Depot/Bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SharonPHab

Member Since 2021
Just started shooting my bud a week ago. He numbers crept up, then shot up this morning. Switched to .5 Lantus this morning, down from 1. Could I get some advice?
 
Hi! Welcome! It's very clear you care about Haboob :bighug: FD is such in an emotional rollercoaster, hang in there :bighug:

Some questions -
  • What were the circumstances of Haboob's diabetes diagnosis?
  • Does he have any other conditions?
  • Any Ketones or DKA in his history?
  • Good job testing! How long has Haboob been on lantus?
  • Is the Dr. Easleys wet or dry? I only ask because if it's dry, it impacts dosing advice people will give.
FWIW, lantus is dosed on how low a kitty goes (versus how high) on a dose and the nadir (the low) can occur any time between pre-shot and +12 (12 hours from his shot). Often, per shots are higher than the nadir as the previous insulin dose is wearing off (there are exceptions of course, like when a kitty is breaking a bounce). A lot of us like to get a +2 reading:
  • If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, usually they're going to have a fairly "normal" cycle...slowly dropping to nadir and then slowly heading back up until the next PS
  • If it's higher than the PS, that can indicate the beginning of a bounce and those are the cycles where you can usually get by without testing as much
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning"....those are the cycles where it's important to try to get more tests in...but if you can't, you might want to leave some higher carb food down for kitty

I'd start by reading the dosing method sticky (anything in blue is a link) as well as the rest of the "pinned" stickies at the top of the board. I'll tag some folks too to see if they can stop by to help - @tiffmaxee or @Bandit's Mom can you help advise this newer member :bighug:?
 
You definitely came to the right place. Everyone is so helpful (sorry I only asked a question instead of offering you such excellent guidance).
 
As soon as we get answers to Susanne’s questions we can offer advice. The one thing I will say is I don’t see any reason why you decreased the dose.
 
Last edited:
As soon as we get answers to Susanne’s questions we can offer advice. The one thing I will say is I don’t see any reason why you decreased the dose.

We ask that new members post an intro on the main/health forum first. One of the moderators will move this there I suspect. Have you read about our two dosing methods yet?

We ask members to get a minimum of two tests per cycle. We need to see how low a dose is taking your cat. The initial dose is held for 7 days to build the depot. Since you have no mid cycle tests it would be good to do a 12 hour curve testing every 2 hours. I would return to 1.0 units though.
 
Thanks for helping, everyone! Haboob was diagnosed 6 months ago after we noticed that his urine output had increased. As soon as we changed his diet his numbers dropped into the 200's, sometimes dropping into the upper 100's. The vet was cautiously optimistic that we could get him into remission with diet and weight loss. We've checked him consistently for ketones. He's never been positive, nor does he have any other health problems. He is on Dr. Elsey's chix and ff pate, with some fishy tiki cat pates for variety. (Trying to wean him off the fish) We got his weight down from 21+ to 14.5. His numbers have stayed very stubbornly in the low 200's. (225 average) He has NEVER had a bg anywhere near 375. We started shooting him a week ago, 1 unit of Lantus 2x. I've been watching his bg go up, not down, on the lantus, and this morning's 375 (we tested multiple times, they were all close) freaked me out that I'm making him worse, not better. I posted on a fb diabetes group and they recommended reducing his dose.
 
Forgot to add: we will be able to do a full curve on Monday. He's an abused rescue (he was covered with cigarette burns when we adopted him) and testing is a two-person job. I have to wait until we will both be home for a 12 hour period.
 
Reducing the dose with his numbers will lead to insulin resistance and him needing more not less insulin. There’s no sign that he is receiving too much. Unfortunately we see this a lot from people coming here from Facebook. Thank you for taking him in and giving him a good home. So he never was on insulin until 6 days ago? Would it be possible to get another test between +2-4 each cycle until you can do a curve? If you can get a second tests at different times each cycle we can see how low 1.0 takes him.
 
That's good information, thank you, and the next time I start a thread I'll start it correctly. This is a lot to figure out all at once, and in a panic.

My husband is going to get a +3 tonight. We will try to grab some numbers during the day over the weekend, if possible.

Thanks for everyone's help.

So it sounds like I should go back to the vet's suggestion of 1 unit and try to stay calm about the sudden spike in his numbers
 
Oh, and yes, he just started insulin a week ago, when the spreadsheet starts
 
Yes. There’s a tremendous amount to learn so take it in baby steps. Please post a new thread each day and ask as many questions as you have. One thread per day. Just add the question mark prefix if you have a new question. Let us know how we can help you.

It sounds like you might want to start with our SLGS method until we can get him used to testing but read the sticky on the methods so you can decide for yourself.

I am so glad you found us. This is the best place for a person with a diabetic cat.
 
That's good information, thank you, and the next time I start a thread I'll start it correctly. This is a lot to figure out all at once, and in a panic.

My husband is going to get a +3 tonight. We will try to grab some numbers during the day over the weekend, if possible.

Thanks for everyone's help.

So it sounds like I should go back to the vet's suggestion of 1 unit and try to stay calm about the sudden spike in his numbers

He might have gone under 200 last night and is bouncing from being lower but that’s normal. It’s why we need to see how low 1.0 is taking him. You don’t reduce from one bounce. If his bg is under 90 we would reduce but by .25 and not .50 if you choose SLGS.
 
Went back to 1 unit this morning. His bg is back in the 200's. Still don't understand what happened yesterday. And still don't know why his bg is higher on average than it was before we started shooting him. (225 was his average reading before insulin) I need to do more reading. Got two extra tests in last night and at noon today. Definitely doesn't seem to be a low bg problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top