/2019 to 3 units, twice a day. Everything Ive read says that this is way too much for a cat his size.
He had a single BG check on 10/10/2019 at 4:45pm which read 515mg/dl.
His vet decided they wanted to make sure I was giving his shot properly so on 10/17/2019 they had me administer it infront of them (3 units at 830am). I was indeed doing it properly. They then gave him another curve that day which reads as follows: 9am 569mg/dl, 10:30am 555mg/dl, 1:30pm 535 mg/dl. Stopped due to numbers staying high. I was then asked to come talk to the vet that day to "discuss my options.."
What the vet told me is that "What is going on with him is not normal. His numbers arent budging. Usually if there is a problem like this it has to do with the pancreas, but his enzyme levels were damn near perfect on his blood tests. You are doing everything you can for him. He is what he is." They then proceeded to recommend the Purina DM wet food. I bought it before finding out the Fancy Feast I had him on is actually better for him. They have me continuing to give him 3 units, twice a day..
Basically, after doing a ton of my own research on here and other helpful sources I have found that the vet is pushing us down a terrible path. I am afraid for my boy. I have an appointment with a vet I got a recommendation for at another facility on Thursday for a second opinion. After reading on here I trust the opinions of you wonderful folks and I beg of you to please help get us in the right direction..
