Cody6/12 levday4 amps270, +4 323, +6 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy and Cody

Member Since 2010
view yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=16952

Up and out at the crack of ridiculous this morning- to "run :lol: " in the Magnolia Run for Epilepsy. Cody got his shot/food/test then I flew out the door. He didn't get fluids until +4. Not too happy with the inverted curve so far today, but yes, I 'm sitting on my hands. :? He isn't happy like yesterday. Today he's confirming my theory about his heart med cycle affecting his mood and numbers.

OT
Cody's brother Tenderfoot, recently back from one paw on the rainbow bridge, had another blood test/check up at noon today, and got a glowing report. His white blood count and hematacrit are now back to normal. I've just got to keep the little darling eating 4-5x/day. He's got a bad tooth, which needs to come out, but vet wants to let some time pass before we traumatize him with that. Poor guy has had stomatitis his whole life and only has the 4 fangs left, but now I wish they had all been pulled years ago.

Was going to a beer festival this afternoon , but OMG its SSSSSOOOO hot and humid outside, my recliner feels pretty amazing right now.

Oh, interesting story- Since I used to work at our vet, they let me come back into the treatment room during appointments. So one day last week that I was there visiting/feeding Tenderfoot (getting IV) they brought in a small orange tabby kitten. He was covered with nasty yellow crud which vet was in the process of combing out. A family had found him in the woods and wnated to adopt him. Well the next day, he was laying dead on a counter and they said he was acting odd and they suspected rabies. they had PTS and were sending him off to be tested. Turns out he did have rabies. That is the 5th animal (2 foxes, and 2 racoons) in the last 2 months that has tested positive around here after years of none. Scary, SO watch yourselves...and get everybody vaccinated.
 
Nappytime:

amps ---270
+4 ----323
+6 ------293
+8 ------287
 

Attachments

  • photo.jpg
    photo.jpg
    156.6 KB · Views: 669
Oh that is such a sad kitten story. Rabies is rampant here, lotsa cases here.

Very glad to hear TenderFoot is doing so well! You might consider all of those teefs come out when you do it. We have many "gummers" on this site lol

Ok onto Mr. Handsome.. love the pic of the boys!

Now, IMO your inverted curve is less to do with his meds and more to do with Prozinc shed exiting and Lev shed not built yet. This is the yucky stuff I was expecting long before now. Time to bump the dose, you're far behind and the inversion is your clue. How does 8u sound tonight?

*Note to others watching*: yes, this is off-protocol, very off protocol. Cody was started at half the dose he was on with Prozinc (a shed-type insulin) with the intention of speed increasing him to get him as close to his dose as possible without accidentally going over. We wanted to drain the Prozinc shed before getting too far ahead with his Lev shed. He is nowhere near where he needs to be, so even this increase will probably make absolutely no difference to his bg's. Cody is a high-dose acrocat, do NOT try this on your cat.
 
Let me see what +10 and pmps bring.... I prefer to change in the AM but I agree he's needing more insulin. I am shooting so stinking early so I could get a few tests in before bed. His little ear is looking pretty abused. DD just passsed out for 4 hours- maybe I can get her to be on 4AM test duty ;-)

May pull out the neosporin...
 
That picture is so cute. :-D If I didn't know better I would say its my Blackie & Charlie. What a sad story of the kitten. We don't have a lot of rabies here, but you never know.
 
I LOVE pictures of piles of kitties! Mine don't do that. So cute. :smile:

Good luck with the dosecrease (whenever you decide to do it). Build that shed....
 
Re: Cody6/12 levday4 amps270, +4 323, +6 293, PMPS 275

amps ---270 7.5u
+4 ------323
+6 ------293
+8 ------287
+10 -----261
pmps----275 8u @ +/-12.75 (because i fell asleep ooops)
+3-------328

Come on Cody!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top