Dasher AMPS 204. +24

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
Dashers AMPS was 204 but this is +24 . If someone can take a look at his SS to see yesterday's numbers and tell me if I should of given him a PM shot or not. I will try and get a few more BG checkes today .
 
i'm sorry no one replied to your post this morning. i see you went ahead with a 1u shot. that's probably what would have been recommended had anyone seen your post.

let's see how things go today. if dasher leaves you with another preshot number you're not comfortable shooting perhaps the dose should be lowered a little bit to allow you to give two shots every 12 hours.

dasher is responding so well and you're doing great getting those spot checks!
 
Can someone take a look at his SS just to see if we're moving along ok, its was really +4 1/2. I'm still on edge over the other night.

85 +4 1/2
 
that looks nice. It's not too fast a drop. Dasher is in a hurry to get back to green each day, so that's good news. Try to grab another test around +6 so you can see how low he is going on this dose.

Be sure to read Jill's post, just above the last one you posted. Sorry I didn't reply earlier. Actually I thought I did, but I must have just composed the post in my head and forgotten to actually type it. :oops: But I agree with Jill.
 
I just wanted to share...
I did talk to the vet yesterday about the curve and Dashers low numbers that sent me into a panic. I told him I thought the 3U was too much and that I had changed it to 2U twice a day and on the 2U it sent him way too low. He insisted that I keep him on the 2U and not lower it to 1U so I said nothing and will be holding with the 1U twice a day. I asked him if he was familiar with updated Rand & Romp and he said he doesn't go by that study although some swear by it and added that maybe in the next few years it will be decided to be the best method to use. All the vets in his office do keep up to date with feline diabetes and go by other studies by vet here in the states. He said I shouldn't skip a dose as Dashers body needs to acclimate to the dose, I have no idea what he's really talking about but I'm sticking with the 1U no question asked.
Dasher is my cat and with all of your help here I with your help will decide the best treatment. I hope I don't drive you all crazy with my questions and if my panic is a false alarm.
I think I've finally come to terms with his diabetics and am no longer in denial, I think we're going to be ok.
Thank you!
 
So at +7 1/2 he's at 61 , I will check at the +10 and +12 and hope it starts going up. What do I do if its under 150 for his PSPM? Shoot , don't shoot?
 
As far as I know, the Rand/Roomp is the only dosing protocol for using Lantus with diabetic cats that has been published in a professional veterinary journal. I'm wondering what your vets use - I'd be curious if they tell you, please share it.

You're being smart to do what the data is telling you. YOu can see for yourself how Dasher's body is responding to the insulin and can well imagine what might happen if you'd stayed at too high of a dose.

He's early enough now that he may rise quite a bit by pmps. It can be helpful if you are able to get a +11.5 or so. Then if you have any doubt about what to do with the dose, there is time for you to post and hopefully someone will see it in time to help you.

Right now you can see that he's only moved a few points in 3 hrs - which is great. He's in a good range - a cat's pancreas can heal when they are in the 50-120 range. I'd recheck him in another hour just to make sure he's not dropping below 50.

You're doing great, Robin.
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
As far as I know, the Rand/Roomp is the only dosing protocol for using Lantus with diabetic cats that has been published in a professional veterinary journal. I'm wondering what your vets use - I'd be curious if they tell you, please share it.


You're doing great, Robin.

He said that all three vets in the office attend yearly conferences at different university's held throughout the states.
They attend them at different time throughout the year, the one vet attended one not to long ago and his next is in Febuary.
He said that they go over the latest treatments for feline diabetes .
 
Hey Robin, the vet that diagnosed Cobb went to some of those conferences too. She is the one that told me there was no need to home trst and that Cobb could stay on dry food without any problems. Many of us have been where you are with vets. We now drive out of state for Cobb's current vet. Thankfully when I told her his dose, showed her his SS and she saw the data with her own eyes, she trusted my judgment. She told me the I probably know more about FD than she ever will.

I've been following your condos quietly. You're doing a great job. Nice job catching that 61! Aren't you glad you reduced from 3u??

~Suzanne
 
Robin, you're doing great! And Dasher's lucky to have you. Everything gets easier, although perhaps never "easy!" And this place is fantastic for helping us and our FD kitties. I'm so glad you found Lantus Land.

Marilyn and Polly
 
keeping with in the spirit of posts being subject to peer review,
copying my response to robin's PM here:


oh, robin. i'm sorry. i've been away from the computer. just seeing this now.
is it shot time yet? if not, how long before pmps? i see a +10 of 84 on dasher's ss. nice cycle!
 
Jill & Alex (GA) said:
keeping with in the spirit of posts being subject to peer review,
copying my response to robin's PM here:


oh, robin. i'm sorry. i've been away from the computer. just seeing this now.
is it shot time yet? if not, how long before pmps? i see a +10 of 84 on dasher's ss. nice cycle!
He' due in one hour, I'll take another BG right before shot time , I'm confused on if I should give the shot or not, I haven't in two night now .
 
unless dasher is close to 200 at shot time, i would skip tonight's shot. you're too new at this to have to worry about dropping numbers all night.

if you have to skip another shot tonight it would make sense to me to reduce dasher's dose in the morning. if i were in your shoes i would reduce to 0.5 unit in hopes the reduction would allow me to give two 0.5u shots (12 hours apart) everyday.

that's what i think, but you hold the syringe. ultimately, all decisions are yours. we'll help and support whatever you want to do.
what do you think? does reducing the dose so you can shoot twice a day make sense to you?
 
So just go half way to the 1u correct ? My syringes don't have those markings. I will skip it tonight if it's not close to 200 and go half for the morning shot .
I know he needs to have the two shoots a day so yes. This is where I get angry at the vet , he told me to give the 2u twice a day after I told him what had happened Monday.
 
yes, 0.5u is half way to the 1u mark.
if you can get some syringes marked with half units any time soon they'll be a big help to you. walmart is one place i know of that carries ReliOn syringes marked with half units.

unfortunately, many vets don't understand dosing when it comes to the newer insulins like Lantus. :roll:
 
I will have to see if I need a script for them , if I do guess the vet will to get over it.
Seeing all this makes me realize just how far off the original 3u dose was.
Thank you !
 
some states require scripts and others don't. i'm glad we don't need one here.
yes, that starting dose of 3u scared me when i saw it....
 
Just wanted to stop by and say:

picgifs-welcome-2-566738.gif


I don't think Skooter and I have visited your condo before, but looks like you are doing an amazing job with Dasher!

The only piece of advice I would give, is if going to Walmart, tell them you want the syringes in the purple box. My Walmart INSISTED they did not have half unit marking syringes. Then someone on here told me to ask for the box with the purple stripe on it. So I went back, they pulled them out and when I showed them they had half markings, the head pharmacist was very surprised. Glad I was able to educate them on their own product ohmygod_smile :roll:

Wishing you and Dasher a great night!
 
No shot tonight as he's at 113 +12, its the same reading as last night :shock:
Will do the 0.5 tomorrow morning.

Purple box at Walmart, thanks Molly.
Sweet dream all!
 
wow. that's interesting that it's the same as last night.
the plan to reduce and shoot 0.5u twice a day is looking better and better.
have a good night. see you tomorrow...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top