Completely flat curve (low 100s) after LC wet food change???

Haha no I understand. It's helps to break up the bleakness that this diagnosis can cause you know? I like staying positive. 94 @ +9
 
Last edited:
You mean +9 right?
No change. She hasn’t risen as much as I thought she might. I think another test in an hour if you can.
She’s quite safe. I just don’t want her dropping back.
 
When I had PJ parties I always went to sleep inbetween all tests even the 1/2 hourly ones otherwise I wouldn’t have survived. I was always able to fall asleep and wake up with an alarm.
 
Holy cow, Kyo! What are you up to, little girl?! And Bron, you are a rock :bighug:

It sure has been a challenging 48 hours for you, Lauren, but things are trending in a great direction!

Depending on what happens, it may be worth going to the pharmacy and seeing if you can get some U100 syringes. You would have to use a conversion chart (it’s very easy) since ProZinc is a U40 insulin, but using U100s allows for tiny doses accurately measured. I did a quick google search, and evidently in Texas it is at the pharmacist’s discretion whether or not to sell syringes OTC, so not sure how that would go. (Basically, they would have to be convinced you are a concerned cat owner and not an IV drug user.)
 
111 @ +10, oh man it's been a long couple of hours. I honestly don't think she's going to rise up to 150, her shot would be due 2 hours from now. I think you're right @Jenna Josie I might have to go pick up some u-100s. I was thinking I could also get some from the vet but they know my ProZinc should be used with u-40s so idk how willing they would be to give me those. Ill have to check with my pharmacist, maybe if I show them my detailed spreadsheet I've been compiling lol. And yes, Bron has been with us for 2 consecutive nights trying to figure this out, makes me get all teary-eyed because I could not have done this without you :arghh: the lack of sleep is making me emotional lol. Well we are back in the blues so I'm going to give her a break to sleep for 2 hours (me too) before she gets her AMPS test and breakfast. And I'll go according to your dosing advice Bron like you said unless Djamila says otherwise.
 
Oh Lauren! You poor thing! And @Bron and Sheba, you're amazing! Thank you so much for being around and helping out over here! We've been rather short handed, and I really appreciate your pitching in. Plus, you're doing a great job with prozinc dosing advice! I agree that if she is under 150, skip, and over 150, try a 0.25u dose (if you can test).

I'm so sorry you missed another night's sleep. Just keep reminding yourself that this is temporary. She'll either go OTJ, or settle down into a dose soon. These really volatile periods are usually fairly short lived. :coffee::bighug::coffee::bighug::coffee:
 
Ugh. It's so hard to say when they're close like that. You're still under three months since diagnosis (cats are much more sensitive at that point), and her ears have got to be tired of being poked at this point. I think I would skip. If she ends up pink again like she did the other day, then we'll know not to skip again next time. ;)
 
Ugh man I know! It seems like either way I go she might drop on me. I agree with you and I think I'll skip for now and see how she reacts. I know shes hungry so no more stalling.
 
She’s likely to be high for her PMPS. Do you plan to go with a reduced dose regardless? We think about doses based on the nadir, but since with no shot this morning, previous nadirs should be considered instead. :)
 
Yeah, I was thinking I do the .25u and she how she responds to that for a couple of cycles without skipping (unless she reads green for PS later on). The last time I skipped and she was in the pink for PMPS and I gave 1.25u that seemed to be too much. And then .5u seemed to be a lot yesterday night, even though she was fine at .75u in the morning... Do you guys ever do a higher morning dose and a low night dose routinely?
 
Wow she actually stayed in the 200s, 284 AMPS. That's a good sign that she didn't rise to the pinks like last time right?
 
I gave Sam different AM/PM doses for a little while. Just slightly different - 0.4 AM and 0.3 PM if I remember correctly (too lazy to check the spreadsheet ;)). In hindsight, I don't really think it was necessary and may have actually contributed to the problem though.
 
Wow, good to know! You experienced members are something else with all the wealth of knowledge you have. My parents ask me all the time about what's going on with kyo and I forget how many hours I've spent online and/or on this board and still don't have the answers to everything. I'll be back with a +3 update, since that seems to be when she starts her drop.
 
I was thinking I do the .25u and she how she responds to that for a couple of cycles without skipping (unless she reads green for PS later on).

This sounds like a good plan. Hopefully she will be able to clear this high BG (from the no shot this morning) relatively quickly, and you'll be able to get a good idea of how she is doing with the .25 dose. It can take a few cycles for a kitty to "settle in" to a dose . . . something you've not had a lot of experience with, what with the way she's been running down the dosing scale!
 
Wow, good to know! You experienced members are something else with all the wealth of knowledge you have. My parents ask me all the time about what's going on with kyo and I forget how many hours I've spent online and/or on this board and still don't have the answers to everything. I'll be back with a +3 update, since that seems to be when she starts her drop.
Everyone gets to be experienced eventually with at least some parts of it all!!!! And remember, there was a point in your life you did not know how to give a cat insulin and probably did not think you’d be able to! (I know I didn’t.)

I was popping by and glad to see such dramatic improvements so soon!!!!! <3 :D
 
Aw thanks Alice! Yeah it's crazy how fast you go from overwhelmed to information hungry lol. Kyo just read 72 @ +3! I'm going to be monitoring her levels closely as she tends to drop between +3 and +6, will definitely get a +4 test and then go from there.
 
Ok Miss Kyo, remember what your Auntie Bron said,......no more swimming with the sharks:stop: in the deep end of the lagoon. Stay near the edge where your mamabean can watch you.
 
She is an eater man, she would eat most of what I give her. but since my sleep is so messed up right now I'll be up to give her some more through out the night. I need to invest in one of those times feeders I think. How much should I give her? 1/4th of a 3 oz can?
 
Yes a timed feeder is great. I had one for Sheba and used it every day because she was one who would eat it all at once.
Kyo only needs a small snack. I wouldn’t give her any at the moment if you are going to get up later.
But you must look after yourself otherwise you will just get exhausted. Hopefully she will settle down and let you sleep. Did I read somewhere that you were on holidays at the moment?
 
Is a small snack like a table spoon of LC wet? If so i'll just place it down before I go to bed. And yes! I'm on summer break from college at the moment (kinda, I still have summer classes). But thats why I've been able to stay awake for whenever she deems necessary, good timing because I've got a lot of free time at the moment! :)
 
Yes very good timing. Lucky Kyo. Yes a tablespoon of wet is a good sized snack. It looks like 0.25 units might be a good dose for her...... unless she surprises us again!
I hope you can get a decent sleep Lauren. See you tomorrow :)
 
Yes! I'm so happy we found a consistent dose for her! I wanted to jump with joy when she tested okay earlier! Great work everyone!! I will enjoy my victory sleep tonight! Goodnight :bighug:
 
Hooray for 0.25u! That was a lovely cycle. Also looks like Kyo might be inclined to be an early nadir cat. Sam does that at night too - his nadir is somewhere around +2-+4 in the evening. Makes it easy on my sleep! :D If Kyo keeps this up, you might actually be able to sleep too one of these nights! :bighug::coffee:
 
I picked up the u-100 syringes today and took a look at the conversion chart. Since Kyo is getting .25u of u-40 insulin that means that I draw up to the .6 mark on a u-100 syringe. I'm going to insert a picture of where I believe that is just for clarification but I'm 95% sure I'm correct. The green line is where I should draw up to, another eyeball but much less of an eyeball than on the u-40 syringes!
1958791730.png
 
She read kind of high this morning and I'm pretty sure that's because I wasn't getting that accurate of a dose from the u-40 syringe, I think I might have given her less than .25, not sure. But now I've reduced that room for error!
 
Looks about right to me. Micro dosing is hard, no matter which syringe you use, but the u100s really do make it better.
 
I got my package from DCIN today! They sent me a ReliOn Micro, she said it requires less blood. Is there any level variance between two human meters? Or should I be good to go with using the Micro to test for my PMPS?
 
They are the same brand and so should be essentially the same. I switched from Relion to CVS brands a while back, and I took about 10 "side by side" tests to see if there was a difference. There may have been a bit (IIRC, the CVS tended to run about 5% lower), but given that meters are allowed to have 20% variance (which is just ridiculous, imo!!), it really wasn't worth thinking about. It might make you feel better to do a side-by-side with the same blood drop, though, so why not? :) Just keep in mind the ordinary variance when they come up different numbers, lol.
 
Wow, I just looked at the size of the needle, only 6mm it's so short! Kyo is a short haired cat, but our last needles were 12mm in length! I worry that I won't be able to penetrate his skin! Anyone else have problems with this?
 
Ours our 8mm, and I love them so short: there's very little risk of accidentally piercing the muscle. I'm sure that after a couple of injections, you'll get used to them and they will be just fine.
 
31g was much less smoother to get into her skin for some reason...I had to push harder and I could tell she didn't like it very much. We have a vet visit tomorrow at +3 after our AM shot (1 pm), so I might ask them if they have different ones available even though I know it will be expensive upfront..
 
Honestly, I wonder if that 2mm will make a difference. After some research it seems like most u-100 syringes are pretty short as well! I just want to make sure that its being administered correctly really. I'll give it a couple more tries before I try the 8mm ones.
 
Sorry, that’s what I meant to say: that I think you’ll come to like the 6mm ones just as I’ve come to like the 8mm ones, which — like your switch — are about half the length of the ones we used to use. And I agree that 2 more mm would likely make little difference!
 
Good morning everyone, Kyo throwing me for another loop today reading 101 AMPS, I'm going to stall 20 and try again. I will be at the vet around +3 but I didn't plan on having them check her BG levels, it was just a check up for her recurring ear infections. What do you think, kind of low to shoot or stick with trying to get 3 cycles of .25u insulin?
 
Back
Top