? Dagobah and Nikita, dealing with low numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marie Dagobah&Nikita

Member Since 2018
Hello everyone!
I apologise for not writing more often.
Yesterday I increased Niki's and Dagobah's dose. I thought it was the thing to do to get some more blue, (even hoping a slice of green) ... and here we are! Niki was 58 PMPS and Dagobah 74 (she got some honey in the afternoon) Wow!
So I Skipped the shot (for both) I'll give a drop of R before to go to bed if they are back in high values.
The real question is: which dose should I give tomorrow? Should I reduce or keep the same?
Thank you for answering!
 
Hello Marie,

I do not see which method you are following (SLGS or TR) however if you are following TR:

Dagobah earned a decrease based on the 44 during the 5/10/AM cycle so next shot should be 1.25u.
His numbers on 1.25u did not warrant an increase as that dose was showing a nice green nadir on 5/9/AM. The yellows on 5/9/PM were likely a bounce in reaction to those greens. It's important to allow time for the bounce to clear, up to 72 hours. If you increase as the bounce is clearing you may be faced with strong downward momentum resulting in unexpected low numbers.

Nikita - I would continue the 2u as the 58 did not warrant a reduction under TR. Keep in mind that with Lantus being slow to onset, you would not have been shooting at that 58, rather you are shooting at what his BG will be when the Lantus onset occurs which for most kitties is +2 or +3.

I'm not sure why for some cells on the ss I see color but no BG values...
 
@Sandy and Black Kitty, thanks very much for the analysis! I see @Marie Dagobah&Nikita has followed your advice.

Just to make sure I got it right:

- raising Dagobah's dose was premature, we should have stuck with it because we saw green
- for Nikita, we could have shot the 58, or stalled without feeding to get a shootable number

Correct?

(FWIW not seeing the SS problem you have, all coloured cells have values for me)
 
@Sandy and Black Kitty, thanks very much for the analysis! I see @Marie Dagobah&Nikita has followed your advice.

Just to make sure I got it right:

- raising Dagobah's dose was premature, we should have stuck with it because we saw green
- for Nikita, we could have shot the 58, or stalled without feeding to get a shootable number

Correct?

(FWIW not seeing the SS problem you have, all coloured cells have values for me)

Correct :cool:
For Dagobah, the TR guidelines regarding increasing/holding a dose:

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
For Nikita, in general 58 is a PS you can shoot, provided you are data ready.
When faced with your first green PS its prudent to stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall.
And yes, 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.

Regarding the ss, I am now on my laptop and can see there is text in the pink cells however it does not contrast well; on my phone they appear empty. Black would be a better color choice for the font.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top