Jade & George
Member Since 2021
I'm on day five and am struggling a bit. Vet recommended starting with two units twice a day. AlphaTRAK delivered yesterday and caught a very low BG at +3: 35. No serious hypo symptoms - just a pale nose and a little cranky - but I gave her a fingertip of honey and some kibble jic. Watched her carefully at night, grabbing a couple hours of fitful sleep here and there. Decreased dose to 1 unit this morning after an AMPS of 219. Gave her first meal of the day: 1/4 can of Purina DM with a sprinkle of Purina DM kibble (~15 pieces). Feeling frustrated that vet directed starting at 2 units, and also doubting meaningfulness of BG at initial diagnosis (600+) due to extreme vet aversion. I've yet to see a BG over 300, but then again I've probably been overdosing her for four and a half days. Scheduled to see vet at 4pm today to install a FreeStyle Libre but feeling hesitant to bring her back to the vet for the third time in as many weeks considering how much she hates it. I'd like to start feeding her four small meals instead of the two as recommended, but I'm wondering if they need to be spread evenly across all 24 hours or just the 12 daytime hours. I was thinking 8am, 12pm, 4pm, and 8pm: 1/4 can of Purina DM with a sprinkle of Purina DM kibble. This is the food the vet gave me at diagnosis, switching from what I had been feeding her: Nature's Promise grain-free salmon kibble (1/4 scoop in the am) and tuna wet (1/2 small can at night with a small scoop of kibble). I've ordered Royal Canin from Chewy at the recommendation of a friend (the same one that told me about these fora) and my sister who also had a diabetic cat years ago. Sorry for all the rambling, I'm not sleeping much for fear of what I might wake up to.
