Confused by Mookie's numbers -- help with interpretation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randa & Mookie

Member Since 2011
Hi,
Mookie has been on 1.5U Lantas bid since 11/25/11, but we didn't start home testing until 12/2/11 (5 days ago). There doesn't seem to be any pattern to his numbers, which I think just means he's not regulated, but I'm not sure if I should be doing something different for him. Should I be adjusting his dose already, or is it too soon?

For example, on 12/3 should I have skipped the PM shot because the numbers were in the normal range? His AMPS today was 486, which was alarming because I don't know what it means. I've read and re-read the stickies and the protocol, but I don't fully understand them because most things I've read seem to be written for someone who already understands the dynamics of FD. Maybe Mookie and I just need more time handling this, but I'm sooo worried about him.
 
Re: Confused by Mookie's numbers -- help with interpretation

Hi there,
Sometimes Lantus catches up and deceives us with low numbers going back to high. In my gut, I think you're having some dry food/increased appetite play there, and I see mirtazapine and bupe in the picture so my questions are:

1. what was the mirt for? is he recovering from an illness?
2. what's the bupe for?
3. are you trying to transition him off dry entirely?

You're getting a ton of numbers, so I don't think you're missing any sneaky lows.. this leads me to the opinion that his appetite is increasing and he's eating enough to combat the insulin. That said, I would still be inclined to hold another cycle or 2 to see if he's just about to have a good streak of numbers again. Oddly, there're times when a spike in numbers represents that the insulin is about to start working well. (The high before the low, so to speak)
..Carolyn
 
Re: Confused by Mookie's numbers -- help with interpretation

Zoe & Mookie said:
Hi, Carolyn,
Here's my introduction that explains what brought us here and answers your questions:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=57552

Yes, we're transitioning to all canned. Mookie has always been a "kibble addict," so we're shifting slowly.

Ok, sounds good, and good job! I'd say you're losing a little grip on the numbers due to his appie coming back and that's great news. Hang tight for another couple cycles, and if you're pretty sure he's not making progress, you can tweak his dose a bit. As he comes off the dry, be ready to jump back down the dosing scale!
 
Re: Confused by Mookie's numbers -- help with interpretation

Thanks, Carolyn. I'll assume when it's time to tweak, you or others on the board will help us.

Mookie's vet seems to want to control the monitoring of his FD rather than encouraging us to do so. I get a lot of "we can deal with that later" or "we'll check that in a week or two" responses to my questions. I want to monitor Mookie's health, just like I do my own. Another member in Denver offered to refer me to a new vet, so I've asked her for suggestions.
 
Re: Confused by Mookie's numbers -- help with interpretation

Make a list of all your questions, and write down the answers you get from your vet or any new vet you interview.... you know what things are most important to you and Mookie.
If you get 'we'll deal with that later' kind of response, just say no, I want to discuss it now so that I am prepared before tomorrow. And always ask why?
I think many times, those statements are accepted by the majority of clients, but there is no reason for you to be so accepting. By asking why and wanting to discuss now, you will learn alot about your vet. You may well discover that your vet is quite informed and has a great deal of knowledge and info to explain his/her statements.
 
Re: Confused by Mookie's numbers -- help with interpretation

Gayle Shadoe & Oliver said:
Make a list of all your questions, and write down the answers you get from your vet or any new vet you interview.... you know what things are most important to you and Mookie.
If you get 'we'll deal with that later' kind of response, just say no, I want to discuss it now so that I am prepared before tomorrow. And always ask why?
I think many times, those statements are accepted by the majority of clients, but there is no reason for you to be so accepting. By asking why and wanting to discuss now, you will learn alot about your vet. You may well discover that your vet is quite informed and has a great deal of knowledge and info to explain his/her statements.


Indeed that is quite correct. My Attie has been sick for about 3 weeks and it did get to the point that the vet said feed him whatever he will eat...just to keep him eating enough to not cause other complications that can arise from a poor appetite in a diabetic cat. As the vet put it, some things must come first and basic nutrition is one of them, we'll catch up with the diabetes faster if we deal the lack of appetite first.
 
Re: Confused by Mookie's numbers -- help with interpretation

I agree with asking questions and insisting on answers. Not only will you learn alot about your vet, your vet will learn a lot about you, too. My vet, whom I dearly love, used to tell me things like "Lab work came back normal, everything's fine" and leave it at that, because for a large number of pet owners, that's good enough. But I want specifics, and when I get a copy of the results (which I always do) some things are not necessarily in the normal range, so I asked. Now my vet goes over everything thoroughly with me, and expects (and even seems to appreciate) our vet visits are going to be rather long, because when one goes in, we always discuss all of my furballs, and a few of my friends' as well! :lol:
 
Re: Confused by Mookie's numbers -- help with interpretation

Yes, I agree with making a list of questions for the vet -- it's exactly the same thing I do when I see my own doctor. I also feel comfortable telling her the approach I'd like to take with Mookie, which I've learned here, such as home testing and dietary changes.

My sense is that she's not as well informed about FD as the experienced members of this board. She never mentioned hypoglycemia when we were given the diagnosis and prescription for insulin, and I only learned about it here. It's horrifying to think what might have happened in the week+ we were blindly giving insulin shots without any monitoring.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top