Diagnosed a month ago and numbers not budging

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kadajyboy

Member Since 2019
Hello and thank you for all of the useful info. I will get right on making a signature and all after I post this.

A little background: Daj is a 12 y/o neutered male with diabetes.He weighs approx. 7.8lbs. He started receiving Prozinc (1 unit, twice a day) on 9/14/2019 at 7am.

His first glucose curve reads as follows: 9/24/2019 (1 unit Prozinc at 7am) 8:40am 352mg/dl, 10:30am 450 mg/dl, 12:30pm 491 mg/dl. Stopped due to numbers staying high. His dose was then increased to 2 units, twice per day.

For some reason the vet did not include his levels for this check on my sheet, but they increased his dosage again on 10/3/2019 to 3 units, twice a day. Everything Ive read says that this is way too much for a cat his size.

He had a single BG check on 10/10/2019 at 4:45pm which read 515mg/dl.

His vet decided they wanted to make sure I was giving his shot properly so on 10/17/2019 they had me administer it infront of them (3 units at 830am). I was indeed doing it properly. They then gave him another curve that day which reads as follows: 9am 569mg/dl, 10:30am 555mg/dl, 1:30pm 535 mg/dl. Stopped due to numbers staying high. I was then asked to come talk to the vet that day to "discuss my options.."

What the vet told me is that "What is going on with him is not normal. His numbers arent budging. Usually if there is a problem like this it has to do with the pancreas, but his enzyme levels were damn near perfect on his blood tests. You are doing everything you can for him. He is what he is." They then proceeded to recommend the Purina DM wet food. I bought it before finding out the Fancy Feast I had him on is actually better for him. They have me continuing to give him 3 units, twice a day..

Basically, after doing a ton of my own research on here and other helpful sources I have found that the vet is pushing us down a terrible path. I am afraid for my boy. I have an appointment with a vet I got a recommendation for at another facility on Thursday for a second opinion. After reading on here I trust the opinions of you wonderful folks and I beg of you to please help get us in the right direction..
 
Daj is a very handsome lad.

Welcome to the best place you never thought you would be.

I'm tagging a few members who have prozinc experience for you.
@MrWorfMen's Mom @FurBabiesMama

The best way to get a blood glucose curve is to do so at home. This takes any vet stress out of the equation and home testing is the only way to keep your cat safe.

There is a food chart here. Fancy Feast Classic (the pate) is low carb. There's nothing special about the Purina DM food. Tell the clinic your cat will no longer eat it and they will refund your money.

It would help tremendously if you could set up a spreadsheet. The forum is fairly data driven. If you have any difficulty setting one up, let us know. There are some people here who can do it in minutes.
Ask any and all questions.

Since you are checking out new vets, now would be a good time to read Vet Interview/Screening Topics
 
Thank you so much, you have no idea how much I appreciate it. My handsome boy is my life. I just want to do the best I can for him and I know that the fine people of FDMB can help with that. I will get right on the spreadsheet. Thanks again.
 
I am so glad you are researching and discovered FDMB. And I believe you are on the right track with the dose being too high. You can read about using Prozinc in that insulin support group forum HERE.
Sometimes too much insulin can look like not enough and that's when the problems begin with the dose increases. Daj could be "bouncing".
Here's an explanation of what we call "bouncing". It explains why a kitty's BG can go from low to sky high: (possibly contributing to your kitty's high BG at the high dose he's on)
BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.

Getting the spreadsheet set up and all the data you have is going to help advising members assist you with getting control of the dosing and help Daj feel better.

Regarding the Purina DM canned food, it is not too high in carbs, however if you are buying it at the vet you are probably paying too much for a low carb canned food. Friskies pates, Fancy Feast classics, 9 Lives varieties, Weruva and Tiki Cat are all brands that many members use here.

FOOD CHART by Dr. Lisa Pierson of www.catinfo.org.
Dr Pierson recommends " start with protein minimum of 40, fat maximum of 50, carb max of 10, and for cats with kidney issues....phos less than 300."

Daj is probably really hungry with those high BGs. Unregulated cats with the fluctuating blood sugar are not able to process food efficiently, and he would do better with small frequent meals. If you are at work during the day, you could look into getting a timed feeder that you can set for different times of the day/night. PetSafe and CatMate both have 2 and 5 compartment feeders that many of us use for our sugar cats. This method will help even out the blood sugar, help with acid build up in the tummy between those two daily meals, and help him cope with that raging hunger.

@FurBabiesMama
@MrWorfMen's Mom
@Kate & Toby

Just so you know, about what I am saying about the Prozinc dosing, plus probably different instructions from your vet about feeding, the sad truth is that vets only get 5 hours of diabetes education in school and that covers all types of animals. Once they've graduated and are in practice, they don't have time to stay up to date on the latest treatments for every disease in every type of animal they see. That's why message boards like this are so valuable. Not only do the people here have the time to research for new treatments, they have the day in/day out experience in their own cats so they know what works....and what doesn't! Not knocking your vet, he/she just doesn't know enough.
 
Thank you so very much. I have read about the "bouncing" affect on here and that is one thing that I was afraid of. After getting his BG readout from the vet I had a feeling thats what was going on.. I am horrified by the thought of him having a hypo episode while I am at work or sleeping. I have been trying to test him at home, with only one successful attempt.. No matter how long I warm/rub his ears, Ive only gotten a droplet once. I am very gentle with him and always have been, I feel that he trusts me greatly, yet he still fights me every step of the way. I attempted to lance his paw pad a few times and he lashes out like I've never seen. He never bites at me, ever, at least until all of this.. He is VERY hungry but I've been afraid to feed him more than the vet suggested (twice daily, right before injection). I feel terrible not feeding him more but I didnt have enough info to make a decision on my own. I will absolutely get him a timed feeder for day that I am working. Is there any chance you could inform me on how many calories he should be getting? Or at least an idea of how much I should be feeding him? The vet said 1/3 to 1/2 can of Purina but after reading up on feeding that seems low.. Thank you again I really do appreciate it. I am working on my spreadsheet now.
 
I know that this is all so new and it can be very confusing at first. So, deep breath..you must keep breathing so that your head doesn't explode and so you can help Daj out. :):bighug:

For now, Daj can probably use much more food. I have read that 20 calories per pound of ideal weight for a cat (probably a non-diabetic or a regulated diabetic cat) but this kitty is experiencing very high BG and needs more.
Here is a link that might help: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feed-kitty-as-much-as-they-want.205170/

Will defer to more experienced members regarding how many cans of food per day and possibly suggestions for portion control. Until you get a feeder, you can mix the canned food with some water, freeze in ice cube trays and leave the foodcicles out to thaw and be consumed during the day and/or night.

Here is something that might help with the testing written by Chris & China (GA)

Here's something I wrote up for others for testing...maybe it'll help you too!

It can be really helpful to establish a routine with testing. Pick one spot that you want your "testing spot" to be (I like the kitchen counter because it's got good light and it's at a good height....it also already blocked 2 escape routes due to the wall and the backsplash) It can be anywhere though...a rug on the floor, a table, a particular spot on the couch...wherever is good for you.

Take him there as many times a day as you can and just give his ears a quick rub and then he gets a yummy (low carb) treat. Most cats aren't objecting so much with the poking..it's the fooling with their ears they don't like, but once they're desensitized to it and learn to associate a certain place with the treats, they usually start to come when they're called! Or even when they hear us opening the test kit!

You also have to remember...you're not poking him to hurt him...you're testing him to keep him safe and understand what's going on inside his body. There's just nothing better than truly understanding what's going on inside your kitty's body and with this disease, the more knowledge you have, the more power you have against it. The edges of the ears have very few pain receptors, so it really doesn't hurt them. Also, if you're nervous and tense, it's going to make your kitty nervous and tense too. As silly as it might seem, try singing! It forces you to use a different part of your brain!

It's also important to make sure his ear is warm. A small sock filled with a little rice and microwaved or a small pill bottle filled with warm water (check temp against your wrist like you would a baby bottle) works well

For new kitties, using a heavier gauge lancet is also really helpful. A 25-28 gauge lancet pokes a bigger "hole" than a 31-33 gauge lancet does, so look for "Alternate Site testing" lancets that are usually a lower number

Finding the right "treat" will be a great help too! Freeze dried chicken, bonito flakes, little pieces of baked chicken...whatever low carb treat you can find that he really enjoys will help him to associate the testing with the treat! China's Achilles heel was baked chicken, so I'd bake a piece, chop it into bite sized pieces, put some in the refrigerator and freeze the rest to use as needed. It didn't take long for her to come any time I picked up the meter!
 
You guys are seriously the best. I cant thank you enough for all the help. It means the world to Daj and I.
 
Please plug in the testing numbers you have for Daj so far into the spreadsheet. You just enter the first date that you have a test for, then the BG. You may have a printout from the vet for the testing times, +1 is one hour after the injection, +2 is two hours after, etc. Do the best you can with what you have.

Going forward, please try to get a test before you inject, then if you can a test mid cycle. We will try to see if we can find the lowest BG in the cycle..that's what they were trying to do at the vet with the curve.

Then going forward for each date that you have been injecting insulin, put in the amount of the insulin dose, and any other tests that you have results for.

Have you given Daj his PM shot tonight already?
 
Sorry it took me a little while on the spreadsheet, I am a little frazzled lately and it took me a bit to get through it. Should be up to date with what I have now. I will absolutely work on the preshot and midway tests. He did receive his PM shot, 3 units at 7PM.
Thank you!
 
I’m not a PZ user however I’m good at reading SSs and I also know that even PZ is not increased that quickly. Here is the dosing protocol for PZ so you can see how far off your vet is and how fast he’s taking the dose up.

Regardless of which insulin you use, it’s really important to get data. That doesn’t mean test every hour but if you can work on always getting a PS test so you know it’s safe to shoot and a couple tests during the cycle, especially midcycle if you can, that will help.

At night, if you can get a +2 and/or before bed test in addition to the PS, that will also help.
 
Sorry it took me a little while on the spreadsheet, I am a little frazzled lately and it took me a bit to get through it. Should be up to date with what I have now. I will absolutely work on the preshot and midway tests. He did receive his PM shot, 3 units at 7PM.
Thank you!
Ok, thank you very much. I don't mean to press you and I well remember those days of acute "frazzle". I am not experienced enough to advise on dosing and I'm really hoping someone will chime and tell you what to do with that big 3 Unit dose twice a day. That bothers me some, as it does you I'm sure.
 
Welcome to FDMB and so glad you found us. Daj is indeed a handsome little cutie!

As your vet said, rising numbers following insulin is not an expected occurrence however vet curves are notoriously misleading because our kitties as a rule are not happy campers in the vet's office which causes their numbers to be elevated. The problem is that vets so often see those rising numbers and think that means more insulin is needed. Unfortunately, more insulin is not always the right answer.
Your vet started off Ok with the 1 unit dose, however we do dose adjustments in 0.25u increments to ensure we do not jump over the best dose for kitty. I think the rising numbers of that first curve should have been an indicator for the vet to know the results were not normal. Doubling the dose at that point in time was not advisable. Increasing yet again by a full unit was also not adviseable.

Is the Purina DM the pate or the Savory Select? The Savory Select are higher is carbs than the pate and given the dose of insulin you are giving, it would be dangerous to lower the carbs you are feeding until you are able to test Daj on a more consistent basis. That said, I would definitely add more meals into the routine as feeding twice daily is not adequate for most diabetics. Diabetics cannot properly utilize the food they eat so they are always hungry and need more calories to maintain their weight. If Daj's normal weight is about 8 lbs. he would normally need about 180 calories per day but may need more right now to maintain his weight.

I seriously think the dose of insulin needs to be reduced but it's hard to say by how much given even the first curve done on 1u was elevated and numbers didn't move. What seems to be missing from all the curves is a fasting BG done just prior to the insulin shot being given so we really don't know where he started before the insulin was given.

Please confirm the food type and tonight try to get a BG test at +3 post shot tonight (I presume that will be shortly) and then check BG again before you turn in for the night unless that +3 time is your bedtime.
 
I’m not a PZ user however I’m good at reading SSs and I also know that even PZ is not increased that quickly. Here is the dosing protocol for PZ so you can see how far off your vet is and how fast he’s taking the dose up.

Regardless of which insulin you use, it’s really important to get data. That doesn’t mean test every hour but if you can work on always getting a PS test so you know it’s safe to shoot and a couple tests during the cycle, especially midcycle if you can, that will help.

At night, if you can get a +2 and/or before bed test in addition to the PS, that will also help.
Thank you Marje.
 
Welcome to FDMB and so glad you found us. Daj is indeed a handsome little cutie!

As your vet said, rising numbers following insulin is not an expected occurrence however vet curves are notoriously misleading because our kitties as a rule are not happy campers in the vet's office which causes their numbers to be elevated. The problem is that vets so often see those rising numbers and think that means more insulin is needed. Unfortunately, more insulin is not always the right answer.
Your vet started off Ok with the 1 unit dose, however we do dose adjustments in 0.25u increments to ensure we do not jump over the best dose for kitty. I think the rising numbers of that first curve should have been an indicator for the vet to know the results were not normal. Doubling the dose at that point in time was not advisable. Increasing yet again by a full unit was also not adviseable.

Is the Purina DM the pate or the Savory Select? The Savory Select are higher is carbs than the pate and given the dose of insulin you are giving, it would be dangerous to lower the carbs you are feeding until you are able to test Daj on a more consistent basis. That said, I would definitely add more meals into the routine as feeding twice daily is not adequate for most diabetics. Diabetics cannot properly utilize the food they eat so they are always hungry and need more calories to maintain their weight. If Daj's normal weight is about 8 lbs. he would normally need about 180 calories per day but may need more right now to maintain his weight.

I seriously think the dose of insulin needs to be reduced but it's hard to say by how much given even the first curve done on 1u was elevated and numbers didn't move. What seems to be missing from all the curves is a fasting BG done just prior to the insulin shot being given so we really don't know where he started before the insulin was given.

Please confirm the food type and tonight try to get a BG test at +3 post shot tonight (I presume that will be shortly) and then check BG again before you turn in for the night unless that +3 time is your bedtime.
Thank you Linda!
 
I just checked my SS and realized my info was off. I have a bit of missing info from the vet and will have to call them tomorrow. His dose was increased to 2 units on 9/24/2019 right after his first curve. It was then increased to 3 units on 10/3/2019 but I do not have the read out info. I will get it and update the SS as soon as possible.

The Purina DM is the savory selects. I will attempt a BG test now as it is +3 as we speak. I am a bit shaken up so it may take me a bit to do it calmly and comfortably for him.

Thank you all again so much really I can't say it enough.
 
Thank you Marje.
You’re welcome.

One thing I am cautious about is taking doses back too much. We have had instances where members were advised to do so and the cat turned out to be a high dose cat with acromegaly and/or IAA. Taking the dose back too much can really set a high dose cat back.

Of course, there is not enough data for us to know if Daj could need a higher dose but all those blacks are telling me that he’s probably dropping low somewhere, @MrWorfMen's Mom has a great point that the first curve, he was high but he was started on PZ 9/14 and the first curve was 9/24 so he could have already been dropping and bouncing back up by 9/24.

Again, as a nonPZ user, I generally stay away from dosing advice. I’m wondering if the dose should br dropped back, at least to 1.5u and gather data. If we see within a few cycles that he’s staying high, we can take the dose up by 0.5u.

Thoughts @Idjit's mom and @MrWorfMen's Mom?
 
Last edited:
You’re welcome.

One thing I am cautious about is taking doses back too much. We have had instances where members were advised to do so and the cat turned out to be a high dose cat with acromegaly and/or IAA. Taking the dose back too much can really set a high dose cat back.

Of course, there is not enough data for us to know if Daj could need a higher dose but all those blacks are telling me that he’s probably dropping low somewhere, @MrWorfMen's Mom has a great point that the first curve, he was high but he was started on PZ 9/14 and the first curve was 9/24 so he could have already been dropping and bouncing back up by 9/24.

Again, as a nonPZ user, I generally stay away from dosing advice. I’m wondering if the dose should br dropped back, at least to 1.5u and gather data. If we see with a few cycles that he’s staying high, we can take the dose up by 0.5u.

Thoughts @Idjit's mom and @MrWorfMen's Mom?
Marje, I am not very experienced with dosing, and I have not used Prozinc either. However, I would lean toward decreasing because I really suspect that Daj is bouncing, and maybe it's a knee jerk reaction/assumption. Hopefully Linda will have some input here regarding dosing after we see the +3 test.
 
I agree with @Marje and Gracie that it's quite possible those elevated numbers during the first curve were from dropping and bouncing. I'd be Ok reducing the dose to 1.5u for few cycles to see if there is any improvements in BG and then re-visit the dose. Hopefully by then, Daj will be a little more co-operative about testing.
 
I've been attempting a test since I last posted. I got him to let me rub his ears for a while, talked to him gently and gave him plenty of pettings. Got his ear nice and warm, finally got a good poke (with flashlight to see vein) and still no droplet.. I tried again and got the smallest little amount of blood but not nearly enough to get an accurate reading. At that point he started growling like a tasmanian devil and now wont let me near him.. He has never acted like this until he was diagnosed and put on the insulin. I know he is probably just stressed out and I don't blame him, I am too.. I really want to provide the best care I can for him and I feel like I'm failing him..

Should I try 1.5u for his next dose? (7am tmrw) Just want to double check before I make any changes. I will also be feeding him more and leaving foodcicles until I can get a timed feeder, which should be soon.

He is relaxing now. I figured I should give him some space. He will let me pet him and all but will not let me touch his ears. Will try again in the morning..
 
You are not failing him, you are doing your level best to help him. Don't do this to yourself. If it was me, I would reduce the dose as Marje and Linda said. Just back off the testing tonight and you both get some rest.
 
We will try to think of ways to help you get Daj to accept testing better. Does he let you handle his paws at all. That is an alternative site to ear testing, and some people do that. Try the desensitizing that Chris & China wrote about. And know that you are doing your level best here, it's tough in the beginning, but it's going to be worth it.
 
Got his ear nice and warm, finally got a good poke (with flashlight to see vein) and still no droplet.. I tried again and got the smallest little amount of blood but not nearly enough to get an accurate reading.
If you are using the lancet device, try a deeper setting.

You can also try not using the device and freehanding.

Testing is like riding a bike. There can be lots of wobbles and falls in the beginning. It will get easier.
 
It means so much to hear that right now. Really, the amount of help and support you folks are providing is mindblowing. I know I keep repeating myself but I can't thank ya'll enough.. I definitely need the rest, as I've been losing a lot of sleep lately..

I am currently freehanding the lancets because i couldnt find the proper device in any local stores, and was unaware that most are compatible anyways. It seems like freehanding may be easier in my situation anyways. I have tried the paw pad, but he immediately hisses and bites at me, which he never does.. I am assuming this has to do with all the testing hes been getting at the vet recently. I also noticed they trimmed his claws without telling me, so I assume he didn't make it easy for them either.

Thank you again
 
If you are using the lancet device, try a deeper setting.

You can also try not using the device and freehanding.

Testing is like riding a bike. There can be lots of wobbles and falls in the beginning. It will get easier.
Good thinking Kel, about not using that lancing device..if that's what the procedure is. I hated that thing and chucked it. I free hand the lancet. And Kada? we don't know what to call you, be sure the free handed lancet has the bevel upwards..it's hard to see but there is a bevel on that little sharp pointed bit of metal. And that makes the poke easier. Be sure there is good light, and you may find that an additional magnified light source would help too. I read a thread regarding that today, will try to find it again.
 
What gauge are the lancets? If they are 30 or higher that may be the problem. You can get 26 0r 28 gauge lancets at the pharmacy and that may help you get a better bead of blood. Kitty ears grow more capillaries as you test so it will get easier but right now you may need a larger lancet to get that much blood.

It can sometimes help to put a very slight skim of Vaseline on the ear where you intend to poke. It helps the blood bead up and keeps it from spreading out into the fur. Also, if you see a blood bead forming but Daj is getting antsy, grab the blood bead on a clean fingernail and test from there.

If you are uptight testing (and we all were when we started), try singing to yourself or to Daj. He doesn't care what you sing or how you sing. It will relax you and if you are relaxed Daj will be more relaxed too.

Leave Daj to relax for tonight and try again tomorrow. And yes give the reduced dose of 1.5u tomorrow AM. :)
 
Sorry, I should have introduced myself. Got lost in the commotion of things. My name is Zak and it's great to meet all of you. Daj's full name is actually Kadaj, but I don't really use it ever, just Daj or Dajy boy. I appreciate the tips greatly and will try again in the AM, preshot. The lancets I have are 30's, so I will pick up some heavier gauge asap. I have to leave for work right after his shot but I will get in touch as soon as possible and fill you in. I will also give him the lower dosage. Thank you all so much, for everything
 
Glad to meet you Zak, you can put that into the signature when you get a minute. Please do keep us updated and give yourself a break..you are doing the best you can right now, and working hard to care for Daj.
 
It's been a long day. Didn't sleep much last night. I was not able to test him this morning as he was making it difficult and I had to leave for work. I did however feed him a more appropriate amount as we discussed and gave him the lower dosage of 1.5u. He seems to be doing alright, not nearly as antsy for food. I picked up some 26g lancets and a fresh thing of vaseline for him and will try again, preshot, for his PM dose.
 
Good luck with the next test Zak. Please just try to relax, it's not the end of the world if you don't manage it every single time when you are starting out. Yep, ideally every test would be successful, but perhaps just try and then give him a treat, lots of lovies and don't put such pressure on you both. The more relaxed you are, the more relaxed he's likely to be.

In addition, if his belly isn't rumbling like a fierce thunderstorm, he may be feeling a bit better too. I don't know about you, but when I am really hungry my mood isn't nearly as sunny. :)

Some people feed a little to get that hunger under control, then test right away. I know that we want a fasting blood sugar for those two pre shot tests, but I have read that the food bump isn't exactly immediate, and it might make him more cooperative? Use your best judgement there, OK? I'm just trying to think of ways that you can test, stay sane and keep Daj happy and feeling comfortable.

Hopefully you won't stay up so late tonight, and get some better rest.
 
Last edited:
Thank you. I gave it an attempt just now. He was a bit easier about me playing with his ear so I guess hes getting used to it a bit. He still wasn't happy about it, but hes starting to tolerate it. I used a tiny tiny bit of vaseline to coat the area and pricked him with the 26g lancet. Sang to him (and myself) and it did help to keep me steady and his focus off the lancet. I did get a droplet, and I did manage to test it, but it was not enough for the meter to read.. I am feeling a bit better about it though, like I am one step closer. He doesn't seem to feel the same way though. He keeps growling at me and tried to bite my hand, luckily I saw it coming.

As far as the rest goes, I just couldn't get myself to fall asleep. I'm an anxious person on any given day, and this whole thing has me quite pent up. As it becomes more regular to me I'm sure I will level out. I appreciate everything you folks are doing for us and the support really does mean a lot.
 
Oh Zak, you aren't the first member to be going through the "new to feline diabetes" anxiety. But, yes, you have the right idea..it does become more routine, and you will become more relaxed. Have you tried giving Daj a treat before testing too? This might ease the beginning of the process and condition him to knowing that he's going to get a goody every time (twice actually) you test. Cats are pretty smart and even if he may never love testing, he might learn to put up with it.

We tested Idjit this morning. And our first attempt on one ear was not successful either. So we tried the other ear and voila! Sometimes it doesn't work for us either. So, you aren't the only one out there with testing issues.

Be kind to yourself, treating diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. And, just when you think you have everything figured out..boom, the cat has different ideas! Isn't that just like a cat? Just focus on educating yourself, and going day by day, taking good care of Daj and extra good care of yourself. If you are a nervous, exhausted mess you can't help him effectively, your work and your health will suffer. Not what you want.

Watch a goofy comedy on TV & laugh right out loud, take a walk, listen to some great music or exercise. Whatever will relieve a little stress.
 
One day at a time. You are making progress and in short order you'll look back and realize you have a new routine that's working and all that work has paid off. :)
 
Hi Zak!

I have to ask how to pronounce Kadajy/Daj, I'd like to hear it correctly in my head. But Yay to getting blood!!! That's a big deal, congrats! I just read through this whole thread today for the first time and I was betting it was the size of your lancet -- I'm glad that's all it was. Baby steps...

Everyone has given you great advice. Lou mentioned something about an additional light source. I have two different kinds because we are in an old pretty dark cabin-like house. Our primary light that we use for testing is one of those headlamps that straps to your head something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/ELMCHEE-Rech...ight/dp/B07Q8G36QV/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

or because I knew that my mom wouldn't ever put one of those on her head when she is babysitting Whispy for us :p I also got her one that hangs around her neck like this:

https://www.amazon.com/Rechargeable-Adjustable-Brightness-Reading-Knitting/dp/B07T2YN63J/ref=sr_1_12?keywords=light around neck&qid=1571794327&sr=8-12

It's just one less thing to worry about when you already feel like you don't have enough hands! And Lou mentioned a "rice sock" -- that would be great, and you might even find that you can just sit with Daj on the couch with the warm rice sock and rub his head with it. Whispy LOVES it -- I give him an all over body massage with it, starting on his ears and then rubbing it all over his body. Because, you know, I'd do absolutely anything for one of my kitties! If Daj likes it, that'd be a great way to desensitize him to using it to warm up his ears. At first I didn't exactly fuss with his ears, just rub it gently all over his head, but do make sure it isn't too hot, make sure after you heat it in the microwave that you could let it lay directly on your wrist without burning. Surprisingly, I find that I have to use the rice sock more in the summer when we have the A/C on than in the winter (but we do heat with a woodstove, so it is usually pretty toasty in here in the winter). So don't think that because it might not feel "cold" inside that using it to warm the ear isn't necessary.

Best of luck to you, you are doing great :)

Sandi (& Whispy)
 
Hi Zak!

I have to ask how to pronounce Kadajy/Daj, I'd like to hear it correctly in my head. But Yay to getting blood!!! That's a big deal, congrats! I just read through this whole thread today for the first time and I was betting it was the size of your lancet -- I'm glad that's all it was. Baby steps...

Everyone has given you great advice. Lou mentioned something about an additional light source. I have two different kinds because we are in an old pretty dark cabin-like house. Our primary light that we use for testing is one of those headlamps that straps to your head something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/ELMCHEE-Rech...ight/dp/B07Q8G36QV/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

or because I knew that my mom wouldn't ever put one of those on her head when she is babysitting Whispy for us :p I also got her one that hangs around her neck like this:

https://www.amazon.com/Rechargeable-Adjustable-Brightness-Reading-Knitting/dp/B07T2YN63J/ref=sr_1_12?keywords=light around neck&qid=1571794327&sr=8-12

It's just one less thing to worry about when you already feel like you don't have enough hands! And Lou mentioned a "rice sock" -- that would be great, and you might even find that you can just sit with Daj on the couch with the warm rice sock and rub his head with it. Whispy LOVES it -- I give him an all over body massage with it, starting on his ears and then rubbing it all over his body. Because, you know, I'd do absolutely anything for one of my kitties! If Daj likes it, that'd be a great way to desensitize him to using it to warm up his ears. At first I didn't exactly fuss with his ears, just rub it gently all over his head, but do make sure it isn't too hot, make sure after you heat it in the microwave that you could let it lay directly on your wrist without burning. Surprisingly, I find that I have to use the rice sock more in the summer when we have the A/C on than in the winter (but we do heat with a woodstove, so it is usually pretty toasty in here in the winter). So don't think that because it might not feel "cold" inside that using it to warm the ear isn't necessary.

Best of luck to you, you are doing great :)

Sandi (& Whispy)
Sandi, thanks so much for the links to the additional light sources. I got on a hunt, got distracted and didn't get back to it. I am very grateful. Plus, using the rice sock all over even when not testing is good advice too. We use a rice sock at testing time, and I rub it all over Idjit's head and face too, just to soothe him mainly, because we don't test daily. Hey, anything to help, and I'm so glad you chimed in with this wonderful info and input. This board is so great because it's comprised of pretty great people!
 
Thank you. I gave it an attempt just now. He was a bit easier about me playing with his ear so I guess hes getting used to it a bit. He still wasn't happy about it, but hes starting to tolerate it. I used a tiny tiny bit of vaseline to coat the area and pricked him with the 26g lancet. Sang to him (and myself) and it did help to keep me steady and his focus off the lancet. I did get a droplet, and I did manage to test it, but it was not enough for the meter to read.. I am feeling a bit better about it though, like I am one step closer. He doesn't seem to feel the same way though. He keeps growling at me and tried to bite my hand, luckily I saw it coming.

As far as the rest goes, I just couldn't get myself to fall asleep. I'm an anxious person on any given day, and this whole thing has me quite pent up. As it becomes more regular to me I'm sure I will level out. I appreciate everything you folks are doing for us and the support really does mean a lot.
If you get a drop but he wants to go, try scraping onto the back of your nail and testing from there. Also always give a low carb treat, even for failed attempts, so he will associate the test with a snack. Don’t aim for the vein but the area between the vein and the edge.
7376D28A-DA56-42CA-AA25-D4256152AF66.jpeg
 
The best way I can think to describe the sound of his name, is similar to the sound of "garage." I guess it would be considered a soft "j"? He was originally supposed to be adopted by a family friend, and they actually named him. I believe its from a video game but i'm not positive. Couldn't be happier that I ended up with him and I can't imagine how life would be if I hadn't.

Thank you for the additional tips and insights. I have tried the warm water bottle but I imagine the rice sock would be more comfortable for him. I will try that tonight. The headlamp is a great idea as well. I have a few of those around from work and camping so I will dig one out. He seems to be doing pretty good since I've been following the boards advice and I couldn't be more grateful! This forum really is full of some great people. Im really hoping those numbers are better when I am finally able to get them. He has an appointment at a highly recommended vet tomorrow night and I am really hoping they have good news for me. Still a bit shaken up that the other vet said we we're doing all we could..

It's almost feeding time so I will give it another go. I may not be back on tonight because I scratched my eye at work today and its hurting to look at the computer screen. I will return with an update as soon as I'm able. Thank you all again, so much.
 
Oh Zak, sorry about the eye scratch. I did that recently also and it's very painful! Take care of it and yourself.
 
You don't owe us an update, you must always take care of yourself first so that you can take care of Ka-DAH-zhee ;)

We're kind of like Motel6 here: "we'll leave the light on for ya".
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top