? Could having upset stomach cause KitKat

Teresa & KitKat

Member Since 2017
Kit Kat, numbers seem not to go down or maybe even a little higher. Could having an upset stomach cause this. He was spitting up and then last night he had really loose stools. Got different meds today, hope this helps.
 
Regarding the dose. You have held the dose long enough for is to make sure of nadirs. Tomorrow, please increase Kit Kat’s dose to 1.5.

Regarding the upset stomach. I thought that was perhaps related to Cisapride?

As I recall, Cisapride is a tablet. When I gave it to my cat, I put it into an empty, small gelatin capsule (probably a size 4, butI can’t remember right now, I would have to check my veterinary pharmacy stores and see how large it is.). If he is frequently constipated, it’s best to start with MiraLax mixed into food once or twice a day). I think I previously sent you the link to felineconstipation.org.

If KitKat is ill or has a bad tooth or teeth, that could cause insulin resistance. We do not know the cause of KitKat’s stomach problems, it seems.
 
And oh, no! Teresa, I am so sorry that you had an injury and were bleeding. Did they take care of you at the urgent care?

I am also sorry about your carpet. Believe me. I have been there. I bought this product to clean spots like vomit and even worse (like your mess last night)
https://www.amazon.com/Hoover-Clean...4050/dp/B098JYFGWS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

I used to use a Bissell Spot Bot for years, but I prefer this clean slate. I do have a small cordless spot cleaner from Bissell that is good and convenient for small spots like small regurgitations.
 
What are all the medications you are giving Kit Kat? Do you have any recent bloodwork on Kit Kat that you can post?
I took him to a doctor who boards because our vet does not, she ran some test on him that had to be sent out. She called me with the results, I can call and ask them to e-mail them to me. She did Senior Profile (order SA 705) what ever that is. She also did a routine Ultrasound Cystocentesis. On 12/26 his vet did a PARA Fecal exam & a Electrolytes panel. On 12/21 a CBC. He is taking Cerenia, but that is not long term. Long term he is taking Meta Mucil, Cisapride,Lact
 
I took him to a doctor who boards because our vet does not, she ran some test on him that had to be sent out. She called me with the results, I can call and ask them to e-mail them to me. She did Senior Profile (order SA 705) what ever that is. She also did a routine Ultrasound Cystocentesis. On 12/26 his vet did a PARA Fecal exam & a Electrolytes panel. On 12/21 a CBC. He is taking Cerenia, but that is not long term. Long term he is taking Meta Mucil, Cisapride,Lact
I do not know what happened all of a sudden the screen jumped and I could not type anymore. More meds , Apoquel, Lactulose & b12 Methylcobalamin.
 
Regarding the dose. You have held the dose long enough for is to make sure of nadirs. Tomorrow, please increase Kit Kat’s dose to 1.5.

Regarding the upset stomach. I thought that was perhaps related to Cisapride?

As I recall, Cisapride is a tablet. When I gave it to my cat, I put it into an empty, small gelatin capsule (probably a size 4, butI can’t remember right now, I would have to check my veterinary pharmacy stores and see how large it is.). If he is frequently constipated, it’s best to start with MiraLax mixed into food once or twice a day). I think I previously sent you the link to felineconstipation.org.

If KitKat is ill or has a bad tooth or teeth, that could cause insulin resistance. We do not know the cause of KitKat’s stomach problems, it seems.
I know his dose needs to be raised. Tomorrow I have an appt. with my cardiologist, that was made because of me being in the ER. When ever I am there, it takes a long time for him to come into the room and sometimes other things happen. I did not raise his dose today because of this, I want to be here when he has a change in his dose. But, If I cannot get out because of the snow storm I will up his dose tomorrow.
And oh, no! Teresa, I am so sorry that you had an injury and were bleeding. Did they take care of you at the urgent care?

I am also sorry about your carpet. Believe me. I have been there. I bought this product to clean spots like vomit and even worse (like your mess last night)
https://www.amazon.com/Hoover-Clean...4050/dp/B098JYFGWS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

I used to use a Bissell Spot Bot for years, but I prefer this clean slate. I do have a small cordless spot cleaner from Bissell that is good and convenient for small spots like small regurgitations.

If I go, I will change him the next day. Kit Kat has had problems many years with constipation and had had many enemas. This is not a NEW thing. Lactulose is stronger than Miralax, he dose not need something less strong. Cisapride might come in a pill form, but I have never heard of it. Kit Kat, has been taking this a long time and it has always been a liquid. I do know that his numbers were lower on less insulin. I thought maybe the cisapride had caused the spitting up, but I don't Know. He was off the cisapride & lactulose because of the loose stools. I started the lactulose back and waited a couple days to start the cisapride. I thought changing his food caused the loose stools, but I really don't know.
 
And oh, no! Teresa, I am so sorry that you had an injury and were bleeding. Did they take care of you at the urgent care?

I am also sorry about your carpet. Believe me. I have been there. I bought this product to clean spots like vomit and even worse (like your mess last night)
https://www.amazon.com/Hoover-Clean...4050/dp/B098JYFGWS/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

I used to use a Bissell Spot Bot for years, but I prefer this clean slate. I do have a small cordless spot cleaner from Bissell that is good and convenient for small spots like small regurgitations.
This cat that I have been feeding grabbed a hold of my leg with both of his paws, scratched me and bite a big huge place on the calf of my leg. When I went to the Urgent care they even took an X-ray of my leg, because they thought he might have lost a tooth when he bite me. He has scratched me before, but never nothing like this, I was cleaning out his bowl because he had frozen food in it. Guess, he thought I was taking too long. I was not worried about the looks of the carpet, just trying to get it up when it was runny. I have all kinds of product here to clean pee, vomit & even worse. Buddy, had chronic pancreatitis, then he got kidney disease and could not hold his pee. At one time I bought a lot of this kind of product and I still have a lot of it.
 
This cat that I have been feeding grabbed a hold of my leg with both of his paws, scratched me and bite a big huge place on the calf of my leg. When I went to the Urgent care they even took an X-ray of my leg, because they thought he might have lost a tooth when he bite me. He has scratched me before, but never nothing like this, I was cleaning out his bowl because he had frozen food in it. Guess, he thought I was taking too long. I was not worried about the looks of the carpet, just trying to get it up when it was runny. I have all kinds of product here to clean pee, vomit & even worse. Buddy, had chronic pancreatitis, then he got kidney disease and could not hold his pee. At one time I bought a lot of this kind of product and I still have a lot of it.
This cat that I have been feeding grabbed a hold of my leg with both of his paws, scratched me and bite a big huge place on the calf of my leg. When I went to the Urgent care they even took an X-ray of my leg, because they thought he might have lost a tooth when he bite me. He has scratched me before, but never nothing like this, I was cleaning out his bowl because he had frozen food in it. Guess, he thought I was taking too long. I was not worried about the looks of the carpet, just trying to get it up when it was runny. I have all kinds of product here to clean pee, vomit & even worse. Buddy, had chronic pancreatitis, then he got kidney disease and could not hold his pee. At one time I bought a lot of this kind of product and I still have a lot of it.
It is 10:06 am here and there is lots of snow, but I have someone outside shoveling my snow. I have feed Kit Kat and gave him 1.25 insulin and guess what, the docs office just called and rescheduled me to next Monday. i will up his dose in the morning Tuesday.
 
Okay. Be safe. Make sure your sidewalk, driveway and any steps are clear. Don’t go outside unless you have to! Be careful feeding the cat outside. Speaking of the cat outside…. does he/she have a shelter to protect it from the snow? What is the outside temperature?
 
It is 10:06 am here and there is lots of snow, but I have someone outside shoveling my snow. I have feed Kit Kat and gave him 1.25 insulin and guess what, the docs office just called and rescheduled me to next Monday. i will up his dose in the morning Tuesday.
I’m sure that put you on antibiotics for the bite. Augmentin (Amoxicillin with Potassium Clavulanate is standard treatment.). That can be very hard on the GI tract.
 
Okay. Be safe. Make sure your sidewalk, driveway and any steps are clear. Don’t go outside unless you have to! Be careful feeding the cat outside. Speaking of the cat outside…. does he/she have a shelter to protect it from the snow? What is the outside temperature?
I really do not know what the temperature is. This cat is on a covered porch on top, and it backs up to my bedroom. I have 1 house that has a plug in pad that comes on when laid on, I have another container that is lined with starfoam for insulation, and 2 large starfoam coolers filled with straw. The way all of these are sitting blocks the wind. I paid someone to clean my driveway and walk way because I thought i was going to the doctor.
 
I really do not know what the temperature is. This cat is on a covered porch on top, and it backs up to my bedroom. I have 1 house that has a plug in pad that comes on when laid on, I have another container that is lined with starfoam for insulation, and 2 large starfoam coolers filled with straw. The way all of these are sitting blocks the wind. I paid someone to clean my driveway and walk way because I thought i was going to the doctor.
I hope you will not lose power.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy, No emergency. I just wanted to tell you I made an appointment with the vet On Thursday, to see Kit Kat about his numbers going up instead of down. Have a nice evening.
Okay. Let me know what the vet says. I think we need to increase to 1.75 units, but only after six cycles. He is very accustomed to being in higher numbers (glucose toxicity.) We can bump him out of it. We have not gotten to his best dose yet.
 
Teresa, can you use some ProZinc insulin and some U-40 syringes? There’s a person whose cat has died who is looking for a person who needs them.
I just found out yesterday, that Prozinc is only good for 60 days after first puncture. I just bought some yesterday so I have prozinc for 60 days, because I opened today. I could only use it if I could start using in 61 days. Maybe, someone on the Prozinc site might be able to use it. Does Lantus have any thing like this. I don't remember because Buddy always needed a new vile by the end of 30 days. I just might have to change to Lantus.
 
Most of our ProZinc users here are able to use their vial of ProZinc for up to six months if properly stored in the refrigerator. Also, with ProZinc you are supposed to gently roll the vial on a countertop prior to drawing the insulin. I can’t tell you how many people on this forum have suspected that their ProZinc went bad and they went out and bought a new vial and the cat’s numbers stayed exactly the same! It should be good for four months minimum. The manufacturer just wants people to buy a new vial every 60 days. With Lantus, they tell you to replace it every 30 days! Of course there again it’s a human insulin and the manufacturer assumes that humans will have used up most of their pen within a month’s time.

chewy sellsProZinc for $120.00 on autoshipment.
 
Okay. Let me know what the vet says. I think we need to increase to 1.75 units, but only after six cycles. He is very accustomed to being in higher numbers (glucose toxicity.) We can bump him out of it. We have not gotten to his best dose yet.
The vet did not know of anything that might be causing problems. Just to make sure that insulin was alright, I bought a new vile. I know I said this last week, but I have an appt. with my cardiologist on Monday. I know he needs to be upped, but
Most of our ProZinc users here are able to use their vial of ProZinc for up to six months if properly stored in the refrigerator. Also, with ProZinc you are supposed to gently roll the vial on a countertop prior to drawing the insulin. I can’t tell you how many people on this forum have suspected that their ProZinc went bad and they went out and bought a new vial and the cat’s numbers stayed exactly the same! It should be good for four months minimum. The manufacturer just wants people to buy a new vial every 60 days. With Lantus, they tell you to replace it every 30 days! Of course there again it’s a human insulin and the manufacturer assumes that humans will have used up most of their pen within a month’s time.

chewy sellsProZinc for $120.00 on autoshipment.
My vet charges 93.50 for a bottle of Prozinc, he did not tell me about the 60 days. I was reading the papers that came with the insulin, because I dropped the bottle and it fell on my kitchen floor. I got to thinking maybe that I should get a new bottle of insulin to see if it made a difference. I do know to roll the bottle, when Buddy first became diabetic he was put on Prozinc also. Kit Kat was checked for urinary infection, he checked him all over and his teeth. At one time he was having some problems with 1or 2 of his teeth and one of the other vets put him on an antibiotic and that seemed to help.
 
Yes, I did. What are you confused about.
I think it was just that you mentioned that one time he was on antibiotics for his teeth/a tooth. That obviously was some time ago. Normally, antibiotics are used short-term for tooth problems and if there truly is a bad tooth the problem will return. But if your vet did a thorough job of looking at his teeth yesterday then we will hope that his teeth looked fine.
 
Right now, if his numbers stay in a similar place to where they are now (with nadirs in yellow) Kit Kat is on track for an increase on Tuesday, January 14. That would be after your cardio appointment on Monday.
 
I think it was just that you mentioned that one time he was on antibiotics for his teeth/a tooth. That obviously was some time ago. Normally, antibiotics are used short-term for tooth problems and if there truly is a bad tooth the problem will return. But if your vet did a thorough job of looking at his teeth yesterday then we will hope that his teeth looked fine.
That is true, I mentioned his teeth, several times, asking if that could be the problem. Yesterday, is not the first time I mentioned his teeth, asking if they were causing a problem. He did look at his teeth, he said his teeth looked pink not red. He is eating alright. It is time for me to give him meds before eating, back later.
 
That is true, I mentioned his teeth, several times, asking if that could be the problem. Yesterday, is not the first time I mentioned his teeth, asking if they were causing a problem. He did look at his teeth, he said his teeth looked pink not red. He is eating alright. It is time for me to give him meds before eating, back later.
Yes. I know we discussed his teeth before— because that is one thing I always ask people about because I always mention that tooth problems can cause insulin resistance. I am not saying that you did anything wrong or that you withheld information or anything like that!
 
I should have mentioned this before, but you need to set up a 2025 tab on your spreadsheet. You were having health problems at the beginning of the year and I didn’t want to mention it, but today is the 10th and it’s going to start getting difficult.

Here are the instructions that were posted on this ProZinc forum.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ase-move-your-2025-ss-tab-to-the-left.297119/
I will get this done, it may be tomorrow or tonight.
 
Yes. I know we discussed his teeth before— because that is one thing I always ask people about because I always mention that tooth problems can cause insulin resistance. I am not saying that you did anything wrong or that you withheld information or anything like that!
KitKat, has had problems with 1 of his fangs especially, seems like he had most of his problems when he was eating Royal Canin. I really don't remember exactly when it was. I looked at that tooth and it is pink in the gums and I do remember it being bright red. So, I don't know. At one time I was not feeding him a lot because he had been on a diet, but that was before I started giving him insulin. I do know that I am feeding him more because I am giving him snacks 2 hrs. & 4 hrs. after taking his insulin. I also am giving him more food for meals. I will be raising his dose every Tuesday until gets where he needs to be. Where exactly does he need to be.
 
Hi Teresa. Do you need the U-40 syringes I asked you about? I know you just bought new ProZinc so you are okay on insulin.

Since you are following SLGS, we are looking for Kit Kat to have nadirs between 90 and 149. That would be our first goal. After that, we can decide if it’s in Kit Kat’s best interest to get him into more green numbers.
 
Hi Teresa. Do you need the U-40 syringes I asked you about? I know you just bought new ProZinc so you are okay on insulin.

Since you are following SLGS, we are looking for Kit Kat to have nadirs between 90 and 149. That would be our first goal. After that, we can decide if it’s in Kit Kat’s best interest to get him into more green numbers.
Can you believe this he had a nadir of 138 today. I am on auto supply with a company for syringes, however I can take them because I might like them better than what I am now getting. The ones I am getting have a longer needle than I like. If they need money for shipping, I do not have paypal, we would need to figure something else out. I read some where, if they had flat numbers all the time, they were regulated.
 
Can you believe this he had a nadir of 138 today. I am on auto supply with a company for syringes, however I can take them because I might like them better than what I am now getting. The ones I am getting have a longer needle than I like. If they need money for shipping, I do not have paypal, we would need to figure something else out. I read some where, if they had flat numbers all the time, they were regulated.
I think I like the way blue looks, more than green.
 
That is so great to have a nice string of blue numbers today! I’m really pleased! We still need to strive for getting him more between 90 and 149 for a longer period of time, but this is just great! I would hold this dose a little longer (in other words do not increase the dose on Tuesday as planned.). Let’s let this dose settle a bit longer and see if the preshot numbers will come down at all. Try not to feed after +6 so you won’t shorten the duration of the insulin.
 
I think I like the way blue looks, more than green.
With the SLGS dosing method, we would be looking for flat numbers that are between 90 and 149 — that includes preshot numbers. Some cats achieve this over time and some never do. It can take time and you would need to get used to shooting lower AMPS and PMPS numbers. That’s just for the future… right now I am really really pleased with today’s blues. We will hold this dose for perhaps 10 days or so (instead of 7) and see if KitKat keeps doing the same. I’m really proud of you. You have persevered through a lot of personal difficulties and still taken such good care of KitKat.
 
With the SLGS dosing method, we would be looking for flat numbers that are between 90 and 149 — that includes preshot numbers. Some cats achieve this over time and some never do. It can take time and you would need to get used to shooting lower AMPS and PMPS numbers. That’s just for the future… right now I am really really pleased with today’s blues. We will hold this dose for perhaps 10 days or so (instead of 7) and see if KitKat keeps doing the same. I’m really proud of you. You have persevered through a lot of personal difficulties and still taken such good care of KitKat.
His numbers have been high ever since Monday 1/13/25. I don't know if he is bouncing. I do not know when his dose should be raised. This thursday I have an appointment and next monday also. If I raised it on Friday that would give me all week to watch him close. His walking is getting better, it is still not where it needs to be, but I noticed him walking on his pads not the back part of his feet. I'm sure that sometimes he does not walk on his pads, but he does sometimes.
 
His numbers have been high ever since Monday 1/13/25. I don't know if he is bouncing. I do not know when his dose should be raised. This thursday I have an appointment and next monday also. If I raised it on Friday that would give me all week to watch him close. His walking is getting better, it is still not where it needs to be, but I noticed him walking on his pads not the back part of his feet. I'm sure that sometimes he does not walk on his pads, but he does sometimes.
I did just put his numbers in his SS, but they have been in the 3s & 2s, except for sunday at PMPS it was 446 and Monday Amps it was 465
Does he get Zobaline for his apparent diabetic neuropathy? It can help a lot!
He gets B12 Methylobalamin.
 
Back
Top