Cyrus' #'s since starting insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

heatherj932

Member Since 2010
Hello,

I will be doing the spreadsheet this wknd, but till then, here is a look at Cyrus' #'s. I am going to do my best to put it in the right format.

6/6: amPS 296 1 u
+1 279

6/7: pmPS 292 1 u
+3 280

6/8: pmPS 313 2 u (2 u at the advice of my vet)
+3 260

6/9: amPS 182 NO insulin given
6/9: pmPS 261 1 u
+2 239

6/10: amPS 252 NO insulin given
6/10: pmPS 286 1 u

I do realize that I am not consistent-I am trying to get on a schedule....I was just too scared to give the insulin when his bg was 250 or lower. By looking at the #'s, do you guys think that its best to go with .5 u BID? right now, it is so sporatic, I really want to get on a schedule for my own sanity as well.

Any advice is welcome, as always!!

Heather & Cyrus
 
I think, from his numbers, that he will be fine on 1u bid - meaning that he won't go too low. 1u may not be the best dose, he may need more, but it should be safe given down to 200 - and probably lower. The day you had 182 in the morning was after the 2u the night before, so it looks like he got some good response there - I just don't like to see 2u as a starting dose. After a few days it might become too much. Better to work up to it slowly.

It is important to be consistent so that his levemir "shed" fills. Really, what is happening is that overlap of the shots is building up so that he always has some circulating insulin and won't be going from no insulin for several hours to a boat-load of insulin for several hours (as used to happen with cats on the older insulins). A nice, even level is desireable. So, you have to give insulin bid to acheive this.

What I am seeing, so far, from his numbers is that the insulin does not take effect much before +3 - this is normal. I pretty much don't test my guys before +4 because it doesn't show any drop (usually). Remember, I know my guys, so it is good for you to get some random early numbers. But now you should try for +4, +5, +6, etc. OK to do this on different days - like +4 and +6 one day, and +5 and +7 the next. Even later numbers will tell you something - like how long the dose is lasting. +8 to +11 will show you the insulin "wearing off" or how long he will stay at a nice even number before starting to climb again.

Remember, renal threshold is 180-220 and you want him below that for as much of the day as you can - so don't fear those preshots at 200 - or even 182. IF you are unsure/uncomfortable with a lower PS number AND he is above 140, give a half unit so he has something.
 
Thank you so much for the input. I am going to start doing the 1 u BID. Please forgive me, but what is Renal Threshold?? I am still learning ;-) Also, when Cyrus goes to use the litter box, a lot of urine comes out!!!!!!!!! I have to clean the box 2 times a day. It's not that he goes numerous times a day, it is just when he does, I cannot believe how much comes out. Will getting his #'s regulated stop him from going so much?

Thanks again!!
 
Renal threshold is the point where the body starts to dump glucose in the urine because it can't handle the elevated levels. This causes the kidneys to go into overdrive processing out the sugars - the only way to do this is to use water to flush it out. That is what probably what is causing the litter box "flooding". Most likely that will stop once he is regulated.

The process uses a lot of water so they also drink a lot and still can get dehydrated. There are other things that cause excessive urination, like kidney disease and hyperthyroid. Both of those usually show up in older cats over the age of 10. But a cat on prednisone should be screened periodically for kidney issues regardless of age.

How old is Cyrus?
 
Cyrus is 7. He has always had more urine than my other cat....ever since he was a kitten. But I have noticed that since he has gotten diagnosed, that it is more now. I am taking him to the vet tmrw for a check up, so I will inquire about testing his kidneys. I do feel really overwhelmed considering that my husband is also type 1 diabetic, so I am constantly watching over him as well....although he does take great care of himself. Things could always be worse!!
 
heatherj932 said:
Cyrus is 7. He has always had more urine than my other cat....ever since he was a kitten. But I have noticed that since he has gotten diagnosed, that it is more now. I am taking him to the vet tmrw for a check up, so I will inquire about testing his kidneys. I do feel really overwhelmed considering that my husband is also type 1 diabetic, so I am constantly watching over him as well....although he does take great care of himself. Things could always be worse!!

Aww Heather, you are doing a great job with Cyrus. I am sure you will get him on the path to regulation in no time even with the steroid.

So at seven he is fairly young. Tigger was eight when he was diagnosed. Unfortunately, back then we didn't know as much about diet as we do today and tight regulation was not discussed too much. The insulins also were a lot different.

So you are in Illinois too - it looks like Alsip is right outside Chicago. Sheila lives in the Chicago area, I live in Byron, Illinois, and Vicky lives in Quincy. Small world. ;)

Edited to add - please let us know what the vet says.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top