Concerned about wait to start insulin

Karrie and Henry

Member Since 2020
I am concerned about waiting to start Henry on Lantus. He smells like urine, he has accidents and he has what I now believe is bad neuropathy in his legs. I can't get the spreadsheets working - I've tried both the US and World and if I enter the numbers below they are highlighted in green which are low numbers on the spreadsheet. I will post on the spreadsheet forum for help with this.

The Meter readings so far:
05/13 4pm - 24 vet bloodwork (Got Covenia injection)
05/14 5pm - 20.2 still on high carb food
05/15 switched to low carb
05/16 6:30pm - 13.5
05/17 4:40pm - 16.1

05/18 7am - 15.3
05/18 4:20pm - 17.4

Thank you for your help.
 
Last edited:
I see the problem. You are entering the world numbers on the US spreadsheet. Enter them on the works ss. You need to test before every shot. Since you are feeding dry you need to follow SLGS. You can start on 1.0 unit if concerned with the numbers or wait a week for the food change to see what it can do. You could also start on a more conservative 50. Here’s the link to the SLGS method.



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
Thank you. I've forgotten about linking my old posts.I'll start with .5 tomorrow morning and will read up on the SLGS method tonight.

Edit - I found a different version of the template which has tabs. This spreadsheet seems to be working perfectly.
 
Last edited:
Karrie just want to make sure - has Henry been checked for a UTI? If he is having accidents, that could be a sign. Diabetic kitties are sometimes prone to those. :bighug:
 
Hello and welcome (from BC) with the new sugar kitty. Good luck with the insulin tomorrow, I'm glad you aren't waiting any more.
 
Thank you for everyone's replies.

Margaret, the vet didn't test him but gave him an injection of Covenia (sp). He said his bladder was empty. I will arrange to bring him in to have a culture done.
 
Ok - let me know. I did give .5 and was just starting to type his new post. I can easily give an extra .5 and monitor.
I gave the first shot at 6:40 am. No stress either way.

To continue on this thread - the AMPS was 15.4. I am working from home.
 
They're both on the West Coast so it will be a while before they respond. If a change has to be made, it will be with the PM shot.

Just a housekeeping tip for posting (from tomorrow :-) ) - we start a new thread every day and link the previous thread for continuity (just paste the link of the prev. thread). This ensures the threads stay current and don't become too long for us to read - especially when someone needs advice in a rush and we want to respond as quickly as possible!

Some light reading for later! :smuggrin:
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ
 
How much dry are you feeding now? I think it’s all Dr. Elsey’s dry. In that case the dose should be 1.0 starting tonight.

Remember to put the bg numbers in on the world sheet and then it works in the US as well.
 
I hope my spreadsheet in my signature is working correctly. He free feeds through the day and night but not a ton at each visit. I only have the Dr. Elsey's chicken formula out for him. PMPS is 13.8. Still go with 1.0?
 
Back
Top