Daylight Savings Time - March 8th

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
1772464157027.png


For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule, but we can make the necessary shift.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG (blood glucose) numbers for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, for longer acting insulin, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase. If your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot schedule a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG numbers.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00 pm and has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on blood glucose numbers for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 6:00 and has you back on schedule


Spring....turn the clocks ahead.
(Please keep this thread bumped )
 
Back
Top