Daylight Savings Time - Sunday, March 12th

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Feb 25, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    [​IMG]

    For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those members, especially those using Lantus. Levemir, or a biosimilar, because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

    If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time in small increments to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    Thursday PMPS at 6:45
    Friday AMPS at 6:45
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight - DST starts at 2:00 AM Sunday)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
    Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

    Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Friday AMPS at 7:00
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight - DST starts at 2:00 AM Sunday)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    NOTE: Please bump this thread until March 12th.
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  5. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  6. Hendrick Cuddleclaw

    Hendrick Cuddleclaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2022
    I remember going through this last year with Hendrick, what a pita

    Every time change that rolls around while he is OTJ, I count my lucky stars. And it reminds me of the debt I will never be able to fully repay to the folks here at the FDMB!
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  9. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  12. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  15. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Is it me or are the times in this confusing? If we are “springing ahead” wouldn’t the new time for Sunday AMPS following this method be the ”old” 6 am which is what the time adjustments were working towards ? The 8am is confusing me. :banghead:
     
  16. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  17. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  18. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  19. Chris and Checkers

    Chris and Checkers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2021
    Ugh, not again.:arghh:
     
  20. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  21. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page