DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME ENDS 11/7 - Shot time adjustment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
***Please bump throughout the week****

A few people have asked about adjusting shot time in anticipation of daylight savings time ending.

For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Fall Back. Despite gaining an hour of sleep, this is rather inconvenient for Lantus Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour shot schedule, but we can deal with it.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the shed. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 7:15
Friday AMPS at 7:15
Friday PMPS at 7:30
Saturday AMPS at 7:30
Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 7:30
Saturday AMPS at 7:30
Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00
 
Option C (for those of us shooting as late as we can before leaving for work in the AM !!!)

Adjust Sunday's time to 1 hour earlier and then slide the 15 or 30 minutes following Siene's pattern

Here's the 15 minute slide

Example: regular time is 9:00
You will set your clock back overnight on Saturday; sorry, no sleeping in Sunday !!!
Sunday AMPS at 8:00
Sunday PMPS at 8:15
Monday AMPS at 8:15
Monday PMPS at 8:30
Tuesday AMPS at 8:30
Tuesday PMPS at 8:45
Wednesday AMPS at 8:45
Wednesday PMPS at 9:00
and you are back on the 9s schedule by Thursday morning

Thanks Sienne!!
 
i also copied it, sienne...as i do so many of your helpful posts. thank you for all the help you give us!

celi & binks
 
Option D is for those who employ the KISS method and are available to monitor:
change the clocks before you got to bed saturday night and set the alarm to get up sunday morning for kitty's regular shot time. :mrgreen:

_chestbump__by_Synfull.gif
 
BUMP 1

Ah - Pamela you have to put up with being out of step with the rest of us !
:lol: Loved Boo! :lol: :lol:
 
I accidentally shot her 15 mins later than normal shot this a.m. So, I will shoot her at 6:15 p.m. again this evening, right? And then 6:15 a.m. tomorrow, and 6:30 p.m. tomorrow night? And so on until the time change?
 
And, don't forget to change the daylight savings setting in your user control panel :smile: Just to give you something else to think about

:lol: Jill, always did love your Bump smileys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top