Charlotte & Prop
Active Member
My 11 year old cat Prop was diagnosed with diabetes on the 15. th. of january 2011. Her BG numbers were around 360. On the 21. she started on 2 units caninsulin twice a day, at this time she was all on dryfood. I read a lot in this forum and after a week I changed some of the dryfood to wetfood. Within a few hours her BG was affected by the wetfood and the 2 units were to much. So I lowered the dose. At this point she was around 250 at +12. Just a week ago we went all wet and her number again went down to between 180-215 at +12. Again I had to lower the dose and only give around .2 units of caninsulin to get her down to around 100 at nadir.
A few times her BG have been under 180 at +12, so I did not give her insulin. This morning it was 138 at +12 (did not give insulin) and 7 hours and two meals later it was 119. Could it be????? All of you with OTJ cats, does it sounds like we are headed in that direction? Or could something be wrong that I have to be aware of?
I don't know how to upload a picture of Prop here, but on http://www.sukkerkatten.dk there is a bunch of pictures of her
A few times her BG have been under 180 at +12, so I did not give her insulin. This morning it was 138 at +12 (did not give insulin) and 7 hours and two meals later it was 119. Could it be????? All of you with OTJ cats, does it sounds like we are headed in that direction? Or could something be wrong that I have to be aware of?
I don't know how to upload a picture of Prop here, but on http://www.sukkerkatten.dk there is a bunch of pictures of her
