Daylight Savings Time - Sunday, March 12th

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
daylight-savings-time-start-696x392.jpg

For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those members, especially those using Lantus. Levemir, or a biosimilar, because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time in small increments to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight - DST starts at 2:00 AM Sunday)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight - DST starts at 2:00 AM Sunday)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

NOTE: Please bump this thread until March 12th.
 
I remember going through this last year with Hendrick, what a pita

Every time change that rolls around while he is OTJ, I count my lucky stars. And it reminds me of the debt I will never be able to fully repay to the folks here at the FDMB!
 
daylight-savings-time-start-696x392.jpg

For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those members, especially those using Lantus. Levemir, or a biosimilar, because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time in small increments to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight - DST starts at 2:00 AM Sunday)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight - DST starts at 2:00 AM Sunday)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

NOTE: Please bump this thread until March 12th.
Is it me or are the times in this confusing? If we are “springing ahead” wouldn’t the new time for Sunday AMPS following this method be the ”old” 6 am which is what the time adjustments were working towards ? The 8am is confusing me. :banghead:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top