Cliff Notes: Week of 11/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiCo

Active Member
Hello! We are back from our weekend trip. When the alarm went off bright & early this morning, the first thing my Hubby said was, "We're coming for you, Cliffy!" :)

Cliff spent the weekend at our vet's office. On Saturday, they did his first glucose tracking. His spreadsheet has been updated with his BG #s from the vet's office. The vet emailed to recommend an increase from 1 unit to 2 units based on his results.

However, my husband and I talked and we are more comfortable increasing his insulin more slowly, at least until the weekend when I have more time to monitor him. So, we increased from 1 unit to 1.25 units tonight.

I'm going to try and switch to a weekly post format for Cliff's daily dosing summaries. My notes below:

Test|Feed|Shoot Notes

11/14: PMPS=387 | Ate 1.5 oz PurinaProPlan (P3) | 1.25 units (increase from 1 unit)
+6=348

11/15: Cliff woke us up at 4AM.
AMPS=435 | Ate 1.5 oz P3 | 1.25 units
+8=395
PMPS=366 | Ate 1.5 oz FF | 1.25 units

11/16: Cliff woke us at 4am
Amps=467
+3=451
+8=445
PMPS=427

11/17: AMPS=416
PMPS=465

11/18: amps=438
PMPS =431

11/19: amps=
PMPS=
 
Last edited:
I think that's a much better option. Increasing by a full unit really isn't done around here. That's just a lot to increase for such small animals! I like the 0.25. Looking forward to seeing how he does!
 
I am also for the slow increase in dose! I think this is a perfect example that shows that vets just see the kitties one moment and think (seeing your spreadsheet with those high numbers) they need to increase with a full unit. I mean yes maybe that will be what Cliff needs later on, but increasing it without baby steps can cause bouncing. So it's good that you felt that increase wasn't good!
Great job!
 
I was worried that I gave a fur-shot this AM, bc his fur felt a little wet. That is such a mental thing to get over... But I gave him the one and only shot and moved on.

Came home over lunch to check on them both and his +8 is 395.

Question-would he still see a drop in BG # throughout the day if it was a fur shot this AM?
 
I was worried that I gave a fur-shot this AM, bc his fur felt a little wet. That is such a mental thing to get over... But I gave him the one and only shot and moved on.

Came home over lunch to check on them both and his +8 is 395.

Question-would he still see a drop in BG # throughout the day if it was a fur shot this AM?

No, the numbers would likely stay high and flat if you have a fur shot. FYI - ProZinc has a slight odour like an organic solvent so if you're in doubt another time, put your nose into his fur where you injected. You'll definitely smell it.

So far you're getting numbers that suggest you'll have to increase his dose in a cycle or two - unless he has a delayed reaction to the increase. That can happen. There's a reason why we call this the "sugar dance". No need to jump on an increase right away. Let the pattern reveal itself.
 
No, the numbers would likely stay high and flat if you have a fur shot. FYI - ProZinc has a slight odour like an organic solvent so if you're in doubt another time, put your nose into his fur where you injected. You'll definitely smell it.

So far you're getting numbers that suggest you'll have to increase his dose in a cycle or two - unless he has a delayed reaction to the increase. That can happen. There's a reason why we call this the "sugar dance". No need to jump on an increase right away. Let the pattern reveal itself.
Thanks! My plan was to keep him at each 0.25 increase for 3-4 cycles. That way, by the weekend, I would be closer to the 2 units, but would also be around to monitor him more closely.
And thanks for the tip about the odor...I will check for that next time. :)
 
11/15 PM Notes:
  • Cliff played coy while I tried to test his BG.
  • It's really hard to measure o.25 increases using U-40, but I don't think I'm ready for conversion tables.
  • I had to work late and it was stressing me out. Really need to prioritize getting DH to a point where he feels comfortable testing/shooting solo.
    • Hardest part might be me letting go of control. I trust him to test, and he administers the insulin better than me, but I might need to pre-measure a syringe in the AM to make sure he gets the right units/dosage.
I have an appt tomorrow after work and an event after work Thursday. Real life is kicking in, and I need a plan to keep Cliff on schedule.
 
Last edited:
ugh. Another wet fur incident. I even went a little slower this am. I may have to revisit my shot technique online. I tried smelling his fur (per Kris' suggestion, but I'm pretty stuffed up in the AM.)

Will try to get home for a midday test to see how his #s are/if they come down.
 
ugh. Another wet fur incident. I even went a little slower this am. I may have to revisit my shot technique online. I tried smelling his fur (per Kris' suggestion, but I'm pretty stuffed up in the AM.)

Will try to get home for a midday test to see how his #s are/if they come down.

Don't worry, Michele. It's early days and you're still learning. Some of the insulin might have gone in.

Re shot technique: pulling the fur/skin up high and fairly taut allows you to feel for the little depression (the "open tent door") you want to use for the needle insertion. Point the needle slightly downward as you insert. I use syringes with 1/2" needles and I think that helps. Some people like the shorter needle but I'd be worried about not getting it deep enough before pushing the plunger. I've also seen comments about the very fine 30 -31 gauge needles being more prone to bending. Mine are 29 gauge.
 
Don't worry, Michele. It's early days and you're still learning. Some of the insulin might have gone in.

Re shot technique: pulling the fur/skin up high and fairly taut allows you to feel for the little depression (the "open tent door") you want to use for the needle insertion. Point the needle slightly downward as you insert. I use syringes with 1/2" needles and I think that helps. Some people like the shorter needle but I'd be worried about not getting it deep enough before pushing the plunger. I've also seen comments about the very fine 30 -31 gauge needles being more prone to bending. Mine are 29 gauge.
This is AWESOME, thank you! All good tips. :) I'm not sure about my needle size... will check that later.
 
cats woke us up at 4a, but then were being picky eaters. Needed lots of treats and prodding. I really need to find another brand/variety that works... Bc FF is giving them upset tummies. The Purina works, but they are getting sick of that flavor.

Also, he tried to avoid the shot by crawling in his carrier (which we left out.)

Oh my, thanksgiving break from work can't come soon enough. I want to hang out with the kitties, try to relax/sleep a little more. I want to buy some more food options to experiment with them to see if they like /is ok with bellies. I also want to find an auto feeder and maybe a camera to install.
 
cats woke us up at 4a, but then were being picky eaters. Needed lots of treats and prodding. I really need to find another brand/variety that works... Bc FF is giving them upset tummies. The Purina works, but they are getting sick of that flavor.

Also, he tried to avoid the shot by crawling in his carrier (which we left out.)

Oh my, thanksgiving break from work can't come soon enough. I want to hang out with the kitties, try to relax/sleep a little more. I want to buy some more food options to experiment with them to see if they like /is ok with bellies. I also want to find an auto feeder and maybe a camera to install.
Teasel gets Friskies pates mixed in with his prescription DM wet food or alone as a snack. Maybe try some of those?
 
cats woke us up at 4a, but then were being picky eaters. Needed lots of treats and prodding. I really need to find another brand/variety that works... Bc FF is giving them upset tummies. The Purina works, but they are getting sick of that flavor.

Also, he tried to avoid the shot by crawling in his carrier (which we left out.)

Oh my, thanksgiving break from work can't come soon enough. I want to hang out with the kitties, try to relax/sleep a little more. I want to buy some more food options to experiment with them to see if they like /is ok with bellies. I also want to find an auto feeder and maybe a camera to install.

You're doing great. The first few weeks are really tough. Every time you think you've done a fur shot, the stress is mental! But try and be relaxed and confident about it. You're doing your best! Fur shots just happen, and it will get easier. I had a terrible time as I have a needle phobia, but I've even managed to get over that! :) We weren't comfortable shooting solo for 2-3 weeks, so neighbours and friends were sick of me asking if they could come and hold the cat whilst I shook like a leaf trying to get the shot done!

Kitty will get into a routine and it will become easier too. We have a ritual in our house, and he's at the point he looks forward to the injection because he always gets a treat afterwards (I know many others shoot whilst the cat is eating, but mine won't allow it). He actually screams for his injection, it's quite hilarious and our vet is incredulous! (it's really about the treat he gets afterwards and not the injection itself of course).

I second the 'sniff test'. I sniff after every shot. If you've done a bona fide fur shot you'll absolutely smell it..(might also clear your blocked nose! :))
 
thanks @Laszlo and @Kris & Teasel and everyone else who has commented on this thread this week!

The kitties didn't eat much at all today. Plates I left out at 8a were full when Dave got home. He said no one even asked for food at 4p. He tried to feed, nothing. I came home at 6p, & no one wanted to eat. Ugh. Maybe something is up with this case of Purina pro plan, which they loved the last two weeks. Or, they got sick of it!

So, off to petco. Bought 13varieties, using that dr. Lisa chart as a guide.

Cliff finally ate 1.5oz heartily tonight, of new brand. Stella still not interested. Not gonna force it, bc I think her stomach is upset from all the change right now.
 
You're doing great. The first few weeks are really tough. Every time you think you've done a fur shot, the stress is mental! But try and be relaxed and confident about it. You're doing your best! Fur shots just happen, and it will get easier. I had a terrible time as I have a needle phobia, but I've even managed to get over that! :) We weren't comfortable shooting solo for 2-3 weeks, so neighbours and friends were sick of me asking if they could come and hold the cat whilst I shook like a leaf trying to get the shot done!

Kitty will get into a routine and it will become easier too. We have a ritual in our house, and he's at the point he looks forward to the injection because he always gets a treat afterwards (I know many others shoot whilst the cat is eating, but mine won't allow it). He actually screams for his injection, it's quite hilarious and our vet is incredulous! (it's really about the treat he gets afterwards and not the injection itself of course).

I second the 'sniff test'. I sniff after every shot. If you've done a bona fide fur shot you'll absolutely smell it..(might also clear your blocked nose! :))

Ok, rereading this comment in detail, and it's great! Thanks for the honesty and sharing abt your journey so far. What I continue to love abt this board is how open and honest everyone is with sharing their experiences-good and bad, while learning.

I think we are all do something amazing for our feline friends! Something that not many people outside of this board could understand. :) thanks again!!
 
This AM, Cliff woke us. Very sweet routine w lots of head pets and scritches.
His appetite hasn't been where I would like past 24hrs, and Stella didn't come out to eat at all. :( gonna keep a close eye on that.
 
Could you tempt Stella with something else like tuna, salmon, sardines, all meat baby food (no seasonings) to kickstart her eating? Cats can tip into anorexia fairly easily. It can start for one reason then take on a life of its own. I've been there ...
 
Sometimes the liver in the PM just suddenly turns them off. Is Stella acting normal otherwise? I agree with Kris to stand on top of things with her. Sometimes adding a crushed treat on top or some Parmesan cheese helps. And as silly as it sounds, sometimes offering the food off your finger can get them started again (don't let Cliff see you :smuggrin: )
 
Could you tempt Stella with something else like tuna, salmon, sardines, all meat baby food (no seasonings) to kickstart her eating? Cats can tip into anorexia fairly easily. It can start for one reason then take on a life of its own. I've been there ...
Thanks for the tips! I will try to pick up some tuna today. For now, I opened a small can of soulistic shrimp and tuna-and they both ate. Stella not as much--only an 1/8 of a can. But the Hubs said she ate a little for him mid-morning. A little is better than none!
 
Sometimes the liver in the PM just suddenly turns them off. Is Stella acting normal otherwise? I agree with Kris to stand on top of things with her. Sometimes adding a crushed treat on top or some Parmesan cheese helps. And as silly as it sounds, sometimes offering the food off your finger can get them started again (don't let Cliff see you :smuggrin: )
Stella is acting normal otherwise. Normal for Stella. She threw up the tiniest amount (size of a quarter) this AM, but she tends to do that if not fed on schedule. Their litter box has not been completely normal, but I think that was the FF and then all the switching/trying different foods. Right now, she is snuggling with hubs. I told him to try to feed her later, since she loves him! She was actually eating from the shrimp/tuna plate just now, and when I put some on my finger, she seemed disgusted by that (from me.) asking Dave to try later. :)
 
Hoping Stella is just feeling a bit off. Keep tempting her with what you can. Glad she ate some!
 
Looks like Cliff will need a higher dose. I think I mentioned U100 syringes before but you wanted to deal with one thing at a time. Give it some thought now that you're a bit more into this new routine. With those syringes you can dose fractions of 0.2, 0.4, 0.6, 0.8 unit. It's much simpler than you might be thinking it is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top