Could it be?........ I hope. Update at +22

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlotte & Prop

Active Member
My 11 year old cat Prop was diagnosed with diabetes on the 15. th. of january 2011. Her BG numbers were around 360. On the 21. she started on 2 units caninsulin twice a day, at this time she was all on dryfood. I read a lot in this forum and after a week I changed some of the dryfood to wetfood. Within a few hours her BG was affected by the wetfood and the 2 units were to much. So I lowered the dose. At this point she was around 250 at +12. Just a week ago we went all wet and her number again went down to between 180-215 at +12. Again I had to lower the dose and only give around .2 units of caninsulin to get her down to around 100 at nadir.
A few times her BG have been under 180 at +12, so I did not give her insulin. This morning it was 138 at +12 (did not give insulin) and 7 hours and two meals later it was 119. Could it be????? All of you with OTJ cats, does it sounds like we are headed in that direction? Or could something be wrong that I have to be aware of?

I don't know how to upload a picture of Prop here, but on http://www.sukkerkatten.dk there is a bunch of pictures of her :)
 
Re: Could it be?........ I hope

oh yeah it does!!!
but you must be vigilant...never again a dry kibble, not even 1. test for a few weeks at her before and 1 or 2 hours after meal.
sounds like your heading for the falls...enjoy the trip!
 
Re: Could it be?........ I hope

How exciting, Charlotte! A non diabetic cat runs from 40 -120 without insulin. Here's hoping the diet will be all you need to get her there!
 
Re: Could it be?........ I hope

Sounds like you are packing your bags for the Falls, a short run of insulin and a diet change was all it took for Max.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang.
 
Is it possibel that she still needs a bit of insulin? Just tested her and she was 175 at +22. I'm thinking her pancreas are starting to produce insulin again, but still migth be a bit slow and need some help. I will test again at +24 before I feed her, should I give insulin if she is over 180?
 
yes charlotte, i think those higher numbers can benefit from a micro dose of insulin. eventually they should become less frequent. my tom played with those kind of numbers for awhile twice. once he did go otj for 2.5 years. next time around,,,becuase i got complacent and thought it was ok to give a kibble or 2 for a treat...he played with the up and down of questionable #'s and i did'nt dose and he got worse.
this is your most important time of testing tho if you do shoot.
i vote yes on the micro dose.
 
She is allready only getting such a small dose so it will be difficult, but I will give her a microdose unless the numbers have fallen at +24. I started testing her even before we started on insulin and she has no problem with it a all, so I am testing a lot and especially now when her numbers have dropped.
 
yes, by micro i meant .2 or such.
do you use the u100 syringes or u40's?
 
yes i see, it's just the time of her diabetes career where testing becomes even more important...when they are teetereing on remission.
good luck charlotte...i think you'll see it!
 
Haha I know, google translate is my friend too. Even if I know most of the english words, and have lived in Sterling VA, then words like pancreas have not been a word in my vocabulary :)

Thanks Lori and everyone, I keep my fingers crossed and hope the microdose I gave her is not to much and that it will help her pancreas to recovery even faster :)
 
I allready only give her around .1 or.2 and on that dose she comes down to between 72 and 90.
These are beautiful healing numbers so don't be afraid of them. Your diet change and microdosing seem to be just the right combination to get Prop's pancreas working again. I would continue to support with those microdoses until you don't see the higher jumps or start seeing scary low numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top