? Could having upset stomach cause KitKat

The vet did not say anything about taking his tooth out. I said is he in danger if we take this tooth out, he said no, I said do you thing he will be alright with the anesthesia, he said it would only be for 1/2 hour or right around that. I said well why don't we just go ahead and take it out. I told him this might not be his problem, but at least we will know it is not. On Tuesday, he is having his tooth pulled. This has a whole lot of I said.
Best of luck on Tuesday with KitKat having the tooth removed :bighug::cat:
 
I have not seen a lot of SS, but I sure never saw one that looks like this one. Did he ever have higher numbers and did you ever give him more insulin than what he is taking now. WOW!
Yes on both counts you can see in pasts SS, as well as I am meticulous on what I feed him, and make sure every advice on dosing is asked and received. It's been a lot of work and dedication and Corky is a Champ!! just this morning i increased his dose with Suzanne's guidance, seeing that his numbers were more blue than green!, and thanks for the complement, I also love to see his SS over and over again, I want to keep him on low 70-80's if at all possible, your baby will get there also you'll see! I use to panic when I saw 150BG, now I panic when I see 125-140 like these last two days, Ha Ha!! Suzanne gave me the trophy of "Balls Of Steel", for learning to shoot so low!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Okay. Good to know. So they’re not going to clean his teeth while they have him under? Hopefully, they will have a careful look around to see if any other teeth are suspicious. Many times you cannot tell about a tooth unless they do a dental x-ray. Will your insurance cover his dental procedure? I hope it will pay something. I’m glad he will be having that tooth removed. I think he’s not been happy. Does he eat strangely … when you watch him eat, does he seem to turn his head a lot while he’s chewing?
 
I have not seen a lot of SS, but I sure never saw one that looks like this one. Did he ever have higher numbers and did you ever give him more insulin than what he is taking now. WOW!
If you look back on Corky’s spreadsheet to last year…. Or even 2022 when Maria joined the FDMB, you will see that he was much higher in his numbers. I have been working with Maria and Corky since she joined in 2022 and she can tell you that it took us a long while and a lot of messaging back and forth to get Corky to where he is today.
 
Yes on both counts you can see in pasts SS, as well as I am meticulous on what I feed him, and make sure every advice on dosing is asked and received. It's been a lot of work and dedication and Corky is a Champ!! just this morning i increased his dose with Suzanne's guidance, seeing that his numbers were more blue than green!, and thanks for the complement, I also love to see his SS over and over again, I want to keep him on low 70-80's if at all possible, your baby will get there also you'll see! I use to panic when I saw 150BG, now I panic when I see 125-140 like these last two days, Ha Ha!! Suzanne gave me the trophy of "Balls Of Steel", for learning to shoot so low!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
I looked all I could see was this year, but I had never seen any thing like it. You deserve the trophy.
 
I looked all I could see was this year, but I had never seen any thing like it. You deserve the trophy.

it was very hard earning it and lots of stress sleepless nights, sweat and tears believe me!! but now all I want to see Corky's SS to be in the 70's and low 80's that's why the increase was done yesterday, He's my Hero!! my everything!! if you noticed that's why I was testing him every hour, yesterday was not that great of a cycle "for me" but today is getting better! You will get there too trust me, it took 2 1/2 years to be comfortable with these numbers!:bighug::bighug::cat::D:D:joyful::joyful::joyful: We are all happy with his improvement and resilience! and blessed there has never been any other illnesses just FD
 
Okay. Good to know. So they’re not going to clean his teeth while they have him under? Hopefully, they will have a careful look around to see if any other teeth are suspicious. Many times you cannot tell about a tooth unless they do a dental x-ray. Will your insurance cover his dental procedure? I hope it will pay something. I’m glad he will be having that tooth removed. I think he’s not been happy. Does he eat strangely … when you watch him eat, does he seem to turn his head a lot while he’s chewing?
He did not say. I did ask him if he thought KitKat could handle the anesthesia. He said that it would only be for 1/2 hour or so and I could pick him up that afternoon. No, I never noticed him eating strangely. His insurance will not cover dental. I am the one wanting this done not the vet, he said most of the enamel was gone from this tooth. He did not know why. This may not be his problem, but I think it is one. On Monday, he cannot have anything to eat after 8:00 p.m.. What can I do if he gets low. Since, I gave him what he has for tooth pain I have noticed him a few times going lower. Today, he has went lower and believe me he is eating.
 
it was very hard earning it and lots of stress sleepless nights, sweat and tears believe me!! but now all I want to see Corky's SS to be in the 70's and low 80's that's why the increase was done yesterday, He's my Hero!! my everything!! if you noticed that's why I was testing him every hour, yesterday was not that great of a cycle "for me" but today is getting better! You will get there too trust me, it took 2 1/2 years to be comfortable with these numbers!:bighug::bighug::cat::D:D:joyful::joyful::joyful: We are all happy with his improvement and resilience! and blessed there has never beel any other illnesses just FD
Well, the diabetes is bad enough, but you have it under control.
 
If you look back on Corky’s spreadsheet to last year…. Or even 2022 when Maria joined the FDMB, you will see that he was much higher in his numbers. I have been working with Maria and Corky since she joined in 2022 and she can tell you that it took us a long while and a lot of messaging back and forth to get Corky to where he is today.
All I could see was 2025.
 
Well, the diabetes is bad enough, but you have it under control.
I never knew cats could have FD, Corky got me by surprise, 8 days hospitalized with 650Bg, $8,000. with a bag full of stuff I did not know what to do with and on top of that the Vet told me that for FDC his regular BG should be between 250-300, with a Libre 2 that fell off the next day and the bottle of insulin shattered on the floor on the second shot, and his regular Vet, had no idea about FD, 4 months on Banging it on my own, and having another cat Coco 1/2 Main Coon and an empty pocket, I found This God send Forum by coincidence, neighbors telling me to put him to sleep, negativity every where, but I fought every obstacle to get him where he is at today, and with the amazing members here that I trusted blindly, they are the true Heros!! they suggests, I do! Corky has not stepped Paws in a vets office since he left the hospital, so really, all the credit goes to this Forum and their dedicated members, I feel very strongly about this!:bighug::bighug::bighug::joyful::cat::cat:
 
All I could see was 2025.
Corky has different tabs on his spreadsheet for each year. If you look at the top of the spreadsheet you will see tabs for 2025, 2024, 2023… up here where I circled it…
upload_2025-1-18_14-48-28.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-18_14-48-28.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-18_14-48-28.jpeg
    53 KB · Views: 65
I never knew cats could have FD, Corky got me by surprise, 8 days hospitalized with 650Bg, $8,000. with a bag full of stuff I did not know what to do with and on top of that the Vet told me that for FDC his regular BG should be between 250-300, with a Libre 2 that fell off the next day and the bottle of insulin shattered on the floor on the second shot, and his regular Vet, had no idea about FD, 4 months on Banging it on my own, and having another cat Coco 1/2 Main Coon and an empty pocket, I found This God send Forum by coincidence, neighbors telling me to put him to sleep, negativity every where, but I fought every obstacle to get him where he is at today, and with the amazing members here that I trusted blindly, they are the true Heros!! they suggests, I do! Corky has not stepped Paws in a vets office since he left the hospital, so really, all the credit goes to this Forum and their dedicated members, I feel very strongly about this!:bighug::bighug::bighug::joyful::cat::cat:
That is really good advertisement for FDMB. I don't think many vet's know that much about FD, but they don't admit it. I had another cat with FD, he had chronic pancreatitis, so it made it completely different than with KitKat. I always thought it would be much easer with a cat that does not have pancreatitis. But, I did not realize they can have other problems, like a sore tooth.
 
He did not say. I did ask him if he thought KitKat could handle the anesthesia. He said that it would only be for 1/2 hour or so and I could pick him up that afternoon. No, I never noticed him eating strangely. His insurance will not cover dental. I am the one wanting this done not the vet, he said most of the enamel was gone from this tooth. He did not know why. This may not be his problem, but I think it is one. On Monday, he cannot have anything to eat after 8:00 p.m.. What can I do if he gets low. Since, I gave him what he has for tooth pain I have noticed him a few times going lower. Today, he has went lower and believe me he is eating.
Don’t worry. Let’s wait until Monday evening at shot time to see what his PMPS is and then decide if you should shoot a reduced dose that night. I am so happy to see his numbers come down today. That really does indicate that he’s been in pain and with the pain medication he feels better. Pain does drive up numbers along with inflammation.
 
Don’t worry. Let’s wait until Monday evening at shot time to see what his PMPS is and then decide if you should shoot a reduced dose that night. I am so happy to see his numbers come down today. That really does indicate that he’s been in pain and with the pain medication he feels better. Pain does drive up numbers along with inflammation.
He has ate a lot today, when he wants to eat he goes to his bed, beside his feeder and starts to hang his over to his feeder. He wants to eat from his feeder every time he eats. I will need to get ahold of you on Monday night around 6:30 p.m., I am going to check him early So I will have an idea what to do @PMPS. What he is taking is for inflammation I think, but it always helps his tooth (Meloxidyl).
 
Did you look at KitKat's SS for today.

Nice to see those blue BGs, see you'll get there, but patience is a virtue, I remember Suzanne's words that I apply to myself and other members, " take a step back, breath in and breath out, cats are very sensitive to stress and our feelings, we stress, they stress" this has been my motor!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat::cool:
 
He has ate a lot today, when he wants to eat he goes to his bed, beside his feeder and starts to hang his over to his feeder. He wants to eat from his feeder every time he eats. I will need to get ahold of you on Monday night around 6:30 p.m., I am going to check him early So I will have an idea what to do @PMPS. What he is taking is for inflammation I think, but it always helps his tooth (Meloxidyl).

Always test just before feeding, not earlier, numbers can change within minutes, we want to see true numbers prior to dosing, I shoot Corky while he eats, when I see half the food has been eaten, I just get behind him, pick up the scruff, and VOALA! he doesn't even know what hit him! We will be here for :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
Speaking of
Did you look at KitKat's SS for today.
yes. See what I wrote directly above this. Comment #122. Anyway here’s a copy of what I said :

Don’t worry. Let’s wait until Monday evening at shot time to see what his PMPS is and then decide if you should shoot a reduced dose that night. I am so happy to see his numbers come down today. That really does indicate that he’s been in pain and with the pain medication he feels better. Pain does drive up numbers along with inflammation.
 
He has ate a lot today, when he wants to eat he goes to his bed, beside his feeder and starts to hang his over to his feeder. He wants to eat from his feeder every time he eats. I will need to get ahold of you on Monday night around 6:30 p.m., I am going to check him early So I will have an idea what to do @PMPS. What he is taking is for inflammation I think, but it always helps his tooth (Meloxidyl).
Yes. That is Meloxicam probably. Meloxicam is a non-steroidal anti inflammatory drug used in cats. It needs to be used with caution, however, due to the risk of kidney injury. Be very careful with that as it is hard on the kidneys. There is a black box warning about using Metacam (Meloxicam) in cats. A couple of days hopefully will be okay if it’s a low dose.
Yes. I will be happy to be here for you on Monday evening to see if we think he needs a reduced dose of insulin.
 
Thank you. I have not even been to church since he stated taking Prozinc, because I don't want to leave him. When he was taking Vetsulin, he was taking 1 shot a day, I could handle that better.
I as well never left my house for more than 2 hours when his BG Was 150 or less and never mind sleeping and on AMPS/PMPS. If he was 150 or less I would bombard post after post now I shoot on low 80s I know how you feel believe me, he’s been in his 70’s And I have no problem leaving him thing change with time and knowledge :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Speaking of kidneys (per my post above #129 about the Meloxicam and kidneys) I will post here about steps that you will want your vet to take to protect KitKats kidneys during anesthesia. Also, make sure they do pre anesthetic bloodwork to make sure it’s safe before they start — unless they just did blood work within the last 30 days. If it’s within 30 days it will be fine to use that bloodwork. Anyway, I will post more later on this. I have to get out to the grocery store.
 
I as well never left my house for more than 2 hours when his BG Was 150 or less and never mind sleeping and on AMPS/PMPS. If he was 150 or less I would bombard post after post now I shoot on low 80s I know how you feel believe me, he’s been in his 70’s And I have no problem leaving him thing change with time and knowledge :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
I hope so.
 
That’s very cute about him going over to his feeder. Is it a timed, automatic feeder that you can also just put food in for him anytime he wants it? Wherever he wants to eat is good!
It is a timed feeder and i set the timer to go off in the next 10 min., I think he likes hearing the sound of it and watching it move.
 
Yes. That is Meloxicam probably. Meloxicam is a non-steroidal anti inflammatory drug used in cats. It needs to be used with caution, however, due to the risk of kidney injury. Be very careful with that as it is hard on the kidneys. There is a black box warning about using Metacam (Meloxicam) in cats. A couple of days hopefully will be okay if it’s a low dose.
Yes. I will be happy to be here for you on Monday evening to see if we think he needs a reduced dose of insulin.
He cannot take for more than 3 days, most of the time it is 1 day. But, i wanted to make sure he would eat on Monday. I never use it unless I call and ask his doctor and it is always about this tooth.
Speaking of kidneys (per my post above #129 about the Meloxicam and kidneys) I will post here about steps that you will want your vet to take to protect KitKats kidneys during anesthesia. Also, make sure they do pre anesthetic bloodwork to make sure it’s safe before they start — unless they just did blood work within the last 30 days. If it’s within 30 days it will be fine to use that bloodwork. Anyway, I will post more later on this. I have to get out to the grocery store.
He did have blood work done in the 30 days, at the vet I wanted to board. I showed to my vet.
 
I am worried about KitKat, going without insulin on Tuesday Morning. I am also worried about Monday night, how much insulin should I give him without having snacks. He eats better and more at snack time, but without the snacks if he goes low there is nothing I can do about it. It also worries me that his ketones are between 0 to 5 and he will not have insulin on Tuesday morning. @ Suzanne & Darcy,
@ Diane & Tyler GA,
 
The vet did not say anything about taking his tooth out. I said is he in danger if we take this tooth out, he said no, I said do you thing he will be alright with the anesthesia, he said it would only be for 1/2 hour or right around that. I said well why don't we just go ahead and take it out. I told him this might not be his problem, but at least we will know it is not. On Tuesday, he is having his tooth pulled. This has a whole lot of I said.
I am worried about Kit Kat on monday night. He is not supposed to eat after 8pm, he does most of his eating after meal time at snack time. If he gets low I have nothing I can do. I am worried about his Ketone's being between 0-5, and him not having insulin on Monday morning. Let me know what i should do on Monday night about the insulin, he has been wanting to eat for several hours and it is to early to feed him. What am I going to do on Monday night when he is hungry and I can't feed him, I am really worried about the insulin. Please let me know what you think.
 
I am worried about Kit Kat on monday night. He is not supposed to eat after 8pm, he does most of his eating after meal time at snack time. If he gets low I have nothing I can do. I am worried about his Ketone's being between 0-5, and him not having insulin on Monday morning. Let me know what i should do on Monday night about the insulin, he has been wanting to eat for several hours and it is to early to feed him. What am I going to do on Monday night when he is hungry and I can't feed him, I am really worried about the insulin. Please let me know what you think.
@ Suzanne & Darcy, @ Diane Tyler's Mom.
 
I am worried about KitKat, going without insulin on Tuesday Morning. I am also worried about Monday night, how much insulin should I give him without having snacks. He eats better and more at snack time, but without the snacks if he goes low there is nothing I can do about it. It also worries me that his ketones are between 0 to 5 and he will not have insulin on Tuesday morning. @ Suzanne & Darcy,
@ Diane & Tyler GA,
@ Diane Tyler's Mom
 
i

I am going to give KitKat his insulin 1/2 hr early tonight and 1/2 hr early tomorrow night, hoping I may have a chance to get in 1 snack. I do not know if this will work or not, but I am going to try. Have any ideas.
@ Suzanne & Darcy, I am planning to give KK his shot by 6:30 p.m. or before, if you would let me know a little earlier, if you think that I should short his dose a little.
 
And this morning before the procedure?
I don't know what you are asking about. This morning his BG was 288 and he had no insulin, the vet called me and said that he gave him some insulin. He cleaned his teeth and removed the 1 tooth, he said this just may be his problem because it is so sensitive.
 
I don't know what you are asking about. This morning his BG was 288 and he had no insulin, the vet called me and said that he gave him some insulin. He cleaned his teeth and removed the 1 tooth, he said this just may be his problem because it is so sensitive.
Yes. I was just asking if you gave any insulin this morning. Some vets say not to give any, other vets tell you to do different things. I hope he will be back to normal soon. I am actually expecting KitKat to do really well now that the problem tooth is removed! I see it all the time. I am glad that you pressed the vet to remove it. I hope he will eat some food tonight.
 
Yes. I was just asking if you gave any insulin this morning. Some vets say not to give any, other vets tell you to do different things. I hope he will be back to normal soon. I am actually expecting KitKat to do really well now that the problem tooth is removed! I see it all the time. I am glad that you pressed the vet to remove it. I hope he will eat some food tonight.
I did not give him insulin this morning and nothing to eat or drink after 8 p.m. last night. He has already been eating, a small snack this afternoon. I hope he eats too, he wanted to eat already a few times. Hope, he eats at P.M. The vet gave him insulin, while he was there. I was glad of that, don't like him going without insulin.
 
B
I did not give him insulin this morning and nothing to eat or drink after 8 p.m. last night. He has already been eating, a small snack this afternoon. I hope he eats too, he wanted to eat already a few times. Hope, he eats at P.M. The vet gave him insulin, while he was there. I was glad of that, don't like him going without insulin.
but I wonder what time the vet gave insulin? And what kind of insulin? A short acting insulin like Novolin R? Or another short acting insulin? Otherwise it really could mess up his 12 hour ProZinc cycles. He should’ve just have you give a reduced dose this morning. Did he have his shot tonight?
 
B

but I wonder what time the vet gave insulin? And what kind of insulin? A short acting insulin like Novolin R? Or another short acting insulin? Otherwise it really could mess up his 12 hour ProZinc cycles. He should’ve just have you give a reduced dose this morning. Did he have his shot tonight?
I gave him a shot last night, but my power has been out all night. I woke up one time and thought it was cold, but I went back to sleep. When I got up just a while a go I put his insulin in a cooler, but it is probably to late. I have a call in to his vet. i have had other diabetic cats that had dental work done and they did not have insulin that morning.
 
vet. i have had other diabetic cats that had dental work done and they did not have insulin that morning.
Yes. That is one approach, but certainly not the only way of doing things. There are new guidelines. However you didn’t do anything wrong at all!! I am certainly not saying that! You did great just to get his teeth cleaned. Skipping the shot will have less impact on him than it would if her were on a depot insulin like Lantus anyway.

What I was wondering was what kind of insulin the vet gave and at what hour it was given… because I didn’t want his 12 hour ProZinc cycles to be disrupted— because if they were… you would need to adjust his shot time gradually back to the correct time. Fortunately, his numbers are still high enough that we don’t have to be as precise. If he were in lower numbers (that I hope to see soon) it would be even more important.

Anyway…. Moving on today…. Do you have power back? I hope you saw my posts on the other forum copying the guidelines for power outages in ProZinc. Your insulin will be fine and you should not need to replace it at all. I will re-copy the ProZinc section below as this may help someone else in a similar situation.
  • Prozinc It is recommended to store Prozinc in an upright position under refrigeration at 36º- 46º F (2º-8º C). Do not freeze. Protect from light. Per contact with Boehringer Inglehiem Vetmedica- studies indicate Prozinc should stay stable up to 28 days at room temperature up to temps of 78 degrees F. Protect from light, store in box or in cupboard.
 
Back
Top