Curve day for Musette-off to a good start- yellow

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Every day she gets just a little bit better on her morning numbers, it will be interesting to see what today holds. As I wasn't expecting the day to start off in the yellows!

I also went through the canned food stash and marked the carb content on each one...Today she will get nothing but 9-lives chicken dinner at 4% carbs. Which I also just discovered she absolutely loves!. If this works like I hope it will then she is a 4% carb or lower girl.

So, just bear with me as I'm going to be using this thread as a way to watch her numbers today.

Amps=236
+2= 236
+4= 201
+6= 244
+8= 273
+10=275
pmps=359
+3= 242


Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Just answering the last post on the other thread:
So I guess right now I'll get a curve on her today, so I can see what is really happening with her on .25, hold her until I can change her food to a lower carb one on Friday and then see where she goes from there. Because honestly those very early drops, early nadir and then rapid rise towards the end of her cycle still looks like too much insulin, but then again I don't want her to continue to stay in the higher numbers. Man, she is as complex to figure out as Maxwell was easy...lol
They don't say, "ECID" for nothing! Jeddie and Beau are completely different and it is really hard to not use the experience with one to have expectations with the other.

See, she is still settling on that .25u dose. Like I said before, wait until there are no longer changes to the overall cycle to consider a dose change. If it is still too much she will start swinging again. I am not seeing that right now.

As for the early drop (she did NOT have today, yet) (oops, I see she dropped a bit at +4) that could be actually a late drop from the previous dose, so don't focus too much on that one component of her cycle.

I asked about food because I was thinking she might have had a big change from her life in the hell house and the shelter to now, Even with the 6-7% carbs over the 3-4% carbs from her last brief stay she still may be looking at a high drop in carbs from the diet that caused her FD in the first place. Although, from the sounds of it, she had a lot of stress in her life that also contributed to the FD. The change in both those things will probably make her a good OTJ candidate (knock wood, anti jinx!).

BTW, I fed Friskies for decades so it was what I went to 100% with Beau when I got rid of dry food and he went OTJ on it (after I switched him to lev). My feeling is that carb-wise the classic pate flavors are fine for FDs. I stopped feeding it when they raised the price recently because it looked like the PetSmart brand, Sophisticat, was comparable quality and a little cheaper. I don't know that you need to go to all Fancy Feast for her. I would be careful about feeding a lot of fish because of the mercury in it. I try to give fish-flavors every 3rd or 4th day because of that. These days I mix Sophisticat 1:1 with Wellness or Evo because they are so much higher in quality. Yes, they cost more, but I feel the better nutrition is worth it.
 
Well unless I order it online (which DH and I are considring) I have very few options here as far as what the retail places carry <sigh> Pretty much the big 3 Friskies (yep Maxwell went OTJ on it). 9-Lives, and Fancy Feast, as well as a few and I do mean a few flavors of Special Kitty at Walmart...Remember where I'm at the major source of entertainment is watching corn grow, and paint dry...lol. Not quite BFE (bum F*ck Egypt) but you can definitely see it from here. We are talking 2 movie theaters, 3 grocery stores, 4 if you count Walmart. Closest Petsmart or Petco is 250 miles away and since I drive an F150 pick-up and gas is nearly $4 gallon don't think I'm going to presuade the hubby into a trip just to buy catfood, and definitely not once a week...might be able to talk him into it, if there was a tattoo or a new bass guitar attached to the trip, but not to just feed the cats. :roll:

Fish flavors around here are pretty much a rarity and the only ones that get those are the Sugarcats, as one civie is violently allergic to anything heavy in fish, we are talking clear the room and peel the paint off the walls liquid poo. He does okay on the small amounts that are in all canned cat food but if it is actually labelled as fish flavors Oh So No! And of course he is the one that will try to crawl in your mouth after a tunafsh sandwich.

Yeah, Musette has gone through a lot of changes recently and I'm sure a lot of stress, first losing the only home she has ever known for 11 years, even if it was pretty much a hell house, it was still home to her. And from what I can tell only one other cat and no dog. Then to the vet's office for a week which couldn't be easy on her stress level either, since it wasn't even her regular vet. Then into foster care for 3 weeks with 26 cats, and still no drooler, then a plane trip and a ground transport of 6 hours, and now to a home where she is dealing with right now just two other cats, Maxwell and Lady Jane, but she is well aware that there are 9 others lurking just beyond the bedroom door, and an 85 lbs drooler at night. And before going into Don's care she was being feed Purina Senior Hairball dry food, no wonder she went into DKA! And of course it didn't help that her 2nd week in her new home, was the weekend of the 4th of July and my neighborhood always sounds like a warzone, between the neighbors and all their kidsand the fact that we are right inbetween where they set off 3 of the largest town displays, she probably wondered if she had been shipped off to Iraq. And now we are in the grip of that God awful heat wave. Today's forecast 102 with a heat index of 115, and since our AC is a glorified swamp cooler, in this high humidity it doesn't do a whole lot of good. One of the reason the long hairs are staying in the bedroom as it is the coolest place in the house. The only long-hair that is missing from in there is Angel, since she and Lady Jane detest the sight of each other. Angel is smart enough to go hang out in the basement on the cat tree under the AC vent. lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Well it looks like she found a color she liked for today, and that color was Yellow..lol But I remember hearing somewhere, and I don't remember now where, that a straight yellow day is sometimes the sign of a breakthrough about to happen.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
I saw this in your Profile where you said.....

How is food given in relation to the insulin shots? AMPS, +5, +10, +2 after PM shot

Food in relation to the shots is something you might consider. Try to feed her main meal and shoot at the same time you give her the shot. I think in the AM you said she sometimes finishes the PM meal at AM shot time, then you shoot a little later after doing all your chores etc.

Plus feeding two hours after the PM shot time probably should be revisited.

Just a suggestion and I hope I have all that straight. I know you have a lot of kitties to care for, but this one thing might help to give a more consistent picture (also try not to feed two hours before she gets either of her shots).
 
Okay to clarify, morning starts here at 4:30 am, Musette gets her first meal of the day at the same time she gets her morning shot at 7am. test, feed, shoot all in about 10 minutes. Basically the way the day runs is:
4:30 am stumble out of bed. Get caffine flowing in system, let dog out and watch him, Musette, Maxwell & Lady Jane may finish off the last few bites of their overnigt snack here.
5:00 Feed Dog & husband, make hubby's lunch
5;30 Kiss husband and shove out door, second cup of coffee
6:00 feed civies, clean litter boxes and do breakfast dishes.
7:00 Test Musette, feed Maxwell, Musette and Lady Jane Grey, shoot Musette.
7:00-11:00am Hit the school books, take the dog out 15 times so he can bark at rabbits, squirrels, butterflies and nothing in particular. :roll:
11:00 am feed everyone but the dog again. reclean litter boxes
Noon -5pm- clean house, study, work in garden and flower beds (weather permitting) Sometimes get a nap in, not often.
5pm feed everyone but the dog again. Start dinner, kiss husband when he gets home and send him off to the shower while finishing up dinner
6pm- 7pm hit the books, watch tv, do crossword puszzles or crochet etc.
7pm - test and shoot Musette
7pm -9:30 pm park my butt on the couch or computer.
9:30pm set out last meal for everyone and crawl my butt into bed and collapse for the night. I really shouldn't call the last feeding a meal, it is more a snack, but t does keep the 3 siamese civie boys from screaming that they are dying at 2am...lol.

So Musette isn't eating for at least 2 hours before her shots. She may have a nibble or two left in her dish when we first get up that she will munch on while we are getting dressed and the bed made etc at 4:30am but it is well gone before 5am, mostly I think she leaves those couple of bites so she can go hang out with daddy while he shaves in the morning...she's a daddy's girl. He usually has an audience in the bahroom in the morning, Musette nibbling on her food, Maxwell on the tolit seat looking confused about why anyone would take their fur off, and Lady Jane Grey trying to convince him to turn on either the sink or the bathtub so she can play in the water...she doesn't want a drink she just wants to pat at the water. (Not real sure she is wrapped real tight...lol).

So that is how my day breaks down, and some days I get to throw a few hours at the vet clinic cleaning kennels, feeding or helping with a diabetic dog or cat. On top of everything else in my day... :lol: Luckily since Musette has been here I haven't had to go in and run a curve. But they know I have two diabetic cats at home and have promised that I will never have to be in before 7am or work later than 7pm.

Ah the life of a Vet Tech student and a fur mom. Wouldn't trade it for the world.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
And my friends wonder why I'm always too tired to go out partying with them....lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
This was the best laugh I had all day:
Maxwell on the toilet seat looking confused about why anyone would take their fur off...
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Also, I have one of those cats that loves playing with running water - she is "not wrapped real tight either - she's depressed that I fixed the dripping kitchen faucet. (and now she is climbing the back of my chair).
 
Thanks Peggy,

But we had a little help from the Bridge on finding each other, which is partly why she is named Musette. Venita called me about Musette exactly one year to the day that Muse earned her angel wings. Muse passed on June 1 2010 (the night of), and we laid her to rest the morning of June 2 at 10:30 am. Venita called me about Musette (Then named Angel) at 10:30 am June 2 2011. The night before Venita called me about the purebred Himalayan in danger of PTS, I had dreamt of Muse coming in and crawling in bed with Maxwell, Lady Jane Grey and myself. At the time it didn't even strike me as strange that Muse would be there with Maxwell and Lady Jane, which would have been impossible in life because neither of them were part of the family while Muse was alive. But there she was acting like she knew both of them and they were old friends. Muse just looked a little different, smaller and grayer almost like she was a moonlit version of herself. In the dream there was a song playing that I recognized (Jon is also a bass player for a classic rock band, so I'm familiar with a lot of older songs) It was Send Me An Angel. And not the version that was played to death on the radio back in the 80, This Send Me An Angel was much older by the Scorpions. Muse in the dream was purring and her purr sounded like there was a soft voice in it sort of like how you can almost hear voices in a running stream. It was saying to stop crying, she was sending me an angel and I would know the angel by her eyes.

The next morning Venita calls with I've got a purebred Himmie that is going to be killed if I can't find her a home....Do you want her? Her name is Angel, but she didn't know what she looked like yet, but Rhonda (Ginger's Foster Mom) was going to check her out and would get pictures. I waived for a little bit until I saw Angel's first pictures...She was the same moonlit version of Muse (smaller and grayer) but the one thing they both shared were their eyes...Musette has Muse's same aqua blue eyes. Now I have 3 other siamese, they all have very silvery blue eyes, Muse and now Musette are the only ones that have/had these pure sky blue eyes. Well that sealed the deal...Musette was mine.

Then several days later Venita sends me Musette's past vet records...Musette was born on Oct 25, 1999...I adopted Muse October 25, 2005. And since Musette has come to live with us, while I still remember Muse, and still miss her, I don't feel like she is missing, the gaping wound in my heart just seems to have disappeared. I can now look at pictures at Muse and not fall apart, the tears aren't just a heartbeat away at her memories, I can look back at our time together and smile now. I see a lot of Muse in Musette, little things in the way she carries herself, funny little things she does like patting my face when she wants me to wake up in the morning etc.

I would love to know what Musette's pedigree looks like, although I will never know that since I only have what I have on her vet records but I do know that Muse was a purebred, and that she was a show cat and was bred, that she had in her lifetime 9 daughters and Musette's age and birthdate would be in the time frame for her to possibly be in some way related to Muse. Unfortunately I have no way of ever finding out, as Muse's breeders die in Katrina, and well Musette's last owner I doubt would care to give me any information about her if they didn't care enough about Musette to try to treat her diabetes.

I've had a lot of Himalayans over the years but it just seems odd that these two are the only ones that I have ever seen with this color of blue eyes, I've had ones with sapphire blue, I've had ones with silvery blue, but only Muse and now Musette have had this aqua-blue like a summer sky. And both have/had diabetes, which can be an inherited disease. Just makes you wonder you know?

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Oh and if you aren't familiar with the Scorpions version of Send Me An Angel :

Send Me An Angel
------Scorpions

The wise man said just walk this way
To the dawn of the light
The wind will blow into your face
As the years pass you by
Hear this voice from deep inside
It's the call of your heart
Close your eyes and your will find
The passage out of the dark

Here I am
Will you send me an angel
Here I am
In the land of the morning star

The wise man said just find your place
In the eye of the storm
Seek the roses along the way
Just beware of the thorns

Here I am
Will you send me an angel
Here I am
In the land of the morning star

The wise man said just raise your hand
And reach out for the spell
Find the door to the promised land
Just believe in yourself
Hear this voice from deep inside
It's the call of your heart
Close your eyes and your will find
The way out of the dark

Here I am
Will you send me an angel
Here I am
In the land of the morning star
Here I am
Will you send me an angel
Here I am
In the land of the morning star
 
Wow, I just had a chance to read the rest of Musette's story. How coincidental on the dates! That gives me goose bumps!
I am so glad Venita found her just for you!
She is right where she belongs. And Muse is very happy for you too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top