? Could having upset stomach cause KitKat

I see how high he has been since the blue streak. If he’s not back down by Thursday, I would increase. Let’s see what happens. I know Thursday you will be gone for a while.
 
I take folic acid, wonder how much he would need. It would do me no good to call his vet, when I talked to him about this he did not know about the B12 with Methylcopbnalamin.
The Zobaline has 200 micrograms (not milligrams) so it’s a very small amount. @Diane Tyler's Mom GA what kind of folate did you give Tyler and how did you get the tiny dose. I always used Zobaline,but I recall you bought something less expensive.
upload_2025-1-14_13-51-2.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-14_13-51-2.png
    upload_2025-1-14_13-51-2.png
    152.4 KB · Views: 318
The Zobaline has 200 micrograms (not milligrams) so it’s a very small amount. @Diane Tyler's Mom GA what kind of folate did you give Tyler and how did you get the tiny dose. I always used Zobaline,but I recall you bought something less expensive.
View attachment 72354


Hi Teresa
I used to give Tyler
See below
the Vitacost brand another member told me about
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

Same as Zobaline , but the Zobaline is so expensive as you know
This is the same thing
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I bought the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and added it to the Vitacost brand
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up and add it, some members didn't even add the folic acid and the neuropathy improved
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up, I still give it to Tyler every now and then and he has never tasted it in his food , I always add water to his food and just stir up the methyl B-12 good
I switched to the vitacost brand because the zobaline was too expensive,
Even though the vitacost brand is 5000 mcgs and the zobaline is 3000 mcgs
What they don't need they will pee out because it's water soluble.

The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand .

It took about 2 months for Tyler to get back to walking normal, jumping on to the couch, running around
But every few weeks I did see a slight improvement
Some members didn't even add the folic acid to the vitacost brand and it still helped and the neuropathy was gone

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6


14.49 for 100 capsules

@Teresa & KitKat
 
Hi Teresa
I used to give Tyler
See below
the Vitacost brand another member told me about
Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 100 Capsules

Same as Zobaline , but the Zobaline is so expensive as you know
This is the same thing
The only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcgs of folic acid
So I bought the folic acid at the supermarket and crush it up and added it to the Vitacost brand
If you can't find the 200 mcg get the 400 mcg and cut it in half and crush it up and add it, some members didn't even add the folic acid and the neuropathy improved
The Vitacost brand is a capsule so just open it and pour the powder on the wet food
Has no taste, no need to crush it up, I still give it to Tyler every now and then and he has never tasted it in his food , I always add water to his food and just stir up the methyl B-12 good
I switched to the vitacost brand because the zobaline was too expensive,
Even though the vitacost brand is 5000 mcgs and the zobaline is 3000 mcgs
What they don't need they will pee out because it's water soluble.

The Zobaline is expensive for 60 pills, 30.00 some other places want 33.00
I used to use the Zobaline when I joined, then a member told me about the Vitacost brand .

It took about 2 months for Tyler to get back to walking normal, jumping on to the couch, running around
But every few weeks I did see a slight improvement
Some members didn't even add the folic acid to the vitacost brand and it still helped and the neuropathy was gone

https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-100-capsules-6


14.49 for 100 capsules

@Teresa & KitKat
Diane, that is what i buy, because you told me about it and I also had given it to Buddy for different reasons.
 
I see how high he has been since the blue streak. If he’s not back down by Thursday, I would increase. Let’s see what happens. I know Thursday you will be gone for a while.
Last night at AMPS he was @308 @1 hour 298. I usually do not check too much in the evening, but last night I checked @ 3 hrs and it came back @ 130. I knew at 11:30 p.m., it would be dropping a lot more. I gave him some FF beef & gravy, which has more carbs. This makes me wonder on some mornings @ AMPS, he is really high if this had happened before. I have noticed that he is not starved to death all the time, so I don't believe he is eating as much. I thursday I have appt., so on these days I do not like to change his dose.
 
I see how high he has been since the blue streak. If he’s not back down by Thursday, I would increase. Let’s see what happens. I know Thursday you will be gone for a while.
I have an appt with someone to talk about finances for Mother, who passed on 6/6/24. this is the only time I have done this so I do not know how long I will be gone.
 
I thought I did , I only posted it again because Suzanne tagged me above , My condolences on the passing of your mom :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I also bought the feeder you mentioned when Suzanne asked you about feeders. I only got the 1 with 2 trays but I wish now I had bought the 1 with 5 trays. He loves his feeder, he wants to eat out of it all the time.
 
Last night at AMPS he was @308 @1 hour 298. I usually do not check too much in the evening, but last night I checked @ 3 hrs and it came back @ 130. I knew at 11:30 p.m., it would be dropping a lot more. I gave him some FF beef & gravy, which has more carbs. This makes me wonder on some mornings @ AMPS, he is really high if this had happened before. I have noticed that he is not starved to death all the time, so I don't believe he is eating as much. I thursday I have appt., so on these days I do not like to change his dose.
130 is a safe number and you should not use high carb food to hijack a good cycle. He was having desirable numbers. He was where we want him to be. HC food is reserved for when a cat drops below 50. Feeding a little of the regular LC food at +3 would be the way to handle that situation. Then, you can test again at +4. He would probably have gone somewhat lower, but his regular mini meals should have been enough to stabilize him. As it is, the HC food made him go up super fast and into yellow and then later pink (this morning.). The more time he can spend in low blues and greens is better.
 
Remember that with Start Low Go Slow, his target BG is between 90 and 149.

It keeps the cats in reasonably good BG, which is better for their health, but it doesn’t allow them to stay mostly in greens…. so it reduces the cat’s chances of remission. But it is definitely the goal to stay between 90 and 149.
 
I lost my mom in 2014 to cancer, and I still miss her a lot. I am very sorry that your mother passed away!
My dad died, in Dec. and in Nov. I had just turned 17 years old. My Mother was 102 years old when she passed, but The hospital sent her to a rehab that I did not tell them to send her to. If she had been at home she would still be alive.
 
We will not be increasing KitKat’s dose right now. He broke the bounce last night, as I had anticipated, and with that 130 we will hold the dose — so don’t worry about that.
 
Remember that with Start Low Go Slow, his target BG is between 90 and 149.

It keeps the cats in reasonably good BG, which is better for their health, but it doesn’t allow them to stay mostly in greens…. so it reduces the cat’s chances of remission. But it is definitely the goal to stay between 90 and 149.
I could raise him on Friday
130 is a safe number and you should not use high carb food to hijack a good cycle. He was having desirable numbers. He was where we want him to be. HC food is reserved for when a cat drops below 50. Feeding a little of the regular LC food at +3 would be the way to handle that situation. Then, you can test again at +4. He would probably have gone somewhat lower, but his regular mini meals should have been enough to stabilize him. As it is, the HC food made him go up super fast and into yellow and then later pink (this morning.). The more time he can spend in low blues and greens is better.
It was midnight I did not want to stay up any later, if it has been earlier I would have done that, and he had already eaten his mini meals. I could not go to bed and leave him, and I had to be back up at 7:am to take care of him. I want him to be regulated, but sometimes you need to go to bed. I have 2 other cats also that I take care of (1 of them is the cat who bite the calf of my leg). I can change his dose on Friday, but I do not know what I am getting into on Thursday.
 
No. I do not want you to increase his dose at all at this point. His nadir last night was 130 at +4, and it probably would have been a bit lower at +6 last night, but high carb food was given which interrupted the cycle so now I would just have to guess at what his nadir would have been. So his nadir would have been pretty good, I think. This means we don’t want to increase the dose at this point. Let’s hold this dose for at least a few days longer and see what kind of numbers you get. Okay? I hope this is making sense.
 
Oh, and I think it’s an excellent sign that he’s not starving all the time like before. He’s in better numbers and that allows his body to make better use of the nutrients in his food. KitKat is making progress.
 
I could raise him on Friday

It was midnight I did not want to stay up any later, if it has been earlier I would have done that, and he had already eaten his mini meals. I could not go to bed and leave him, and I had to be back up at 7:am to take care of him. I want him to be regulated, but sometimes you need to go to bed. I have 2 other cats also that I take care of (1 of them is the cat who bite the calf of my leg). I can change his dose on Friday, but I do not know what I am getting into on Thursday.
I totally understand about it being late. It really was not a criticism of you at all. Most of us on this Board have done the same thing during a night time cycle when our cats were new to lower numbers and we didn’t have a good idea of how things would go from there. We are afraid our cats will drop too low while we are asleep. I just wanted to say that, in the future, a better way to handle it would be with low carb food (although you can experiment with foods up to 9 percent carbs and sometimes that helps - every cat is different. Hopefully, the next time he has a cycle like last night it will be in the a.m. cycle and you will be able to give LC food and see if it helps to stabilize his numbers. He’s only recently been getting the better numbers so I totally understand.
 
My dad died, in Dec. and in Nov. I had just turned 17 years old. My Mother was 102 years old when she passed, but The hospital sent her to a rehab that I did not tell them to send her to. If she had been at home she would still be alive.
Oh, I am sorry you lost your father when you were only 17. And it’s very sad that your mother died in a Rehab facility. I hate those places. I do not think they take very good care of our loved ones (my experience with my mother in one of those places for a time was horrible.). I would have thought you would have had to sign papers for your mother to be admitted to the rehab facility. I am very sorry. She lived a very long life. 102!
 
Teresa, please update your spreadsheet as soon as you can. I hope your meeting today went smoothly. There’s no data on his spreadsheet since yesterday morning. Also, please let me know that you saw my last several messages from yesterday evening - especially about not increasing the dose yet.
 
Teresa, please update your spreadsheet as soon as you can. I hope your meeting today went smoothly. There’s no data on his spreadsheet since yesterday morning. Also, please let me know that you saw my last several messages from yesterday evening - especially about not increasing the dose yet.
This morning he started to eat so I gave him his shot and all he did was take a couple bites after that. I spent all day trying to get him to eat, I gave him some cerenia and he still did not eat. i have thrown out a lot of food today. I called and rescheduled my appt. until tomorrow afternoon. I remembered some anti-inflammatory I had for his tooth, so I gave him some and i hope it helped. His numbers are high, especially since he did not eat much.
 
This morning he started to eat so I gave him his shot and all he did was take a couple bites after that. I spent all day trying to get him to eat, I gave him some cerenia and he still did not eat. i have thrown out a lot of food today. I called and rescheduled my appt. until tomorrow afternoon. I remembered some anti-inflammatory I had for his tooth, so I gave him some and i hope it helped. His numbers are high, especially since he did not eat much.
I forgot I have an appt on Monday at the hospital.
 
What I really want to know is what kind of numbers he had today? Was he high? Perhaps bouncing from the blues last night? I am really hoping he didn’t bounce at all.
Yes, I did. I think he is getting into lower numbers because he is not eating as much because of his tooth. I changed my app. today to tomorrow and I have an appt on Monday.
 
Teresa, please update your spreadsheet as soon as you can. I hope your meeting today went smoothly. There’s no data on his spreadsheet since yesterday morning. Also, please let me know that you saw my last several messages from yesterday evening - especially about not increasing the dose yet.
Yes, I saw your message. I do not know about increasing his dose yet either, because he is not wanting to eat. I made an appt. with his vet for Tuesday afternoon. I want to find out what is going on.
 
Oh, I am sorry you lost your father when you were only 17. And it’s very sad that your mother died in a Rehab facility. I hate those places. I do not think they take very good care of our loved ones (my experience with my mother in one of those places for a time was horrible.). I would have thought you would have had to sign papers for your mother to be admitted to the rehab facility. I am very sorry. She lived a very long life. 102!
Really, she died at hospice, but she was only there over night and she passed. No, one thought she was as old as she was. Most of the time she was pretty alert and she got up and around. She was supposed to use her walker, but she would park it and walk by her self. That is what happened, she parked her walker and fell and fractured her spine.
 
Yes, I saw your message. I do not know about increasing his dose yet either, because he is not wanting to eat. I made an appt. with his vet for Tuesday afternoon. I want to find out what is going on.
Yes. I am very concerned about his inappetance. If he has a bad tooth or teeth, he will not be able to be regulated on insulin. Poor KitKat. A cat not eating is always a bad sign.
 
Oh, I sent you a private message (conversation) for your address so that Lisa can send you the syringes. Did you see it? If you go to the top of this page and click/touch on your name, Teresa and KitKat, you will see “Conversions” and you will see that you have a conversation there.
 
Oh, I sent you a private message (conversation) for your address so that Lisa can send you the syringes. Did you see it? If you go to the top of this page and click/touch on your name, Teresa and KitKat, you will see “Conversions” and you will see that you have a conversation there.
@Suzanne & Darcy,
He has ate a small amount, but will not eat anymore. I am thinking about giving him a smaller dose like maybe 1unit.
 
Oh, I sent you a private message (conversation) for your address so that Lisa can send you the syringes. Did you see it? If you go to the top of this page and click/touch on your name, Teresa and KitKat, you will see “Conversions” and you will see that you have a conversation there.
I know what a Conversation is and where to find it at, I will look a little later.
 
@CORKY, your cat has had DKA, how was he acting. when you tested his Ketone's were they bright pink or Red. Kit kat is not eating and when I tested his Ketones they were between 0-5.
 
My cat had a severe DKA and was hospitalized for a week. I used a blood ketone meter to test ketones and I didn’t really use the urine strips because it was too difficult to catch him in the box.

Signs of DKA can include lethargy, vomiting and lack of appetite. If he does have ketones higher than a trace amount then that is definitely not the time to reduce insulin. Try to keep him eating before you go to bed. An infection can cause a cat to go into DKA. I’m not saying this is KitKat, but just pointing it out. My cat had a very high fever and a very high white blood cell count when he was admitted for DKA. HIS BG numbers were mostly yellow at the time.
 
Most ketone test strips say to read the result exactly 15 seconds after it comes in contact with the urine. What does yours say? It’s important to follow that instruction.
 
Signs of Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA)
  • Drinking excessive amounts of water OR no water
  • Excessive urination
  • Diminished activity
  • Not eating for over 12 hours
  • Vomiting
  • Lethargy and depression
  • Weakness
  • Breathing very fast
  • Dehydration
  • Ketone odor on breath (smells like nail-polish remover or fruit)
That is from the Primer on DKA note. You can read the whole thing here:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...and-diabetic-cats-a-primer-on-ketones.239971/
 
I have already gave him a dose of .50, because all he would eat was a couple bites. Whenever I have checked his Ketones before it said Negative, Tonight it was between negative and Trace. I gave him a shot 1hour and 1/2 ago. He will not eat, I have called the office where he goes to the vet and the vet I spoke to said they would get him in tomorrow. I don't know if I have any big syringes, i used to force feed Buddy. I am going to check.
He is not vomitting, he is not peeing any more than usual, I have not noticed him breathing fast. He is never very active, he sleeps most of the time.
 
I have already gave him a dose of .50, because all he would eat was a couple bites. Whenever I have checked his Ketones before it said Negative, Tonight it was between negative and Trace. I gave him a shot 1hour and 1/2 ago. He will not eat, I have called the office where he goes to the vet and the vet I spoke to said they would get him in tomorrow. I don't know if I have any big syringes, i used to force feed Buddy. I am going to check.
He is not vomitting, he is not peeing any more than usual, I have not noticed him breathing fast. He is never very active, he sleeps most of the time.
It’s just lack of appetite then for the most part. I understand your worries about giving the insulin if he’s not eating. I’m glad they will see him tomorrow. I will say a prayer for Kit Kat tonight.
 
Teresa. I believe you were taking KitKat to the vet today. What happened? How is he? His numbers today were not too bad. We can do better, but we need him eating better.
The vet did not say anything about taking his tooth out. I said is he in danger if we take this tooth out, he said no, I said do you thing he will be alright with the anesthesia, he said it would only be for 1/2 hour or right around that. I said well why don't we just go ahead and take it out. I told him this might not be his problem, but at least we will know it is not. On Tuesday, he is having his tooth pulled. This has a whole lot of I said.
 
Back
Top