For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to "Spring Forward" (i.e., turning the clocks ahead an hour). This is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try to stick to a 12-hour schedule. There is a solution!
If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.
If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.
Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.
Example: regular time is 7:00
Example: regular time is 7:00
(Please bump this post until March 11th)
If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.
If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.
Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.
Example: regular time is 7:00
- Thursday AMPS at 7:00
- Thursday PMPS at 6:45
- Friday AMPS at 6:45
- Friday PMPS at 6:30
- Saturday AMPS at 6:30
- Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
- Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
- Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Example: regular time is 7:00
- Friday AMPS at 7:00
- Friday PMPS at 6:30
- Saturday AMPS at 6:30
- Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
- Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which would be the “old” 8:00
(Please bump this post until March 11th)
