Connor - testing & dosing around surgery

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnancarolina

Member Since 2010
Connor is going in Wednesday to have 3 lumps removed from his right hip (fibrosarcoma). He's had a time with the BG levels but he's getting nicely regulated lately.

So, I wanted to make sure I knew what to do for testing and dosing for his surgery. I put this together and wanted to know if this looks about right or should I be doing something different.

Vet said he could eat before surgery (that's why I have that entered). After everybody has a chance to comment I'll be taking this to my vet to make sure she concurs.

=================================================================================
Tuesday
9PM - test and give normal dose (4.0)
10PM - final meal for the day

Wednesday
7AM - test, skip dose
- feed small meal
8AM - check-in at vet (take test results from last few days, high carb food and regular DM)

SURGERY
- need an IV for dextrose if needed during anethesia/surgery
- monitor BG levels during anethesia/surgery

After surgery - if BG < 100 give hi-carb food, else regular DM

3PM - pick up
- test
- offer food (hi carb food if BG < 100)
6PM - test & feed
9PM - test & feed
- normal dose (4.0) if BG > 100
- if BG < 100, feed and retest to make sure it's rising
10PM - half dose (4.0) if BG < 100 and rising


=============================================================================

Sound about right?

Thanks for looking at this for me!

Donna
 
eating allowed before surgery? confused_cat
I'm going to assume, then, that eating that evening post-surgery is OK too. My vet always had us withhold food both before and after.
 
I was surprised when the vet said to do that.

That's one reason I'm going to give her this writeup tomorrow so she can verify it.

I wasn't going to take the insulin because I think we're only worried about him being low, not high.

Thanks!
 
The only comment I would make is for you to have them do their testing with YOUR meter, as well as whatever they are using. Because there is such a difference in meters, the numbers you are told may not match up with what you are expecting.
When I took Shadoe for her dental, I left HER meter there and told them to test just before and after FOR SURE with her meter - they can do the same with their equipment but I wanted numbers that came from the same meter I use all the time for her.
She fasted from the nite before, so she was not allowed to eat. I would ask how come it's OK to eat. Maybe you could limit the amount, if you are going to feed because it just seems odd to me.
She also had no shot on the day of her dental and a lesser one after because her numbers were down afterwards.
 
Is this your list or info that the vet provided? Usually, there is no food anywhere from 8 - 12 hours prior to a procedure but it sounds like you're going to follow up on that with the vet.

I would want to be sure that Connor was being monitored for blood pressure and heart rate. There should be an IV port for fluids and/or dextrose (if needed). I'd also find out how they are inducing anesthesia -- you do not want him put into a box; you want a shot of valium or propofol (not ketamine -- there was a recall a while ago). Anesthesia choices should be either isoflurane or sevo. Make sure you get pain meds (buprenorphine or other but not metacam).

Test when you get home so you have a comparison for whether the anesthesia is effecting BG numbers.

When you feed, give food only in small amounts. Anesthesia slows gastric motility and if you give too much food, you end up with scarf-&-barf.

Some cats get overly stimulated by the anesthesia and pain meds. Connor may prefer to be in a quiet, dimly lit place. Most cats are just fine, though.
 
Thanks. I'm working your suggestions into my list & will send out the revised list later.

My vet gives isoflurane. She's pretty good - she's about the only vet who does laser surgery down here. I think she's very competent.
 
Thanks for all the input! I worked in all your suggestions and will take this to the vet tomorrow to make sure she agrees.

Tuesday
9PM - test and give normal dose (4.0)
10PM - final meal for the day

Wednesday
7AM - test, skip dose
- feed small meal
8AM - check-in at vet
- take
- test results from last few days
- both high carb food and regular DM
- my BG meter & strips
SURGERY
- need an IV for dextrose if needed during anethesia/surgery
- monitor BG levels during anethesia/surgery (as well as blood pressure, heart rate)
- please monitor with my BG meter
- please provide pain meds (but not metacam)

After surgery - if BG < 100 give hi-carb food, else regular DM (small meal)

3PM - pick up
- test
- offer food (hi carb food if BG < 100) small meal
6PM - test & feed small meal
9PM - test
- normal dose (4.0) if BG > 100
- if BG < 100, feed small meal and retest to make sure it's rising
10PM - half dose (4.0) if BG < 100 and rising
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top