Completely flat curve (low 100s) after LC wet food change???

Goodnight! I don’t even know your name! With everything that was going on, I didn’t notice. You both deserve a good sleep. :bighug:
I should have thought of that when I made my username! I'll add it to my signature when I get the chance later. I'm Lauren :) nice to meet you!
 
Something I wanted to point out, Kyo has only been eating maybe about 1/3 to 1/2 of her food when it's given to her, then I shoot if her number is okay (she was 197 AMPS this morning and I gave .75u) and then she will eat the rest within two hours. Do your sugar babies eat all of their food before shot? Is this okay that I'm shooting before she's eaten it all or should I start scheduling to feed her earlier and give the shot after she's eaten everything?
 
Hi *Lauren*! Wow, a second crazy night for you. I’m so glad @Bron and Sheba was here to guide you through it.

Do be sure to get a +2 this morning in case she wants to try to repeat last cycles’s shenanigans. My hunch is that she won’t because she will bounce up a little from the lows last night (+ the reduced dose + cats tend to run lower at night), but you never know, especially with the food change. That often makes a big difference, and it looks like that may very well be the case for Kyo!

As for feeding with the shot, the most important thing is that they eat something so that you know they are interested in food ... we give our cat her “shot meals” over about an hour bc if we give it to her all at once, she will “scarf and barf.” :rolleyes: 1/3 of can immediate after the test, then feed the civvie/draw the dose, then feed Josie another 1/3 can while shooting, and then feed the rest about 30 minutes later.
 
Yes! I will definitely be getting that +2! We had quite the "PJparty" :p last night! The drop from low 300s to 40s was SO CRAZY, I'm wondering if maybe I didn't catch that I shot into a vein or something IDK I always draw back a little to check for blood. It got me a little spooked to give today's dose even though the numbers were right. But I don't think skipping the dose helped either and so I sucked it up and gave the .75u this morning. I knew I was bound to run into some problems switching to a LC wet food while giving insulin. Still trying to gather as much data as possible to work out all the kinks!

Man, I'd prefer if Kyo would stick to some kind of eating schedule like you've got for your kitties! But good to know that she just needs to be interested in eating and she's always at my bed side trying to wake me up about 30 minutes until food time. I almost never need my alarms lol. Thanks for checking up on us @Jenna Josie :bighug:
 
You probably didn’t do anything “wrong.” It looks like her pancreas decided it wanted to do some of its own work. + the food change + nighttime + no insulin that morning + maybe the PS test was maybe wonky (though who knows? I would have expected it to be high, too, given no insulin that morning, though maybe not all the way into the pinks ...).

Point being, bc you’re relatively new to testing *and* had a big food change, you’ve got a lot of data variables right now, and so the best thing you can do to keep her safe is to test and be vigilant, just as you’ve been doing.
 
Hi Lauren! What an adventure! @Bron and Sheba, I think you made a good call on the amount of the dose reduction. Kyo might be high for a cycle or two, but I think you (Lauren) could use a break anyway. I would leave the dose at 0.75 for tonight as well (assuming Kyo is high enough to shoot tonight). Then we can take a look and decide where to go next. And yes to everything Bron and Jenna have said. :)
 
Just got our +2 test @ 186! I almost slept through my alarm for the +2, I underestimated how tired I am and funny enough kyo was the one who woke me up 5 minutes past my alarm :cat: thanks kitty, mom needs some coffee or more sleep lol :coffee:. Hey Djamila! Thanks for stopping by and confirming everything. I'm glad we've agreed on the game plan for this morning and tonight's dose!
 
Yes, I bet you *are* tired!

186 is good. If it were me, I would get a +6 (just to see where she is at her likely nadir) and then a +10 or a +11. That's kind of a weird number to get, but my thought is that it would be good to see where she is toward the end of this cycle leading up to when you need to make a decision for shot-time. I.e., comparing the +10/+11 with the PS test, you will have good data for if she's coming up and by how much.
 
I got in a couple hours and I'm trying to fix my sleep schedule now instead of waking up at 4 in the afternoon lol. But yes! Looks like Kyos levels are in her normal range again *fingers crossed* still keeping an eye on her with the testing, but I'm hoping we can both get some better rest tonight! :cat:
 
If she doesn't get over 150 for PMPS tonight, I might suggest reducing a bit more, down to 0.5u so you can sleep tonight. The last thing you need is another pajama party!

The fact that she gave you a curve today instead of bouncing is a really great sign of her pancreas function, but not a good sign if you want to sleep! ;)
 
Wow @Djamila you must be some kind of all knowing cat wizard, I'm so thankful that you told me what to do if she doesn't go over 150 for PMPS because she read 127! Will be giving a .5 dose as suggested!
 
What time are you going to bed? She will probably be fine but if you can get another test in sometime this cycle that would be good.
I have no idea what time it is where you are
 
I'm in Texas, U.S. so its midnight here right now. I was planning on doing a +4 or +5 check which would be 2 or 3 am respectively to make sure shes not dropping to low during peak.
 
Yes I can! And aw thank you, I try so hard for her! She's the best thing that's ever happened to me and has been with me through rough times, she's deserves that and more. Update around +5!
 
Okay, no problem. I'll do another @ +6.5, I kind of expected them to be on the low end right now since she's around her peak right? Are green numbers okay?
 
That's okay, I know we can keep it up and the longer we go on the more the insulin wears off. What should I do for the next dose? She only got .5u tonight
 
For the AMPS: unless you hear from @Djamila and she tells you otherwise, I would skip the dose if she’s under 150 and if she’s over 150 I would give 1/4 unit (0.25 units) as long as you are available to test.
Your little girl is on a mission.
 
Haha, seems like shes tired of the shots and the pricks and making her pancreas work overtime. Poor baby. My u-40 syringes are kind of hard to gauge anything under .5u, should I just try to eyeball it the best I can?
 
Do you have a magnifying glass? I used to use one all the time.
Otherwise just eyeball it, yes.
Looking back over her spreadsheet and seeing all those weeks when she wasn’t being tested makes me wonder how low she used to drop. Yikes!!!:nailbiting:
 
YOU AND ME BOTH! BELIEVE ME! I had that same exact thought as soon as I started doing the home testing. I'm very fortunate 1. That my vet didn't start us out on a high dose 2. That we only stayed on 2u of insulin for a couple of days. And 3. Just the fact that her body must have fought so hard for her on some nights when I just had no idea she was so low. There were so many days that she cried and cried for food and I thought I was just supposed to ignore her because it was the diabetes talking. *Sigh* well we know better now. 96 @ +8
 
But also I had her on a large portion of high carb dry diet, so that's probably what kept her going honestly! That's why she gained weight! She use to be 10lbs, she's 13 now and I'll address the weight after we get the diabetes under control
 
Yes I think you were very fortunate to have her on high carb food. No doubt that saved her plus she is one tough little cookie!
Ok 96@+8. She would still be under the influence of the honey and high carb so I think if you could get a test in 1 hour just to make she she is ok. Is that ok?
Will you give her a cuddle from me and tell her she’s been a very good girl but we don’t want her swimming with the sharks again!
 
Will do! +9 test coming up in 30 minutes! Ill make sure I spend ample time cuddling her tomorrow for all she's put up with me. And forgive me, what does the swimming with the sharks mean ? :woot: haha
 
When kitties drop below 100 (green) we call it swimming in the lagoon and if they drop low ( under 50 or under 40) we say they are swimming with the sharks. Being in the blue numbers is being on the beach beside the lagoon. And when they are bouncing up high we say they are on the trampoline. Sounds like we are all a bit crazy :p but it’s just a bit of fun.
 
Back
Top