DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME - Shot time adjustment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Very Active Member
Moderator
For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to "Spring Forward" (i.e., turning the clocks ahead an hour). This is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try to stick to a 12-hour schedule. There is a solution!

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your time a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
  • Thursday PMPS at 6:45
  • Friday AMPS at 6:45
  • Friday PMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
  • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
  • Friday AMPS at 7:00
  • Friday PMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday AMPS at 6:30
  • Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
  • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which would be the “old” 8:00

(Please bump this post until March 11th)
 
tn_1239270196322.jpg
 
Thank you, I didn't even realize we needed to do that! And that weekend we'll be doing our first Lantus curves, darnit! Hopefully it won't mess up her numbers too much, she's not time sensitive on the ProZinc but we won't know about the Lantus until we start it this weekend.
 
Thanks Sienne for this post.

Just to remind everyone, this is the week coming up, so if you are doing the 15 min. change of time, like Sienne has here, you would start this Thursday the 8th, I think?
 
I had to look this up to figure out which way to shift. I went to lots of skool, but I was still getting confused @-) confused_cat
 
I've already started changing her shot times to the 15 minute increments. I've also moved back her food schedule, too, to reflect the changes. Sunday evening she'll be back to normal.
 
i forgot i had to start tonight with the pmps but now i will have to adjust with the 1/2 hr increments instead of the 15 mins....fingers crossed all goes well........i'm absent minded lately even though i wrote it down ohmygod_smile
 
Re: DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME - Shot time adjustment-QUESTION

Hi Everyone- I wanted to make sure I was thinking about this correctly in terms of adjusting AFTER DST. I did not move Jetta's shot time, and lo and behold, DST is tonight. So, her normal shoot is 730. I plan to shoot Sunday AM at what reads on the clock as 830 (which is the "old" unadjusted 730, right?) Then I can move backwards starting Sunday pm (so shoot at 815 pm) to get back to the new 730. If anyone can confirm to correct my theory I'd appreciate it!
 
ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile i messed up Rocket's schedule....so fingers crossed the "new schedule" works out nailbite_smile nailbite_smile


bump
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top