Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Oliver (GA)

Very Active Member
Things were looking up! I will update the spreadsheet as soon as I get to my home computer.

+6 yesterday 379
pmps 177 (Yeah!!!!) No shot
+18 599 2.5 U
+6 530

So it looks like he bounced from the 177 and the late shot. That might take a cycle or two to clear?

Wally would like a scale for shots as he is not able to consistently get on the computer when he needs dosing advice. Can I get some help?

Please feel free to add/subtract etc.

500+ 2.5 units
400 - 500 2 units or 2.5?
300-400 2 units
250 -300 1.5 units or 1 unit?
200 1 unit or .5?
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

I like conservative on this one.
I like the bg lines you've drawn. I think the doses should step down by .5 each time, so.(i can't copy paste with the phone!) 2.5, 2, 1.5, 1, and .5 from top to bottom is what I am thinking.
Really important is to keep him on a 12/12 shot schedule and convince wally not to shoot mid-cycle. I think he gets it now....the whole "wait a bit, test again", as long as he understands he has to withhold food during the waiting period.
carl
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Sounds good to me. I like conservative. I will remind him about the witholding food.

It looks like he might have access to a computer mid day when he is at his sisters. That would be good.

He was looking for your phone number, Carl. You might give him a call.
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Hi all- I'm at my sister's, and am printing off those posts from today. I'll take heed of what you said. I dose him 2 hours after I feed him, (every three hours, 2 oz. of canned mackeral), along with cat vitamins. If the times don't match, I pro-rate the food. I bought some bone-in chicken breasts I'm thinking of grinding. I think he may be allergic to chicken, but not sure. I know I need to try to diversify his diet, so thinking of trying a little chicken with his fish. And see if his facial lesion acts up. Gradually increasing chicken.
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Hi Wally,

The test, feed, shoot part is an important one. You want to test without food being on aboard for 2 hours. Food can raise bg levels; you want to be looking at a true number. After the test, it is good idea to feed and then shoot - so you are sure he has food on board. So, if you get to that less than 200, wait and test again - Don't feed between those two tests.

I know it can feel like we are not giving you all the information you may need. One, we forget what we have said in various posts to you and others. Two, we want to give you the basics at first so you aren't overwhelmed.
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Hi wally
glad i caught you online.
A couple of quick questions...
How long ago was costello diagnosed?

Your regular shot times are now going to be at 5:30 am and 5:30 pm, pacific time right?

Carl
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Sorry, I shouldn't have been so personal and self-absorbed in describing my situation with Costello, and about how he is all I have, etc. I have had great friends and great sisters, to help me. And I probably made a mistake getting Costello 9 years ago, when I had a full time job. Now I've been out of work for 4 years. I wasn't thinking ahead. But I also really wanted to get him out of that cage- humane society. So I have a lot in my life, and part of life is learning to deal with personal loss. And now I have new friends helping me!
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Wally
You have nothing to apologize for. And saving costello nine years ago wasn't a mistake. I'm sure he doesn't think it was.
Carl
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Yes Sue, I've been feeding him as you describe, there.
Carl, he had it briefly, last October, first diagnosis. But even though I only fed him canned, wet food after that, it reoccured about 2 months ago. Yes, 11:30 twice/day pacific time.
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

I'm hoping the chicken works. Too much fish isn't good. If he is allergic, we'll have to think of something else to mix in his diet.
carl
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

I've loved having him. He's been so much fun, and a good companion. It's only the financial part in the later years that I didn't consider very much. Still worth it, though.
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I thought the new schedule was 5:30am/5:30pm Pacific time?
Me too. When did he get his larest shot?
Carl
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

carlinsc said:
Wally
You have nothing to apologize for. And saving costello nine years ago wasn't a mistake. I'm sure he doesn't think it was.
Carl


Exactly!

and for that matter, the more this kitty city here knows, the better we can help so more info is always better :-)
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

Wally,
Before you go, check your PMs as I just sent one to you!
Carl
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

for now i think it is fine if a scale is needed for reference in this situation and no one is available for a quick answer to a question

(bear in mind that i'm not a big fan of scales and hopscotchy doses in all honesty. that's only based on my own experience though because i can't deny they have worked for some people. which, sitting here typing this out and thinking back to the nearly 3.5 years we were on pzi, it dons on me that Mousie's annifursary has passed and i forgot it! oops! 5 years and 1 month since her diagnosis and 5 years on fdmb :-) )
 
Re: Costello and Wally 10/13 Dosing advice needed

So Costello has a 512 at pmps. Flat today - even a little down since nadir. Probably a reaction to the low number last night and the 18 hours without insulin.

What do you think? 2 units or 1.5 or 2.5?
 
Hello ev1-
Costello's amps was 538, and his +6 was 482. I was going to mention he has had constipation for a few days, but I wasn't sure. Maybe his constipation is making it hard on his appetite? I went to the vet and bought cat lax, and gave him an inch of it. He threw up a little of it, not more than 10 minutes after eating the stuff. It has malt syrup and cod liver oil, and a few other things. I asked if it was ok about the malt syrup, and they told me too small amount of malt to worry. He won't eat the psyllium husk powder I have.
 
Some people use Miralax. You can get it at the drug store. I'll have to search to find dosage.

Did you get ketone strips? We are hoping for a test result soon.
 
He ate this morning, a little. I was trying to get him to eat, so had to eat soon before the +6. Thanks, I'll look into the miralax.
 
I sure hope he will eat tonight. If not, you should probably try syringe feeding with a watered down pate food. High bg levels +no food =ketones. Bad combo.
 
If he ate a little before the +6 then part of that number would be due to food which is good.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top